We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic spacious rooms in Manarola” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Patio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Patio
Scalinata Pezzali 31, 19017 Manarola, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
collingwood
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Basic spacious rooms in Manarola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Il Patio is a quaint spot in Manarola, quite a hike up many stairs (typical for Cinque Terre). The rooms are big and quiet - ours faced a private courtyard. The room was also quite damp and musty. None of our damp clothes or towels dried in here however there is a line in the courtyard. Breakfast or vouchers are not provided here and we were hard pressed to find a place in Manarola that would serve us breakfast at 8am.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

The apartment is situated in the most typical 5terre village Manorola.
Its cosy, because you live between the many houses and steps. We had a nice vieuw over the sea.
The appartement itself is perfect. Everything we need was avalable and in very good shape: the beds, the bathroom, the heating, the kitchen and the oven!
The owners are very nice and helpfull people, who speak good enough english and they respect our privacy.
We have made all the walks we wanted. The various footpaths are well marked and described. There is a good and cheap connection between the villages by train.

We wish you the best, with many nice guests,

Jos and Mariek Hemelaar

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue ,WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We chose Il Patio based on a couple of glowing reviews and we certainly regretted our decision. So much so, we changed our itinerary, departed a day early, and have less than fond memories of our Cinque Terre experience. The room was cold, damp, noisey, dark, and without a caretaker on sight. I stay in moderately priced places, urban or rural (less than $150/night), and in my six European visits in the past nine years, this was the only bad hotel/room experience I've had, and it was a doozy.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moncton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We spend 3 nights in Manarola, Cinque Terre. What a beautiful and romantic place. We had reserved Il patio (the appartement with a full kitchen and bathroom). You have to call one of the owners when you get in Manarola. They meet you at a local restaurant very close to the train station to bring you the appartement. Piera was very quick to meet us and very nice and helpful. The appartement was very clean and spacious for the 2 of us. The only thing, a fan in the bedroom would have been very nice since it was very warm. Since Manarola is a very quiet place, everything shuts down early in the evening, it was very quiet to sleep eventhought we had all the windows open. I would definitely recommend and go back to Il patio, if we are lucky enough to go back to Cinque terre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed in the apartment with a full kitchen. Saved us some money compared to going out for dinner every night. The owners were super friendly and it was pretty easy coordinating key pick-up since they live there.

Air conditioning would have been nice, however, the place seems to be in the shade most of the day so it was never scorching hot in the apartment.

There's only 1 real place to buy groceries in Manarola which was kind of a pain and they close for a certain part of the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I was a bit skeptical booking this place b/c there was only one previous review but that is due to the fact it is brand new. It is extremely clean and definitely the best accommodations on our entire trip. It was very spacious w/a kitchen, dining table, double bed, and nice washroom. We had a beautiful view of the sea and would recommend this location to anyone going to Cinque Terre.
Keep in mind that it is located in Manarola, not Monterossso (the main village and main train station). Out of all five villages, I would say that Manarola, Riomaggiore, and Vernazza are the most beautiful.
It is EXTREMELY IMPORTANT to call beforehand to let Piera or Angelo know what time you are arriving in Manarola. It would be almost impossible to find the room and there is no office to find someone. We called and Piera met us at the time we scheduled. She was very friendly and helpful.
We were sweating and struggling up the hundreds of stairs so I don't suggest large suitcases. You should be fairly fit for Cinque Terre or you'll be extremely tired.
One last note, the shower was really small. I'm 5'8" and average size but think anyone larger will have a difficult time, perhaps not even being able to get into the stall. There is also no internet here but who needs it when you're in Cinque Terre?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzroy, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

i had some trouble finding affordable accomodation on the cinque terre until i found il patio. they have two different options available....a room with a bathroom and a large wardrobe/study area, or a studio apartment with kitchen. you can however book both as they adjoin if travelling in a larger group. we booked the room which was lovely and clean and the bathroom which was also of a high standard. the owners stayed out of our way and we didn't see them again until the day we left. although we loved the room for 10 euros more i think the studio is better as it has a view over the village. il patio is very conveniently located close to the shops and restaurants and not too far up the hill. there are a few stairs to tackle as everywhere has in manarola. we paid 60 euros a night which is a very good price for this accomodation.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, price
  • Disliked — no view in our room but view available in studio apartment
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Patio

Address: Scalinata Pezzali 31, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guesthouse has been opened in september 2006 in a traditional house of the Cinque Terre in the historical centre of Manarola. The friendly and family-run house offers two apartments and two double rooms. The apartments: - one two-room-flat for 2 people with bedroom, bathroom with shower, fully equipped kitchen, small balcony in the patio, heating, sat-tv - one large one-room-flat for 2 people (extrabed for one chd is possible) with bathroom with shower, fully equipped kitchen, sat-TV, heating, sea view The rooms: two cosy, spacious double rooms, each with its own entrance and its own bathroom, SAT-TV, usage of the patio-terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Patio Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Il Patio to your Saves list