We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torretta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Torretta to your Saves list
La Torretta
Vico Volto, 20 | Piazza della Chiesa, 19017 Manarola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Manarola B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow, what a choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great find! Fun, romantic, special! Fantastic experience. Great opportunity in Cinque Terre. This is one of the only places you can access (almost) by car. Phenomenal little hill town. Can otherwise get around to the other towns via the train, or when the trails or open, hiking. Great choices near by for meals. A must see and stay "off the beaten path"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    33
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
275
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived in Manarola by train and walked up to La Torretta. When we got to the top of the hill we were smacked in the face with the view over the Mediterranean. When we checked in, we were not hit with we need your credit card and all that normal stuff, but instead by a lovely young woman asking for our passports to get us registered, then a young gentlemen handed us our welcome drink. From there, he took our bags to our rooms. We had the "Bella Vista" suite. which was a double room with a view looking right out into the Med. We had a small balcony which will hold two people. the room was absolutely amazing. So very clean and very modern inside. Our friend that was traveling with us had the single room, which had its own private entrance, she was very impressed with hers also.

they deliver breakfast to your room, if you want. If the weather is nice, then you can just have it down on the terrace, where they have the nightly happy hour. they made dinner reservations for us both nights and since we had to leave early the next morning before breakfast was served, they packed us breakfast and brought it to us that night.

Its a little pricey, but spend the money!!! you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Manarola was our first stop on our return trip to Italy. We found the town itself was our favourite for accommodation location and La Torretta does not disappoint. They were friendly and very well organized. The views of the sea and vineyards were spectacular. The breakfast brought to our room or on the terrace at the time of our choosing is a great way to start the day. It was the perfect way to ease into our holiday. If you're looking for something special this it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

when we first booked our trip about 9 months in advance we were originally supposed to stay at a place in vernazza. then, the big mudslides and storms in oct.2011 changed our plans. our reservation was cancelled. we had wanted to stay at la torretta the whole time but were nervous about only being able to book in the new year. we wanted to make sure we had everything booked and ready to go as soon as we could. so, we waited a few months and then on dec.31st, we sent an email requesting a room at la torretta. we were thrilled to find out that we acquired a room when we wanted to stay (in may 2012). we opted to splurge and get the cheapest room... at the most expensive hotel (la torretta) instead of the nicest room at a cheaper establishment. it was SOOOOO worth it! la torretta made us feel like royalty! we did have the smallest and most cost effective room but let me tell you... the view was worth a million dollars!! we didn't have our own "private" balcony, but we did have all the public balconies all to ourselves b/c everyone else had their own attached to their rooms. no one needed to use the public spaces... so they were all ours! the room was well appointed... nice bed, nice linens and all the conveniences you could ask for. including a great little nespresso machine. :) when we arrived, we were treated to prosecco and caviar with some other treats. and every evening on the patio they served wine and appetizers. it was great getting to know some of the other hotel patrons at this time. we had a blast chatting it up and have even kept in contact with these people. oh, the breakfast was delicious... what could be better than breakfast in bed every morning when you request it? we were even able to use the small hot tub a couple of times. all in all, a wonderful place to stay. if i'd ever return to cinque terre, there's no doubt in my mind that we'd stay in la torretta again, in a heartbeat!!! you have to stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: our room, #8 was the cheapest of all the rooms, but certainly didn't feel that way. we were sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Gabriel is an excellent host where nothing is too much trouble. Our suite with balcony overlooking the water was quirky and beautiful. We also had a table and chairs on the balcony in order to relax at the end of a busy day. Welcome bubbly was a lovely touch. Loved the location in Cinque Terra. We drove to the front door to drop off our luggage and paid for a garage which was very worthwhile. All in all an excellent, relaxing and memorable few days.

Room Tip: Our room with the balcony, table and chairs and water views was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We rented the off-site apartment with balcony which I think is the Junior Suite(?). We showed up after several days in Florence and Venice and they immediately made us feel relaxed by offering prosecco and caviar as they took care of our luggage. The apatment has not only stunning views but a large terrace with losts of seating spots but also large bright bathroom, comfortable bedroom, and a sit down tv area, all beautifully decorated. They also offered complimentary spumanti and some snacks which was nice after a long commute and a few days of the "city" portion of our trip. The only other time I have received service like this was at Inkaterra Macchu Pichu which has been listed on Conde Nasts top 100 hotels in the world. Gabrielle was also very helpful with providing local recommendations. I honestly cant imagine staying somewhere else when in Cinque Terre, it was all around fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in the off site apartment with a large balcony overlooking the city and the water. It was like a small apartment minus the kitchen. We were served breakfast in our room each morning. The breakfast was a scrumptious array of pastries. We asked them to modify with some protein and they gladly obliged. This is a family run establishment and I highly recommend it. Gabrielle is very helpful on walks and restaurants.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online, they are accurate. They had the only comfortable beds I have found in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta

Address: Vico Volto, 20 | Piazza della Chiesa, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Hotel Manarola
La Torretta Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.