We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly simple, lovely view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola
La Marina, 19010 Manarola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfectly simple, lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in Georgio 1 for 3 nights in June. It was a perfectly simple apartment, with a wonderful view. Claudio is very responsive in emails in organising our stay, and speaks very good English which is helpful. He is friendly and will happily answer questions you may have. But do catch him when you check in - as its an apartment stay, so you wont see him again.
Although he does leave all contact info, so you can if you need.

The apartment is simple, but decent sized. The bedroom and kitchen, whilst separate rooms are not closed off by a door, so its open plan. The bathroom was perfectly adequate, although the shower is quite small and if you are on the large side you may not love it. The novelty factor is if you open the bathroom window you have quite the view from the toilet seat over the opposing hills. The towels are not luxe, just quite thin waffle type towels. But they do the trick. We didnt use the kitchen, but there is a fridge which is a bonus.

The bed was big - probably "queen" under UK/Aus sizing. The pillows not too comfortable though, but I slept well in any case.

We had some people staying in Georgio 2, which is the apartment above Georgio 1. The noise isnt significant, just the odd footstep or chair being moved.

I felt perfectly safe, which was a concern of mine due to the seemingly open front yard, however the gate to the property is locked and a key is required. So it is very secure.

I dont want to mention the walk up to the apartment - yes its up a hill, Cinque Terre is all about the five villages and hiking up and down between them, one little hill one the way home shouldn't bother you! Plus the view is worth it.

The main downside is that there is only one lounger chair on the patio, Claudio mentioned it was new and seemed proud of the new purchase. But I wasnt sure why there weren't two! In the bedroom there is a massage type lounger which we took out onto the patio to watch the sunset with a bottle of Prosecco.

Definitely eat at Billy's - you'll need to reserve. The food is good, the setting captivating. I wish I had not bothered eating dinner in town but we only tried Billys the last night of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, NC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Manarola in May, and loved our apartment. It had great views of the town and ocean, was very clean, and has been remodeled very nicely. It has a terrace overlooking the town , with a table and a couple of chairs so we could enjoy the sunset at the end of the day. This is the second time we use A Casa in Manarola and both times, and Claudio has been a great host. We are looking forward to coming back again and stay longer. Salve Claudio.......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights in Giorgio 1, nice shaded courtyard up a hill above Manarola. Great price too.

Excellent communication with Claudio, easy to phone from the pay phone near the meeting point.

Super cheap train tickets from genoa to manarola, and happy with our choice of manarola after checking out the other towns.

Note that you need to be fit to stay in the cinque terre as everything involves either stairs and a steep hike or if you are lucky both!

The apartment was clean and basic but comfortable. Bring your own soap and a fluffy towel if you are fussy as the ones included are cotton and reasonably thin.

Loved having a shady front porch with a bit of a view to the ocean and over the town and hills.

Some noise at night from the kids playing soccer below and the people in the flat above, but not too bad.

Definately go left from the gate and go to Billy's trattoria. You don't even have to go down the hill and the long way round like we stupidly did. Great seafood and great service, same prices as in the tourist traps down in town.

Overall would stay again, great value and beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in Georgio 1 for three nights, and it greatly exceeded our expectations! The apartment was larger than we had expected. Especially with the patio that faced the ocean. There's a table and chairs, so you can watch the sunset every night while sipping on Prosecco. The apartment is very minimal, but it's very clean and a great deal for the price. Bring your own towels, soap, etc.

Claudio was very responsive leading up to the trip, and was very helpful once we arrived with restaurant and activity recommendations.

We definitely would recommend this place to our friends, and would love to stay again should we return to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I hesitate to write this review, since my wife and I would like to keep this place all to ourselves! Stayed in Francesca 1 a week ago, and fell in love all over again. What's not to love about breathtaking views of both the sea and the Manarola vineyards from your windows? What's not to love about a private little hideaway with two large bedrooms, a cozy living room, a well-supplied kitchen, and a balcony that seems to hang from a cloud over a place only God could have created?

