We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business or a weekend out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel James Joyce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel James Joyce to your Saves list
Hotel James Joyce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via dei Cavazzeni, 7, 34121 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
shangri-la
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business or a weekend out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great little hotel in fantastic location. Every body was very helpful - from the receptionist in the Urban Hotel where we checked in - up to the handy man who helped us with the closed safe. Thank you, we will come back!
Only litte downside - the walls are quite thin and the digital key makes a "hell of a noise" when entering the room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
president57, Proprietario at Hotel James Joyce, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear vogels-on-tour,
we are really pleased to read about your satisfying stay at James Joyce hotel!
Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
Sharing your comments with our staff will be a real pleasure!
We are also glad that you did appreciate our strategic and suggestive location in the Old Town location, close to Stazione Marittima, the main monuments, the shops and the best restaurants.
Waiting for you to come back at James Joyce hotel we wish you all the best!
Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    59
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
48
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

great location. smallish but practical, stylish and clean room. wifi and air conditioning worked like promised. walls not the most sound-proof. breakfast is as good as it can be without a dedicated kitchen (i.e. no cooked meals). excellent coffee!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend away with friends. The position is great and we could walk to everything you wanted to see in Trieste and it is also only a couple of minutes from the main square and the sea. The welcome is a little low key as the hotel has no reception and you have to check in at the adjacent stylish Urban Hotel and then go out the back across the alley to the James Joyce. The rooms seem to have been recently refurbished and are clean and comfortable but a bit basic. Absolutely no view apart from at brick walls and rooms are rather dark despite the fact it was sunny weather outside. Upside is that as it is so enclosed it was very quiet until early morning .Breakfast was basic in a small room on the ground floor but good with high quality coffee but get there early as croissants run out!

Room Tip: Not a lot to choose between them no views and lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
715 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,375 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were in a room at the fifth floor, with the elevator reaching only the fourth. The room was small and not particularly comfortable and was not design at all, no matter what they write on their web... Service friendly and attentive, but a tad slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This rather basic place is okay, but with no reception service. To check in you have to go to the posh 'Design Hotel' opposite, where in our case at least, we felt we were regarded as second class compared to their regular business customers. We were given a dark room with soft beds. We were paying a lot (90E) per night, as much as I had paid for a very good hotel with late night bar and great facilities in Verona, and yet here we were in a pretty dingy room with awful - I mean awful - sound separation between the rooms. No sleep that night! I had researched it quite thoroughly - my mother is partially sighted and therefore needs light, bright rooms - and also had specifically asked for a 'light ' room when I booked. The photographs just did not represent the truth. The owner was pleasant enough, but still, this is overpriced for a very basic level of accomodation.

Room Tip: Near to main square, but hard to find a tiny alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

fantastic staff - in association with Urban Hotel design. Very good value option for Trieste. Staff provided helpful information about restaurants and other services e.g. dentist. Those wanting more upmarket accommodation could consider staying in the Urban Hotel Design adjacent; more recently removated building in more modern style, same lobby and reception etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I did spend the last night of an amazing holiday in this hotel - NEVER again!

Location – very central (my only positive point)

Cleanness
1) first check: dust everywhere in the bedroom plus weird smell
2) Second check: bathroom ; toilet not well cleaned and overall sense of dirty space

Parking – they park it for you for 20€/dd (even if you leave it there just for 10h); I told the reception the night before i was getting the car at 9.30 but at 10 was not there yet

Breakfast – avoid the “fresh food “ offer from breakfast room; go out (quicker and better)

Overall - I will never ever come back to this hotel or reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel James Joyce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel James Joyce

Address: via dei Cavazzeni, 7, 34121 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel James Joyce 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel James Joyce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel James Joyce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.