We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for your money and very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristallo to your Saves list
Hotel Cristallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale d'Annunzio, 43, Udine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Udine
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good value for your money and very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel Christallo is in a good location in Udine, just a short walk from the very centre where only pedestrians are allowed. If you reach by car you can park there (or in the hotel garage with a small additional fee of 7€) and forget abot your car. if you reach by train it is at a minimun walking distance from the main train station. This is both an advantage and disadvantage, since the area is plenty of extracommunitary people (in realty all Udine is plenty); however we never felt to be unsafe. The staff was very nice and friendly in any occasion and provided any kind of information and support any time we requested for something. Special mention to the staff at breakfast; they were incredibly kind: since there was a large group, while we were two families (4 adults and 4 teen agers in total), they made available a isolated table for us to protect our privacy and she was taking care about us like a mom!!! Our rooms (two interconnected rooms) were clean and good size. The bathroom was good even if there was not a shower box but only a bath tub. My daughters played with wifi all the time without any problem. Breakfast was nice with good selection on food. We had the opportunity to be back in Udine two weeks later and we immediately checked the room availability on internet on arrival. Unfortunately it was too late and it was fully booked. We would stay again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    37
    27
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
16
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in this efficient and charming business hotel last in 2010. I liked everything about it, except the advertised free wifi did not work for me or anyone else I spoke to. I was worried when I heard I had been booked in here again, but they have upgraded the wifi. I had no problems. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is a short walk from the bus station or the train station (5 minutes or so), the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is plentiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable (if basic), the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing away from the street and far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly ROI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hotel Christallo is in a good location in Udine,just a short walk from the main train station.
the staff was friendly and spoke very good english.

My Room was clean and good size,the toilet and shower facilities was very good.
Breakfast was nice with good selection on food.

would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

The Cristallo has wi-fi, but... it's very unstable. I got nowhere with it, and one of my colleagues gave up after a day. The hotel staff are very nice. It's a modern, functional place near the railway station. It lacks charm, but it would be a fine value-for-money business traveler's choice IF the wi-fi worked. I was told the problem has been around and getting worse for a while. If it wasn't for this, I would recommend the hotel. But it was a huge problem for me to be so out of touch. No business centre, so no other options at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

We needed somewhere to stay in Udine and were getting drenched so we were not too fussy about facilities or price. From the outside the Cristallo looked large, modern and characterless but the friendliness of the reception staff was a first step in reassessing that opinion. A good sized and firm bed, excellent TV (we were able to catch up on the news as it was the first place we had stayed that had BBC World and CNN in days), generous balcony overlooking an ancient arch all turned a rainy afternoon into a time of recuperation. The breakfast the next morning was very good and the noon checkout gave us time to take in the modern art gallery (another antidote - we were a bit renaissance and antiquity weary after three weeks in Italy). At eighty one euro a night (including breakfasts) we found it more pricey than most places we stayed but reasonable value nevertheless.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — A little busy around breakfast time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Address: Piazzale d'Annunzio, 43, Udine, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristallo 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cristallo, just beside main junctions for the town and the whole of Friuli, lies in a walking distance from the centre of the town and just a hundred meters away from the main Railway station, offering the utmost comfort both for business or leisure stays. Our Hotel presents 81 fully furnished and comfortable rooms, both for smoking and non-smoking customers, with mini-bar, satellite TV, Wi-Fi connection, air conditioning. Reception desk on duty 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.