I've read some negatives here about Claudio, but I doubt that they were talking about the same gentleman we met upon our arrival. The Claudio we met was not only accommodating in every way, but he was also a fascinating gentleman who speaks fluent Italian, English, and French. When we arrived by train at the Manarola station, he met us promptly after we called him, helped carry our luggage up the steep hills of the village, and then spent time to not only show us the features of our apartment, but to give us some fun facts about the town, it's history, and it's restaurants.

Claudio is a local chef too, who not only hosted an amazing pasta making class during one of our nights, which included a wonderful wine dinner at a local restaurant, but afterwards invited us out for more conversation over beers at local Manarola pub.

He lives in Manarola, so he's easy to reach during your stay. He even points out his house to you from the balcony while showing you the apartment.

Booking was incredibly easy, since Claudio was extremely responsive to email.

The Cinque Terre is stunning when it comes to scenic beauty. Most of the hiking trails offer spectacular views. Make sure you check out the easiest, yet most-scenic hike of all: the Manarola Vineyard walk, which begins next to the town's church.

Good restaurants all within walking distance, including the legendary Trattoria Dal Billy, which is just a 100 yards from the front door of Francesca 1.

The one thing you definitely should know, though: the CT is not for people who don't like, or can't do physical activity. Francesca 1 is at the top of the town, and getting there -- especially with luggage -- will definitely get you breathing heavy. But ... if you're in at least moderate physical condition, you'll be rewarded by what's at the top of that hill.

Bravo, Claudio, and grazie!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The town of Manarola is a beautiful place to stay in the Cinque Terre. After doing some research and reading reviews online I found A Casa, which they state on their website is a family run business that offers a variety of lodging options in the 5 Terra. So we rented a one room apartment for 85 euros per night for three nights. It's a bit of a climb to the apartment which was not a problem for us. We stayed at Giorgio 1, which has an apartment above it...thankfully no one was renting that apartment so we didn't have to deal with any potential noise. To access Georgio 1 you must unlock a gate and go down several stone steps to get to the entrance. The apartment is adequate. It was clean. The shower is small. By the way, be sure to bring your own bath soap as there is none provided like you might expect in a hotel. You might want to bring your own towel as well - the ones provided are a very thin cotton. It has a nice view of the ocean and town below. The bedroom is roomy. The kitchen is small but fine. The small yard could have used some attention. Claudio greeted us where he said he would. He speaks English so that made it easy for us. So for the price I think this place is fine. We were there in early May before the tourist season really begins so it was quiet. Not sure what it's like when the busy season kicks in. After having been to Manarola I think if we were to return to stay a few days, I would do some more research and see what else might be available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thank you to Claudio and his family for helping make this an amazing vacation. From our first email inquiring about availability, to checking in, to arranging to have laundry done (3 of us had just done a bike trek and badly needed it), to our sailboat trip, to the risotto at Lanterna (recommended by Claudio) to check out, it could not have gone more smoothly and we could not have been more delighted.

We stayed in the Maria apartment in Corniglia for 5 nights in late May. It was 4 friends and the apartment was perfect - the beds were comfortable (and I was one of the people in the bunk bed!), it was immaculately clean, and the views...I hope my photos do them justice.

The little town of Corniglia could not be more charming, and I would recommend it to anyone. Claudio also coordinating a boating trip for us, and again, I would recommend this.

This was a fantastic value, all the way around. We loved having the small kitchen, we picked lemons off "our" lemon tree located in the courtyard to make evening spritzers and enjoy the sunset and the stunning views from our apartment. We cooked a delicious meal from the market down the alley way. And, every day when leaving or entering our apartment, we enjoyed the envious looks from other visitors who were walking by our door for views from the panoramic look out just steps away.

Thank you Claudio and family - we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We booked the Maria and I almost don't want to tell you that, as I want to stay in it next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola

Address: La Marina, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty lodging in Manarola
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa Cinque Terre is a family-run business located in our home town. Together with our collaborators we try our best to provide our guests with attentive and personalized service during their stay in the Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Casa Cinque Terre Manarola Hotel Manarola
A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola to your Saves list