We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel James Joyce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel James Joyce to your Saves list
Hotel James Joyce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via dei Cavazzeni, 7, 34121 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Tartu, Estonia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

great location. smallish but practical, stylish and clean room. wifi and air conditioning worked like promised. walls not the most sound-proof. breakfast is as good as it can be without a dedicated kitchen (i.e. no cooked meals). excellent coffee!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
36
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend away with friends. The position is great and we could walk to everything you wanted to see in Trieste and it is also only a couple of minutes from the main square and the sea. The welcome is a little low key as the hotel has no reception and you have to check in at the adjacent stylish Urban Hotel and then go out the back across the alley to the James Joyce. The rooms seem to have been recently refurbished and are clean and comfortable but a bit basic. Absolutely no view apart from at brick walls and rooms are rather dark despite the fact it was sunny weather outside. Upside is that as it is so enclosed it was very quiet until early morning .Breakfast was basic in a small room on the ground floor but good with high quality coffee but get there early as croissants run out!

Room Tip: Not a lot to choose between them no views and lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,313 helpful votes 1,313 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were in a room at the fifth floor, with the elevator reaching only the fourth. The room was small and not particularly comfortable and was not design at all, no matter what they write on their web... Service friendly and attentive, but a tad slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This rather basic place is okay, but with no reception service. To check in you have to go to the posh 'Design Hotel' opposite, where in our case at least, we felt we were regarded as second class compared to their regular business customers. We were given a dark room with soft beds. We were paying a lot (90E) per night, as much as I had paid for a very good hotel with late night bar and great facilities in Verona, and yet here we were in a pretty dingy room with awful - I mean awful - sound separation between the rooms. No sleep that night! I had researched it quite thoroughly - my mother is partially sighted and therefore needs light, bright rooms - and also had specifically asked for a 'light ' room when I booked. The photographs just did not represent the truth. The owner was pleasant enough, but still, this is overpriced for a very basic level of accomodation.

Room Tip: Near to main square, but hard to find a tiny alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

fantastic staff - in association with Urban Hotel design. Very good value option for Trieste. Staff provided helpful information about restaurants and other services e.g. dentist. Those wanting more upmarket accommodation could consider staying in the Urban Hotel Design adjacent; more recently removated building in more modern style, same lobby and reception etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I did spend the last night of an amazing holiday in this hotel - NEVER again!

Location – very central (my only positive point)

Cleanness
1) first check: dust everywhere in the bedroom plus weird smell
2) Second check: bathroom ; toilet not well cleaned and overall sense of dirty space

Parking – they park it for you for 20€/dd (even if you leave it there just for 10h); I told the reception the night before i was getting the car at 9.30 but at 10 was not there yet

Breakfast – avoid the “fresh food “ offer from breakfast room; go out (quicker and better)

Overall - I will never ever come back to this hotel or reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed in the James Joyce for a long weekend with my wife. We chose it off Tripadvisor because of the reviews and because it offered wifi. However, I was disappointed. Rooms first: clean, nice furniture but my wife and I had to take turns to access wardrobe and floorspace. Then she opened the window of our second floor room and found herself saying hello to a man sitting two metres away -- the rooms overlook a very narrow alley, no view except right into the hotel rooms opposite. You are close enough to touch, very matey. Anyone wandering down the alley at 2am with drunken mates chatting loudly tends to intrude. Plus, to change the subject, the wifi seemed incompatible with anything Apple. In a sense I didn't mind that, but the sleekly dressed staff at the front desk -- part of the boutique (aaargh!) hotel opposite, which owns the James Joyce -- couldn't have been less interested in helping me sort it out. I gave up, and found a wifi cafe. Therein lies the problem. The whole James Joyce operation felt an after-thought to the bigger hotel opposite, owned by the same people, with a silly name (I've forgotten it). And the James Joyce breakfast room was a bit cynical, space for only about half the hotel's guests if it was full. You eat elbow to elbow with others. Enough griping.On the plus side, the James Joyce was nicely placed, the main square to the right, and the boho, pedestrian strip of bars and cafes to the left. Waterfront straight ahead. I just thought for the price that we were paying, we could have got better value. Most interesting trips (something of a contrast): to the tiny pastry shop where Joyce used to buy his cakes, and where they serve delicious coffee and chocolate; and to the old rice factory memorial -- site of Italy's only concentration camp -- next to the city's football stadium. The site has been incased in high, brutal concrete walls, part art work, part very moving tribute to the dead, lest we forget. Worth a taxi trip. We were the only people there and I'm guessing the Triestini don't make a big deal of it, for obvious reasons, but it was thoughtful and provoking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel James Joyce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel James Joyce

Address: via dei Cavazzeni, 7, 34121 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel James Joyce 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel James Joyce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel James Joyce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.