We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo alla Posta

Save Saved
You added Albergo alla Posta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo alla Posta
Piazza Oberdan, 1, 34122 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Trieste
Minnesota
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Good location, but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here on business for two nights. It is located on a very busy street. I could not have the window open because of all the noise from people, cars and buses. My room was very disappointing - very small room on top floor, reminded me of a jail cell. It was clean. I think the rooms on lower floors may have been nicer but didn't see any other rooms.
The contintental breakfast was included and was very generous with cereals, meats, cheeses, apples, bread and pastries. I especially liked the coffee machine that was available 24 hours. The lounge and breakfast area was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    158
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
113
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florence
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We overnighted at the Albergo alla Posta and were sorry we didn't have more time to spend there and in Trieste. The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful and our room (three beds) was very clean and very comfortable. Good breakfast. Parking available (your car is taken away when you arrive and brought back to you when you need it). Excellent location. Great value. Excellent restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had a very good experience in this hotel. The room was at a very high standard for a three star hotel, all the services are top notch, and the staff is professional and helpful.
It's location is perfect, close to the train station and to the city center. This is better than a previous hotel I stayed at that was on the beach at Barcola. There's nothing easier than taking a bus or a boat to Barcola from the city center during the day. However, when going out to the city center at night, it is a great advantage to have the hotel near by. After about 23:00 there are no buses, and the only way to get a cab is call the station, you can't just whistle for a cab on the street (apparently they don't do that in Trieste).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

One night, good location, good staff, good value ... Possibly a little tired internally, but stislid pick and span ... Not fancy and Does what it says on the tin! Definitely on the list of value fork money options in Trieste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visited hotel on 7th - 9th July and had wonderful time there. Rooms are nice and clean and we had a lovely balcony. The stuff at the reception were brilliant, helpful and kind. Whatever we asked for they provided for us. When we asked about some outlet centre they printed out the maps and gave us all information we needed. Always with a smile in spite of early hours when we disturbed them with some orders.

The breakfast was fine, not a big variety but enough of ham, mortadella, cheese, eggs and fantastic croissants. Coffee machine was in the lobby and you could help yourself.

The position of the hotel is perfect as all the shops and deprtment stores are in walking distance from it.

I wish to go back to this lovely city and my hotel destination will always be Albergo Alla Posta.

Well done to all the fantastic stuff there.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms very clean and comfortable, good shower. Great breakfast. Free internet (ask at recetion for a code). Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the bus / train station (approx 5 minutes walk away). Would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed one night

Hotel looks a bit tired from the outside and the lift & landings are from another generation but my room was fine, modern, clean, comfortable bed, good shower and plenty of wardrobe space and looking over the central area so very quiet (as requested).

The breakfast room was fine but there is nowhere else to sit downstairs. Breakast OK - but nothing remarkable - not hot options (eg scrambled eggs/bacon etc.). Coffee from a machine - adequate espresso but nothing remarkable.

My laptop was bust and I needed to confirm my flight and get a boarding pass. There is no guest computer as such but I was allowed to use the hotel PC.

Really easy to get to the railway station, central Trieste shops, waterfront and other sights.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If quiet is what you want ask - the rooms at the back overlloking the central space were very peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo alla Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo alla Posta

Address: Piazza Oberdan, 1, 34122 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Trieste
#7 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Albergo alla Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Alla Posta Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo alla Posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.