We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Piccola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Marina Piccola to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Piccola
Via Birolli No 120, 19010 Manarola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
George
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We planned our trip to Manarola months in advance and booked this hotel. after booking we kept checking Trip Advisor and saw some very mixed reviews. As a result we arrived with some trepidation. However, the hotel is in an amazing location, and as anyone else visiting Manarola will know, its incredibly steep and a lot of other accommodation involves lots of steps (dragging suitcases). This hotel is not far from the station and there are no steps, so very easy access.

The gentleman manning the reception desk while we were there seemed very shy but quietly friendly. We were on the first floor, our rooms were perhaps a little basic,though clean and bathrooms perfectly adequate. We had one with a beautiful view of the sea (there was a balcony just facing our room though from the next hotel, see pic) and our other travelling companions had two windows with no sea view overlooking the village. They were very comfortable though and breakfast was great. The freshly baked croissants were the best we tasted throughout our entire holiday!

we didn't find we were kept awake by the noise from the restaurant unduly (at night) However, everyone is up extremely early cleaning up and there is a lot of noise. If you don't fight it and realise its the sound of the locals daily lives, listen to the sea and the Italian being spoken below- we really learnt to enjoy those sounds . Also, Manarola like the rest of Cinque Terre as we discovered, is extremely touristy during the day. so those early hours (up to around nine thirty) are actually lovely. the village is quiet and there seem to be mostly locals around. Enjoy it before the trains drop masses of people off!

We ate at the restaurant of the hotel and all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Plus, the setting was absolutely amazing. Right on the sea side.

Room Tip: If you don't mind some noise, choose a first floor sea facing room. Easy to get suitcases up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    19
    6
    11
See reviews for
27
87
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After much searching of various websites, we booked and stayed here 3 nights in May. Uneven friendliness of staff but certainly not a problem. We were in no. 8, one of the newer rooms near the top and well worth the steps. Our room featured a large balcony overlooking main street. Fun to have a glass of wine and watch the activity, but also pretty quiet at night with double-paned windows. Super access to everything, and the wine shop across the street had a good selection and opened the bottle for us each afternoon. Hotel outdoor restaurant has great views and good food, nice breakfast indoors.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony when booking, and they delivered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my wife in May 2013 - having been recommended by a friend. Very clean rooms, friendly helpful staff and great location. Our room was on the 3rd floor - great preperation for the Red routes. In reality was no great problem bar getting the suitacases up but the staff were more than happy to carry my wife's case. We had a room that you could see part of the harbour from. I had specifically asked to be in the front part overlooking the harbour, above the resturant but was placed in the building behind. Apart from this slight disappointment we had a great stay.The room was not very large but adequate and the bathroom clean, always fresh linnen and towels. Breakfast supplied every morning, meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, cakes, orange juice tea/coffee. I felt for what we got this was reasonably priced and I would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: Depends on your fitness, steps are steep, but higher are better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

5 ladies spent 3 nights at this lovely location. rooms clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff and great food in their restaurant. the local shops quite nice and trains are easy to use to visit the other towns. wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location, great service, clean room, friendly staff.
This hotel has added four new rooms and we stayed on level 3 in one of the new rooms. We could not see the water but the balcony looked over the town. Very plesant view. The room had two doors to the balcony that were doble glazzed. The staff were very friendly and helpfully,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our room was in the building beside the hotel lobby. It was on the first floor (second for us North Americans) with a small balcony overlooking the restaurant and the ocean. We loved to sit at the end of the day, enjoy a drink and watch the world go by. The room itself was not large but certainly adequate. The breakfast buffet was also adequate, not overwhelming, but filling. WiFi is available in the lobby and breakfast area only, but was free.

Room Tip: Sea view, sea view and balcony, can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

ALL I CAN SAY IS YUCK YUCK YUCK. Turned down the sheets to see multiple blood stains. Room looked like a bad truckstop motelroom and beware: we had NO view of the water. They gave us a nominal discount for the blood and our room still ended up costing around $130 U.S. Worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Marina Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Piccola

Address: Via Birolli No 120, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Piccola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Piccola Hotel
Marina Piccola Manarola
Hotel Marina Piccola Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Piccola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.