We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but rather poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitelli

Hotel Capitelli
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capitelli to your Saves list
Hotel Capitelli
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Trauner 1 | Piazza Barbacan 3, 34121 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice place but rather poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Unfortunately I was not very satisfied with the Hotel Capitelli. My stay started off on the wrong foot, because I had an old, invalid credit card stored with my booking through www.booking.com reservation, and the hotel cancelled my reservation. That's of course entirely my fault, but I would have expected the hotel to at least notify me about the cancellation. Luckily I could book again (I had already travelled to Trieste), but had to pay for breakfast, which for my original booking I didn't have to.

This was not all. On arrival, the wireless internet was not working (which the desk personnel did not tell me). The mattress in the bed was terrible. Further, I first got a wrong key, so I could not re-enter the annex where my room was, and had to get a different key.

It's a shame, because the hotel is not expensive, the location is great, and the room was very cosy and calm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
5
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After researching using reviews from trip advisor we booked for 4 nights. I agree with comments made previously, courteous staff, clean room, ideally located for getting around. We were in a separate building with our balcony overlooking Riccardo's arch- also really nice not to have any cars passing by as it is the old town and streets are very narrow. Only moans are loo roll not replaced and our shower room was very close to neighbours windows! Breakfast was ample.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the separate building, rooms look newly furnished and view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I go frequently to Trieste, and i slept last Saturday in this hotel. It is a one star hotel but it si really clean, almost new and not far from the center. The rooms are small but with tv, shower and, if summer, with air coindition inside. to go in the rooms there is a very narrow stair, but the are silent and quiet. To have breakfast people have to walkoutside the hotel and in 10 meters there is the little bar owned by the hotel itself: breakfast was nothing special but with tea, coffe, marmelades, industrial croissants. If u want to stay one or two nights in Trieste it is a ggod choice with a good balance between quality and prices. I definetly suggest it if you don' t need luxury and all comodities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a short trip to see relatives in Trieste. The location is brilliant for the town and the room was extremely clean. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was basic, but fine. Really good value if all you want to do is have a nice clean base for exploring Trieste. It's not luxurious, but would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Very central, and my small room was spotlessly clean BUT this is nothing more than a bed and bathroom outfit.

If you're looking for something else, it's not for you.

In summer it's worth double checking on air con. Rooms have units but not equipped with correct plugs to function, nor do they have the right vents to expel warm air so pretty pointless.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed in the house where once Casanova lived, and you can be sure the mattress in the room is from his time. Apart from that, the smell of cigarettes in the room was very annoying and, after listening to our complain, the only thing the guy at the reception did was offering us a antismoke spray. Add to that problems in the toilette (the water was pouring constantly, which made sleeping quite difficult) and the picture is perfect for a comfortable quiet night.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The unconfort of the room - smoky, noisy, uncomfortable mattress -
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Hotel Capitelli is in a newly constructed building so it is very nice, clean, and cozy. The hotel is very quiet because it does not sit on a busy street. That being said, it is still well located near the main Piazza. The only negative aspect was that the walls were surprisingly thin so we could hear people walking around upstairs and downstairs which was a little annoying. The absence of any carpets in the building makes it worse but this is typical of many mid-range Italian hotels. Breakfast was pretty meager and offered yogurt, packaged brioche, juices, toast, hot tea and coffee....it could be improved. We paid 90 euros for a Friday night stay in late October which struck me as being a little pricey as we stayed during what I thought was the off season, but it was still a decent value.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capitelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitelli

Address: Via Trauner 1 | Piazza Barbacan 3, 34121 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Capitelli 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pedestrian area of historic city of Trieste,Hotel Capitelli is 100 meters from the seafront promenadea few steps from the port.It offers spacious accommodation with elegant furnishing.Rooms at the Hotel Capitelli are set in buildings of the 18th century.All feature a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries.They come with wood or tiled floors.Hotel Capitelli is 5 minutes walk from Piazza Unità d’Italia squareand San Giusto Cathedral.The neighborhood is full of shops, restaurants and cafes.All the accommodations are furnishedwith private bathroom. Wi-fi connection is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Capitelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitelli Hotel Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.