We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cappun Magru in casa di Marin

Cappun Magru in casa di Marin
Via volastra 19, 19010 Manarola, Italy
0187920563
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Manarola
Price range: $39 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Austin
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Memorable and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here in the hills above Manarola.
What we like to call a "farmhouse experience" -- a special
meal in a place all to itself. We sat in the small room on the
top floor where we had a clear view of the kitchen. Interesting
artwork and very romantic with French ballads for background
music. Definitely take the menu del giorno with the house
specialty "cappun magru". For us there followed a tasty and
slightly spicy spaghetti with bits of seafood and a French-style
anchovy soup, and then an excellent fillet of sea bream. The
wine list is outstanding with a nice selection of wines from the
area. Christiane is a magnificient host and the chef Maurizio
is talented and inventive with a wonderful imagination.
Recommended without question!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    23
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For Foodies in Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One of the best dining experiences of my life.

Easy to take the bus from Manarola to Groppo, and follow the signs up the stairs to the restaurant.

Ambience is casual and relaxed, we had our first glass of wine on the terrace overlooking rolling hills.

Loved our 4-course dinner. My mom and I each picked the different course options so we could taste everything. The Cappun Magru first course is mandatory local Ligurian fare - a delicious combo of fish, shellfish, pesto, and vegetables. Our other first course was fresh anchovies with a fruity apple and apricot dressing.

Second course was seafood pasta and an amazing soup with steamed pouches of fish wrapped in lettuce leaves.

Our entree was a gorgeous piece of perfectly cooked fish with zucchini on a tomato anchovy sauce. The desserts were equally fantastic - semifreddo with chocolate mousse, and a yogurt panna cotta with berries.

Christianne was a lovely host and gave us a ride to Manarola, she even arranged for her husband (the amazing chef) to bring me my purse the next day that I had forgotten at the restaurant.

Best part-all this gorgeous and delicious artful food was only 42 euro per person. That is an excellent value!

Highly recommended for seafood loving foodies in the Cinque Terre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cinque Terre's rare success with high end dining at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

dedicated and passionate, they work out of his grandfather's house serving creative local cuisine that works in an enclosed terrace. Very flexible about the fixed price menu or ala carte, and reasonable for the surprisingly high quality of beautifully presented fare that tickles new taste buds with pleasure. Highly recommended, and no doubt the very best 'foodies' will find in all of Cinque Terre. With their welcoming hospitality, you'll not only feel as if you're dining in their home, but a part of the family as well. Don't go without a reservation as there are a mere 20 covers or so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on our trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cappun Magru is, as noted in many reviews, more difficult to get to than many restaurants, but entirely worth it! My wife and I ate here last week on our belated honeymoon, and it was one of the most memorable experiences in Italy, and ranks in the top dining experiences I've ever had. Chef Maurizio Bordoni and his wife and co-owner of the restaurant, Christiane Utsch, run an amazing business. Despite the fact that the bus that usually runs from Manarola to Groppo was not running the day we had reserved our table, Christiane was kind enough to pick us up and drop us off in Manarola. We each had the two five-course meals offered, and every dish was perfect. Bordoni is an artist, plain and simple. Christiane was a great host and went out of her way to go into detail about every dish, most of which comprised local seafood and produce. Not to be missed are the local wine and grappa, made in the town of Groppo. It may be years before we have a dining experience like this again, and I hope we can return some day!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our family of four shared a wonderful 2-week vacation in Italy in August 2012. We visited many areas areas and towns including Cinque Terre, Tuscany, Positano and Rome. We had fantastic meals at wonderful restaurants but as others have stated, this was our absolute favorite meal and restaurant.

Without a doubt, visit Cappun Magru in casa di Marin and you will have an experience that you will remember for a lifetime. Do not let the distance bother you, we simply took a bus from our hotel La Torretta in Manarola to this restaurant and it was fun climbing the windy roads and it only took about 10 minutes. The owners then kindly drove us back to our hotel after dinner. We took pictures of all of our food so we would never forget and had so much fun talking to the other patrons.

Enjoy! You will forever be thankful that you dined here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappun Magru in casa di Marin also viewed

 
Manarola, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Cappun Magru in casa di Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cappun Magru in casa di Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.