We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parco Nazionale Cinque Terre

Parco Nazionale Cinque Terre
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jordan Valley
Level Contributor
167 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently visited Cinque Terre when our ship docked in La Spezia.

We purchased the Cinque Terre Card from the train station & first made our way to Monterosso.
The locals were preparing for a flower festival that day, which was interesting.

The journey was short but the train was quite crowded. We found the first little village very quaint. Although we climbed up to the National Park, decided against doing the trail to the next village.

Unfortunately, the trains didn't always arrive as scheduled & didn't always stop at the next village.
We found that we had to go a little back & forward to see all the villages due to the trains not always arriving to time. However, this added to the fun of the day & made our way back & forth to all the villages.

The trains were quite high off the platform, so could be a little difficult for people with mobility difficulties.

What a lovely place to visit.

If you are not going to visit the National Park you could get a day return ticket cheaper from the ticket office.

Don't forget to validate the ticket before getting the train.

Visited June 2013
2 Thank ilanastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placida, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favorite spot in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The scenery is spectacular and each of the 5 villages has a unique character....we always stay in Riomaggiore for the small (but rocky) beach and the spectacular apartments over the harbor. YOu can catch a boat or take the train to the other villages, each of which merit a day to explore on their own. Monterroso has the largest beach but to me it is the most touristy. Vernazza is charming but full of Americans. If you are in good shape, the hiking trails are the most scenic way to get from village to village....though I have heard they are now closed after the devastating floods of last Fall (2012). If you are visiting Italy, allocate at least a few days to explore Cinque Terre...the birthplace of pesto sauce!

Visited July 2012
4 Thank budgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoy all on a boat trip Monterosso to Portovenere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

With bad weather in the morning we put our hopes on a boat trip starting at noon...and the sun did come out ....seeing all villages as we approached each port and admiring its locations and all colors and rugged terrain-till we got to Portovenre for a 2 hour stop to look around this nice place and had lunch at the marina bay. More authentic than Portofino and sure better value for the budget watching traveller. I would come back for more days to Portivenere and see more of the town and the island opposite.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I can't understand why people enthuse about these villages”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We caught a boat from from Portovenere. The Euro4 boats are very uncomfortable with wood lat seating too narrow and short in the back to provide anything but discomfort.

Monterosso is the furthest and largest of the villages and takes 1hr 15 mins to get there. The village is one big tourist trap given over to a myriad of mediocre restaurants and other ways to spend your money on tourist tat.

It's moderately attractive (no cars) but there are hundreds and hundreds of villages across the southern Mediterranean that are much more attractive. The only near-unique thing about Monterosso is that it is only accessible by sea or rail.

We disembarked next at the next village down (Vernazza) but it was just like Monterosso but on a smaller scale. Warning, disembarkation and embarkation at these smaller villages is hazardous if the sea gets a bit choppy. My sincere advice is to stay well clear of the boat trips on anything but totally benign weather. With the slightest swell in the sea you can be abandoned to find your way back by rail and then bus/taxi or of course walk many miles as the boats can't get close enough to the rocky shore.

I guess the only attraction is the trail walks. The scenery between the villages will be good if you're young or fit enough, (but many of the trails were shut because of landslides walkers told us).

Visited May 2013
Thank michael47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This National Park is gorgeous, you keep feeling you have fallen into a film set. As I am not particularly mobile we took the one day boat ride and that was the right thing to do as we got to 4 of the five villages with time in each and with one enough time to have a decent lunch. All the villages were wonderful, won't even attempt to separate them. The colours of the villages and the rivers through each one were magic. the water in the area of the Med was as clear as crystal. The mountains just run straight down to the sea and there villages cling around the rivers to the sides of these mountains, makes you realise just how tough life must have been before trains and cars. A magic day.

Visited April 2013
2 Thank katem1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco Nazionale Cinque Terre also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera
Vernazza, Cinque Terre

Been to Parco Nazionale Cinque Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing