We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, ideal location in cinque terre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arpaiu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arpaiu to your Saves list
Arpaiu
Via Belvedere 196, 19010 Manarola, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Manarola B&B and Inns
Fort St John, BC, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, ideal location in cinque terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Arpaiu is spread over three floors. Entrance and two rooms on main, two rooms down, common area and balcony are upstairs. For reference, we do not look for luxury when travel. We want a comfortable bed and a clean, functional room and bathroom in a decent location. Anything more is bonus, less and we wouldn't recommend it. Have said that, this place is more. Bed is comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom are very clean. 100% functional. No spots of mold, grout missing or cracked tiles. Nothing like that. View from the room is amazing. Felt like something out of the movies when I threw open the shutters in the morning. Can't see the water right at the base of the rock where people swim simply because the building in front sticks out further then we do but we were on the bottom floor and the roof of the other building is lower than our floor, so it doesn't obstruct the view. You can see corniglia and monterosso from the room.

What really makes the place special is the common area upstairs. A couple of futons to relax on with patio doors on to the terrace. 4 deck chairs to sit and watch the sunset. The view is amazing! We came back to the terrace with wine to watch the sunset and visit with others (Todd and Laura).
The common area has a coffee maker and books and a computer. Wifi works well. The common area would definitely set this place apart if i were staying for more than 3 days as you could really unwind there.

Compared to other B and B's, we had a lot less contact with the owner at this one. She was completely pleasant and helpful when we did connect with her, and in fairness we were not there long but for others it seemed to be their livelihood; their life whereas for Deborah, it was a side show. I don't mean to suggest this as a negative, I mention it only in case you are one that likes to connect with and visit the host. I didn't get that feel from this place.

Breakfast is not included which a) seems to be the norm in the area and b) wasn't a big deal as there is a place right downstairs on the street that does excellent pasties and cappuccino.

Awesome place you won't be disappointed. Bring a bathing suit. Jump off the rocks. Wonderfully refreshing after a day in the hot sun.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
133
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, IN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

"Ondina" apartment at Arpaiu is phenomenal. It's very comfortable and has an amazing view of the sea. Since we were travelling with 5 family members, we also rented the "Mea" room. The apartment is separate from the rooms, but is only about 10 paces away. Ondina does not have WI-FI in the room, however you are welcome to hang out in the common area where the rooms are next door and relax, lounge on the balcony, and use the internet.

Debora is a wonderful host and will be happy to help you in any way.

Room Tip: The apartment is reached by walking up a long lane. However, if you don't mind steps, there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wow! My partner and I thought we must be heading in the wrong direction as we kept getting closer and closer to the sea, we were following the very clear directions emailed to us by the very helpful Debora. To our absolute delight we were in fact heading in the right direction and ended up at Arpaiu, specifically Ondina apartment. The view was honestly the most amazing mind blowing view I have ever had from a hotel room. It felt like we could step into the ocean:) the room was great as well, a studio apartment with all the little comforts that make you happy. And the view from the bed was amazing as well!! The view was everywhere!! You know you are in a good spot when other tourists come to watch the sunset from your front door. Debora was fantastic and gave us tips on doing the hike to Corniglia which was one of the highlights of our trip. Stay here for the town, the view and the view again❤

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Do not stay at the Arpaiu. You will not have virtually flat access from the train station. You will not have beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds in an architecturally designed building owned by the son of original Manarolans! You will not meet fantastic fellow travellers in the lounge room over wine and canapés in the evening. You will not have access to our host Debora and her wealth of local advice. You will not be able walk to the Alimentary each morning to get you ham, wine, cheese and bread. You will not be able to access the walking tracks. If you do stay in Debora,s home then our friends will miss out! Go away - we want it all to ourselves.

Room Tip: Any room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budoia, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at Vandiris, which is the newly renovated sister-property of Arpaiu. Our room was very peaceful with the sound of lapping water and an amazing terrace on the edge of the cliffs. We were surrounded by ocean views and saw a wonderful sunset from the the terrace every night...Sad to leave...Definitely going back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I went with my mom and stayed at Arpaiu's "Vandiris #5". Though the owner had given us directions on how to get there (we had to find it ourselves and the key was on the door), we were still confused and got lost when we tried to find it, but fortunately a man saw us struggling and helped us. It was difficult to get oriented to the place, but that's probably the same with arriving at a new place. Aside from the confusion, we were relieved when we found the room and it was easy to get in (she will give you a code) and find our room. Our room was clean and very simple, but had a spacious bathroom, a mini-fridge, and a hot-water kettle. There was no coffee, but there was tea.
The balcony was small, but had two chairs and a small table—which we finally concluded on the last night that our balcony was the best place to relax :) The restaurants are quite pricey and touristy, so we were much happier when we bought whatever we wanted from a mini-market and had a meal while chilling on the balcony. The balcony and the view was probably the best part of the room. True that you can only see a nearby hill, the train station, and the sea, but there's no other buildings blocking your view and you get a lot of privacy. We walked through the other towns, but felt like our balcony really was the break we needed, because it was just so peaceful. If you want to see the sunset, just come down from the B&B (as the front faces the other way—out to the ocean, while the B&B kind of faces to the side...but you'll still get a huge view of the ocean. an even better view). Though you won't face the sunset directly from your balcony, you can still watch the sky changes color—from blue, yellow, orange, to pink and purple.

The one downside to this is that you won't get WIFI in your room. You have to sit on the stairs, or just go down to the first floor, where there is a table. It gets stuffy, so we found it better to go sit outside on the steps to use the WIFI. Often, the WIFI won't work either, so that was quite annoying, because we really needed it to contact our family.

Sleep quality was fine, but sometimes you can hear the trains. Didn't bother us too much though.

We didn't meet the owner at all, actually. We were supposed to go to the office to pay on the second morning, but we ended up waking up too late and the lady had already left Manarola—but left a note saying we could go pay the next morning or just leave the payment in the room. You can always call her though, if you need help.

Overall, it was a great stay :) We only stayed two nights, but that was enough to feel the magic of Manarola :)

Room Tip: Get our room—#5. We believe we had the best view. The floor below us had a balcony too, but I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Arpaiu, it was excellent. We spent the first two nights in one room then had to switch on our third night due to room availability, but we knew that in advance so it wasn't a problem at all. The owner was more than accommodating, and even let us hang out in the common room and store our luggage for several hours after we had checked out and while we were waiting for our train. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and have excellent views. It was a highlight of our trip to Italy, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. We look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: We spent the first two nights in the Ondina apartment and just loved it. Our third night was in Zigu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arpaiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arpaiu

Address: Via Belvedere 196, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arpaiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpaiu Hotel Manarola
Arpaiu Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arpaiu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.