We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colombia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colombia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colombia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geppa, 18, 34132 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 hotels in Trieste
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here on business in January. Room next to the lift so a few creaks and noises in the night but otherwise very quiet on the 'courtyard' side of the hotel (not the road side which was apparently a bit noisy). Breakfast OK - coffee good - from a machine but ground from beans! Artwork around the hotel somewhat mixed in its quality but it added a contemporary feel to the place. Walking distance to bus /train station - and into the old town which is a revelation if you haven't been to Trieste before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    73
    30
    13
    2
See reviews for
15
48
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I must admit I was very suspicious when we were outside the hotel, as it looked a bit rough on the outside (or perhaps more the neighbourhood) and the name gave me bad assosiations, but once entering the lobby I got a totally different impression. The hotel is very well managed and the rooms nice, clean and quite spacious. The time we visited Trieste it was a congress going on and most hotels were full. Still we got a good price for the rooms we rented, including a good breakfast. The hotel is located close to the bus and train station making it easy to access by walking from the station. Would recommend the hotel to business pepole, families and other travelling solo or in groups. (But perhaps not the most romantic place for couples on honey-moon)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very Clean and interesting hotel. Located close to bus and railway stations and within walking distance of all areas of Trieste such as canal and promenade.
Enjoyable breakfast although a shortage of tables at peak times.
Complimentary tea/coffee available in reception.
Room and bathroom very clean. Spa bath an added bonus. Lovely big white towels.
Staff helpful and attentive.
Free wifi access
Overall good value for money as breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, situated within an easy 5 minute walk from the main rail and bus stations and in close proximity to the centre of Trieste.

We arrived by car (to meet our son & his girlfriend who were arriving later by train) and were pleasantly surprised to find a 30 minute drop off parking bay at the front of the hotel. Following an efficient check-in by a very helpful receptionist, we moved our vehicle to the public car park adjacent to the rail station, for which the hotel provides a special discounted rate of 8 euro per day.

We had two double rooms booked which were on the fifth floor, with the rooms being clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable, along with good sized bathrooms which included a large bath. A safe and mini bar was also in the room. Both the free in room Wi-Fi and the air-conditioning worked well, with the rooms being very quiet. Interestingly, one of the booked rooms had a double bed, whilst the other had a queen bed, so I would suggest that if a larger bed is required, then a specific request be made.

The continental breakfast which was on offer was quite adequate and included muesli, juices, yogurt, croissants, brie cheese and pate.

Whilst the foyer, reception area and kitchen are very modern, I believe hotel management needs to address the upgrading of the carpets in both the lift and the common hallways, as the carpets are extremely well worn and portray a “musty” type odour and therefore detracts slightly from the hotels overall appeal.

Having said that, based on previous stays at two other similar hotels in this part of Trieste, Hotel Colombia offers good value for money, with courteous staff service and room quality /comfort meeting expectations. As a result, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Double rooms have standard double or queen size beds. If queen size bed required, suggest request be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were in Trieste for two nights, having taken the train from Venice and needing a bus to Pula. The Colombia Hotel appeared to be in the right spot, near both bus and train stations, and had mostly favorable reviews, so we reserved a room on line, though we are a little wary of neighborhoods around bus and train stations. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the station, which was across from a small park with clean benches, and felt perfectly safe on the short walk to the hotel. We were greeted warmly by the concierge, who was possibly the most helpful hotel employee we had ever met, mapping out various restaurants, routes into the center, and helping us gain access to the hotel's free internet. Like the lobby, the room was clean, modern and colorful. The hop-on, hop-off bus stops near the train station, so we were able to see the city, from the center to the Castello di Miramare, very conveniently. Breakfast was included with the room and coffee was served by the concierge, now barista, who introduced us to caffe in B, coffee Trieste-style, in a small glass. We left Trieste with many pleasant memories and would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are a couple in our 60's and stayed one night at the Hotel Colombia enroute to Venice. We arrived at the train station and it was about a 4 block walk to the hotel, very reasonable and easy to do. Easy walking to the harbor and old town areas. The lobby of the hotel had some modern works of art, which seemed a little unusual as it is an old hotel. Hotel staff were very pleasant. Our room was very clean and comfortable and faced on the street. We were there in May so we were able to keep the windows open at night. Bathroom was roomy with a large shower and bathsheet size towels. Breakfast was sufficient to get you through the morning and I had one of the best croissants I've ever tasted; it had a little filling in it and there was a flavor to it that was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is quite a good hotel. I can't be effusive about it for some reason but nonetheless it met most of our needs very well. We liked the location, the room was spacious and very clean and it had pretty much everything we were after. The shower was a beauty. Breakfast was included in the price and provides a small but perfectly adequate continental selection. Wi fi is free and reliable. The staff were efficient and perfectly pleasant. I think the reason I'm holding back on praise is that the hotel probably needs a bit of a facelift. Not a major one, but one nonetheless. My wife, however, thinks it's ok and just needs a new colour scheme. Having said that, these aren't major things. We enjoyed our stay here and would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colombia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombia Hotel

Address: Via Geppa, 18, 34132 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Railway Station, in the center of the town, Hotel Colombia offers a comfortable stay with all the modern standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Colombia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombia Hotel Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.