We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could have stayed longer here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella della Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Stella della Marina to your Saves list
Hotel Stella della Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre 11, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ventura, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We could have stayed longer here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were here for three nights in the beginning of September. It was the perfect location. I had originally wanted to stay in Vernazza, but was so much happier that we stayed in Monterosso. It has the main train station. It has a great beach about a block from the hotel that we swam at every afternoon. There were lots of shops, restaurants, a self-serve laundromat, etc.

The hotel was old (18th century I believe) and on a cute alley-way. There is no elevator so you need to be comfortable with stairs. Our room was a bit odd - a sitting room and bathroom on one floor with a spiral staircase up to a loft with the bed. It had AC. They had free wifi, and a great breakfast on the terrace each morning. We rolled our bags to and from the train station - a five minute, mostly flat walk.

The manager was sweet and very helpful. I would stay there again if I get to go back, only I want to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
56
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a very nice place to stay once you got there. Smack in the middle of the old town. Make sure you ask to have the cab pick you up from the train station. Very dependable. Cab was waiting right on time. Lucky for us we had the manager caryy our luggage to our room. Many, many stairs to the top of the building. The room was comfortable, breakfast was great and the service was excellent. Want something special for breakfast just ask the cook. Served on an open patio with a beautiful view. the view from the room was just as appealing. Very helpful staff and speak perfect English. Be sure to visit the Pizzeria Ely.

Room Tip: Room comfortable and private bath roomy for a small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Cinque Terre and overall I would say I could give this hotel a recommendation. We did book rather late and since we were travelling with another couple I needed two rooms which made it more challenging to find accomodations. That being said I am very happy we stayed in the "old town" in Monterossa because we were better able to enjoy both parts of town (the train station is in the new section). Michael (our breakfast host) was an excellent source of information on the Cinque Terre and just an overall delight to converse with in the morning. Eggs cooked to order! My husband was so happy to get an omelet every morning. Even without the eggs the breakfast at Stella Della Marina was better than most you find in Italy - eggs were icing on the cake. The rooftop terrace was a beautiful place to dine in the morning and made an excellent meeting place later in the afternoon before dinner. We travelled with another couple and would meet rooftop prior to dinner for wine and cheese (wine store right up the street from hotel and they would open our bottles for us since our opener was left at home on the kitchen counter). The beach was close by as well as the walking trail to Vernassa. On the negative - the beds were really awful. Somebody else described them as plank boards on a frame and I would have to agree. It seems like the room rate was in line with others in the area but even so - can't they afford new mattresses? The walk up to the rooms was tiring with luggage but during the remainder of the trip the stairs did not bother me - kept us in shape for the walk to the other villages! Also the shower, in room 43, was very tiny. Not sure if this is the case with all showers but it was hard to wash your hair without hitting the walls and don't drop the shampoo bottle or you will have to turn off the water so you can open the door and stoop down and pick it up! We were lucky enough to have a small balcony off our room - I loved overlooking the "alley/street" behind us but yes, it could get noisy. Our WiFi was free and I didn't notice problems with it being too slow. Our confirmations indicated trasportation to.from train station was included but when we called the phone number for the hotel we got a recorded advertisement. So we walked from the train station - not too bad but a ride would have been nice! We did get a taxi back to the train station on the last day but had to remind the girl at the desk that it was free. On my next trip I will probably look at a few other hotels but if my top 2 selections were not available I would go back - but would need to get confirmation that new mattresses have been installed!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Was easy to to organise and emails with the Hotel beforehand were very responsive, reassuring and helpful. Good location in Monterosso and very handy to use as a base for Cinque Terre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspendale, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Arrived at Monterosso train station, free taxi arranged to take us to hotel, room on the fifth floor, no elevator but what a fantastic view, (room 54 & 53 are the only rooms on the top floor, 85 steps ) but well and truly worth it. Max and Angela were both very helpful and friendly, there was a good choice for breakfast and Michele ( the breakfast cook) was always ready to scramble some eggs or make a omelet, and gave info on the local area.
Found a great restaurant " IL Casello" that did a great seafood risotto, perfect house wine and excellent service. Great location in the heart of old town Monterosso.
Free Wifi in your room, it was a bit slow but how many times do you need to use it on holidays.
We took a sunset cruise to see Cinque Terre from the water, Angelo's tours take you out for 2hrs around sunset, the boat holds no more than eight people, Paula provided us with a lovely choice of tapas along with plenty of wine, and great Italian music, very enjoyable evening, the booking office can be found on the marina or Brochures in the hotel.
Hotel is easy access to train station, would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 53 & 54 have Sea Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

This B&B left us with the perfect memory of this special town on our first trip to Monterosso. Location could not be better, in the middle of the small town just steps from the beach and the trailhead, easy walk to the train station. The manager Max was extremely accommodating and greatly assisted us during our stay. The free breakfast every morning was nice and the hotel has a beautiful view of the beach from the solarium. The rooms are clean and about what you would expect in such a small town, but the service and convenience make this stand out as a great place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

If you want to be in the center of the town, this is a great hotel. The room was very small, especially for four of us, but the room was clean and had A/C. Breakfast was fabulous. Hadn't seen eggs for days, and was surprised that you could order what you wanted. Great cappucino too! The hike up the stairs was good exercise, and the hosts did hell lug the bags up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stella della Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella della Marina

Address: Via XX Settembre 11, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stella della Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stella della Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Della Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella della Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.