We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a special dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Dal Billy

Trattoria Dal Billy
via Aldo Rollandi 122, 19010 Manarola, Italy
0187-920628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you want a special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the place to go if you want a special meal in Manarola but be prepared to pay accordingly!
The food was great and service very friendly and helpful.
Be sure to ask what your fish will cost before you order.
The little treats of various liqueurs is a nice touch at the end of your meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    328
    116
    47
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow, American portions, beware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I ordered the seafood appetizer for two. That should have been our whole meal! They brought 8 tapas plates out, and said 4 more were coming. We had that, then a pasta course, then a whole fish. We were careful after that. Food was excellent, very local. Sardines in lemon, even my wife liked it, and she is not a fishy fish person!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant because Rick Steves recommends and he was spot on. We were seated outside and had a magnificent view of the ocean. The food was great and the service wonderful. I disagree with those who say its over rated. You should go for no other reason than the view! wonderful !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overrated - Don't Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We made a reservation for 2 the day-of and were promptly seated at a table indoors. The first thing we noticed was that the room was completely filled with non-Italian tourists. We ordered 2 items that were supposedly "specials". The 12-course antipasto di mare was a mediocre at best. The deep fried items were unidentifiable, indistinguishable, and tasted like they were prepared the day before and reheated. The rest of the courses were forgettable - literally. We became sadder with each course. We followed with red pasta and crab for 2. The dish was simple and tasty, but there were shards of crab shells throughout so every bite was dangerous and painful. Overall, the food was overpriced and (.......) .The worst offense was when they brought huge bottles of crappy booze to the table at the end of the meal and encouraged guests to have a taste (because we Americans can't resist free booze, even if it sucks). Some guests were tickled by the gimmick, and it was probably the reason for the surprisingly convivial atmosphere in the room. Others were embarrassed or horrified when their turn came. We half expected an accordionist to show up and sing "That's Amore" to add to the authenticity of this place. We couldn't wait to leave so we paid the enormous bill and regretted that we wasted one of our few dining opportunities in 5terre at Trattoria Dal Billy.

The one bright spot was our server. She was attentive and educated us on each dish. She did us a huge favor by stopping us from ordering a secondi - we were spared an inevitably disappointing course.

It is obvious that this establishment has fallen victim to its own popularity. This place has no soul.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best view in the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Every thing was fresh and very tasty.
Better get your reservations in early as it is always busy and for good reason

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Dal Billy also viewed

Manarola, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria Dal Billy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Dal Billy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.