We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-friendly with excellent maps” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trieste Tourist Office

Trieste Tourist Office
Piazza Unita d'Italia, 34121 Trieste, Italy
040 3478312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 70 Attractions in Trieste
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Tours, Other
Attraction details
Minneapolis Mn
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Semi-friendly with excellent maps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The door was locked even though the posted hours showed it was open. We went to a nearby security desk and asked for help. A security officer opened the door for us. Employees of the tourist office were inside at their desks. Apparently unlocking the door was not part of their duties. We asked for a maps and were given two excellent maps, one for James Joyce sites and one for the city, but there were no smiles or warmth, unusual for Italy. We must have caught them on an off day, because other reviews are more positive.
Excellent location, on the main square, directly across from the entrance to the Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    14
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Lovely friendly staff who told you pretty much everything there is to do in Trieste!! Good discounts avaible

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Perhaps because Trieste is not a mecca for tourists, we found the city especially welcoming to those who ventured to the off-the-path city. The staff in the tourist office were very helpful. I do want to note here that our favorite restaurant is not listed in the tripadvisor queue. Buffet da Siora Rosa is a wonderful & cozy place for an excellent meal at a reasonable price. Piazza Hortis, n. 3.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very professional and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Got plenty of general information about Trieste. Went on the free city walking tour. Very well done.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“get the city card”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Easy to find just off the square. The city card paid for itself. We were in Trieste for 6 nights, the one week card worked well for admissions ( included the city tour ) and the little train to Cividale-Udine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trieste Tourist Office also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Trieste Tourist Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trieste Tourist Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.