We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Citta di Parenzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Citta di Parenzo to your Saves list
Hotel Citta di Parenzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Artisti, 8, 34100 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is in a good location and a short walk into the centre of Trieste. Rooms were a good size with a larger than average sized bathroom. All facilities were good and the rooms clean. There was no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms and this would be a nice extra. The breakfast buffet was good. The only thing that could have been improved was when we asked at reception for times of the buses to the airport - they did not have this information and did not offer to look it up on the internet. Other than that a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    41
    10
    0
See reviews for
11
35
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A brilliant location on the edge of the centre of town. The rooms were very good with excellent bathrooms. The breakfast room was pleasant and the breakfast was included and very good and quick as it was on a self service basis. The only thing that would have been useful would have been being able to use the coffee machine during the day so that we could pay for drinks when we came back to the hotel. The reception service was ok. The rooms had a fan which was useful as the street below could at times be noisy. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and can recommend it as an excellent stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Very good location, a short wall to main square (Piazza della Unita) and San Giusto castle etc. Staff was very smiling and helpful. They even lent me an adapter because my laptop was not compatible with the plug in the room. There was supposed to be free wi-fi in the room, and I received passwords and all at the reception, but I couldn't make it work. I don't know what was the problem, but in the evening I was too tired to go and ask about it in the reception (I only stayed for one night, so it was no big deal). The room was otherwise clean, but unfortunately the toile/bathroom was not cleaned properly. The room was very quiet, and the hotel seemed peaceful. There was a safe box in the room, and also a modest mini bar. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but still everything I needed to have my stomach full for the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just generally a great hotel. Excellently located, clean, friendly staff and great breakfast. Also had computer with internet access, and a good bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

A modest walk to everywhere, five minutes to Piazza Unita. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms adequate and clean. Mine, however, smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Que peccato!
I'd go back,(different room, though).

Room Tip: check before engaging. Mine smelled of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast consisted of brioche, eggs, cheese and yoghurt, with plenty of coffee and juice. Our room was quiet, overlooking Via degli Artisti, and only a 15 minute walk (a steep one) up to the castle. The hotel is centrally located and very comfortable. Plenty of umbrellas to cater for the heavy rain we experienced!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The hotel is found in a good location - a walking distance from all the interesting places of Trieste. You can even climb up from there to the castle within about 20 minutes (steep stairs, don't reccommend it to older people). It is not facing a busy street.
The room was very clean, although probably not renewed for a while.
The service was great - all the receptionists knew perfect english and were very very nice and helpful.
There was no WIFI. A public internet point is found at the lobi.
The breakfast was a disspointment - croissons, bread, cheese and ham. No extras. The good thing was that there is a coffee machine in the breakfast room and it is fun making coffee there.
The hotel does not have it's own parking. You need to pay extra and someone comes to pick up your car. Not so comfortable if you forget something inside the car (s.a. sunglasses in my case). When the car was returned from the parking, it was very dirty from outside.
I can reccommend the hotel but not the parking service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Citta di Parenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citta di Parenzo

Address: Via degli Artisti, 8, 34100 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citta di Parenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Citta di Parenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Citta di Parenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.