We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again and again... hasn't change still one of my best places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria alla Tavernetta

Hostaria alla Tavernetta
Via di Prampero, 2, 33100 Udine, Italy
0432 501066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 294 Restaurants in Udine
Cuisines: Barbecue, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Again and again... hasn't change still one of my best places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have to come to this place every time I visit Udine... it's just fantastic, the owner and his wife always around...great recommendations on wine and food... and all the staff is amazing... great atmosphere...but most of all.. EXCELLENT FOOD it's one of my favourite restaurants on my list!!! Congratulations and hopefully I'll be there again soon. Grazie Tanti

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    94
    31
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything in this restaurant is great! The food is superb, we enjoyed. The price is very reasonable. All reccomendations!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best of friuli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of the best places in Friuli to try some local delicacies. The ambience is perfect and the same applies for the food. The owners, a very nice and friendly couple (though a bit flamboyant!) will treat you with respect and will be happy to provide information about local dishes and wines. A must-visit if you are in Udine or just pass by!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy restaurant, average food...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had heard so many positive things about La Tavernetta... When I finally went there with my wife, in July 2013, there was a group of 6 drunk who wouldn't stop speaking really loud and signing. One even went outside, in the small street right in front of the restaurant, to vomit, and no one, not even the owner of the restaurant, did anything about it. We complained many times and they just told us to go elsewhere next time. If at least the food had been good, but it wasn't. I will never go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Still fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Revisited Udine and the Tavernetta a year after my last visit, this time with 6 other friends. Everyone had a great time and a great meal again. This time I didn't go for the local specialties, choosing instead asparagus for first course, followed by pasta with tuna, black olives and capers, and then a tiramisu for dessert. Very unadventurous on my part! But all excellent. The asparagus was served with lamb's lettuce, bacon and chopped egg, adding a little saltiness with the bacon and rich creaminess with the egg. The main course was made with fresh pasta and tuna, and the dessert was a very different kind of tiramisu with hazelnut flavouring the mascarpone cream, sponge on top, and coffee poured over it. Many of my friends went for the meatier options, and everyone had a great time. We were very happy with one of the inexpensive wines, and the total bill was E50 each -- a great meal at a very reasonable price

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria alla Tavernetta also viewed

Udine, Province of Udine
Udine, Province of Udine
 
Udine, Province of Udine
Udine, Province of Udine
 

Been to Hostaria alla Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria alla Tavernetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.