We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly unpretentious city centre hote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Milano to your Saves list
Milano
Via Ghega, 17, 34132 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“friendly unpretentious city centre hote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival we received a very friendly welcome at this hotel located 10 minutes walk from the city centre and 5 minutes walk from the bus station. The rooms were of good size, well appointed and comfortable. they understood English and were very helpfully. Breakfasts were great and the hotel is opposite Zampolli which serves the best cream I have tasted.
I would go back to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
16
37
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed just one night at the Milano this summer and had a wonderful time. The concierge was very helpful at suggesting dining options, and the building has a sturdy, old-timey feel. It's a quick walk from the bus/train station, and plenty of other local sites in the center of Trieste (and the magnificent Gelateria Zampolli is across the street!). Only caveat--was able to hear the next room very clearly through the bathroom wall...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Hotel Milano good hotel.
The building and the interiors are very old.
But the rooms maintained well,
The staff there are very efficient, English speaking staffs, Helped a lot.
The Air condition was little terrible, Not so effective.
The WIFI even though it is free was very poor.
But enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel was easy to find after getting off a bus from FVG airport. Check-in seemed smooth until we got to our room and found 2x single beds when we had explicitly asked for 1x double bed. After discussing the issue with the manager for a few minutes, we were successful in getting the room situation squared away.

Thoughts about the room: it seemed a bit dated, but served our needs...mattress was passable but not comfortable...air conditioner was nice and cold...blinds and curtains blocked out most outside light, but only some of the road noise.

I still think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel to stay in close to the station. Bus stop outside the hotel. Close walking to tram to Opacina. We had a large room 205 with big bathroom and small shower compartment but quite adequate. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Management staff answered all questions pleasantly. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.
supermarket close by next to station. Pizza over the road.

Devon and Cheryl

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butterfly101_uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I've been in Trieste just once but I'll come back for sure not only for the beautiful town but also for the ospitality. I've stay in hotel Milano with my husband for 3 nights very confortable, beautiful quiet room, staff very kind and helpful to give information (fish very good at "Scarpon" restaurant). We had 2 hours wireless internet connection for free per day!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

It was a really bad hotel, but we just arrived and needed a hotel room, we checked some other, but they were expensive, so we decided to go to Hotel Milano, it was 90 euro for a doubleroom. The receptionists were nice, but the room was under avarage, not nice at all. The shower was okay.
The breakfast was the most terrible I ever tried. All these packed croissants and cakes, nothing fresh. No bakeries, no fruits, no vegetables.
The location is goud though.
II would never go back there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano

Address: Via Ghega, 17, 34132 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern comforts; located in town, just minutes from the railway station and convention center; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.