We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded in train and all area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cinque Terre Trails

Cinque Terre Trails
Riomaggiore to Monterroso, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$168*
and up
Cinque Terre Small Group Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #3 of 24 Attractions in Cinque Terre
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Too crowded in train and all area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've been told that the place is very nice and from the photos looks very peaceful. Have to purchased ticket pass for the train with train, and disappointed on arrival there were too many people, group tour, stuck in the train and all area so bathroom facilities was dirty and not enough and the train came so late for back trip.
The small village quite old and dirty not colorful as in the photos, so just little disappointed.
But here is good if you are looking for some local attraction places to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    134
    45
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent views, great workout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family of 4 really loved this trip. We were glad to have signed up for this tour even though we initially had doubt as to whether my 10-year old girl can complete the walk. Boy, not only did she complete the walk, she actually enjoyed it! A lot! The gelato at the end of the walk was obviously a large part of the attraction ...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoy but be alert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Cinque Terre is certainly one of the most beautiful places in Italy. Each village has its own charm.
Many previous reviewers have raved about the place so there is not much new that can be added. However I would like to alert hikers/visitors to be aware that if you travel there by trains then:
1. remember to validate your ticket before you get on the train. You will be fined if caught travelling with a non-validated train ticket. There are lots of ticket validating machines in the stations and on platforms.
2. watch out for pickpockets. The trains are usually very crowded so they offer good working environments for many pickpockets, who often work in groups. Many pickpockets are young girls.
So don't be too carried away with the beauty of the place that you drop off your guard and suffer a bad experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Views, I only wish I had more time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went here on a day trip, thinking that we could just wing it. When we got there it was very obvious that we should have planned for much more time. The views from Riomaggiore are fantastic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The only path that was open for hiking was the one from Monteroso to Vernazza. The one from Riomaggiore to the next 2 towns was closed. So, the one path we did hike with an 11 and 13 yr old was FUN!!! The kids loved the adventure!! It took us a little under 2 hours to complete and it wasn't too difficult. We were there at the end of Oct. so it wasn't too warm which was good, because it is a good workout!! Wear hiking shoes or sport trainers for sure. Bring your camera because there are some amazing views as you hike up and done the mountain trails.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinque Terre Trails also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Cinque Terre Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinque Terre Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.