We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fabulous breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greif Maria Theresia

Save Saved
You added Greif Maria Theresia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greif Maria Theresia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Miramare, 109, 34136 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Trieste
Finlande
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fabulous breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a classic style hotel in the Barcola area of Trieste. It cost 90€/night for 2 nights, and I think it was well worth the price. I wouldn't say that it's 5-stars, but perhaps 4. The breakfast was great, not like anything I've ever had in a Mediterranean hotel before, and the view over the bay from the breakfast room was wonderful! The service was friendly and discreet. I will definitely book a room here next time I visit Trieste, and hopefully I will then be able to take a dip in the swimmingpool or do some excercise in the gym. The only minus is that it is quite far from the city center, so you cannot just take a walk to town in the evening.

Room Tip: I was in room 209 with view towards the back yard and mountains. I had asked for this via e-mail bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    16
    15
    13
See reviews for
13
21
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The only real problem with this hotel is the bizarre claim that it is a 5-star establishment. It’s not. Not even close.

The rooms are smallish and quaint, in a slightly faded “Mittel-European” way. There were no pictures on the wall of our room, just two empty hooks over an expanse of faded and torn wallpaper. One of the wall-mounted bedside lights had a piece of string dangling from it which served as the on/off cord. The floors are not carpeted, they just have cheap, thin parquet flooring, which makes it unpleasant if you have people walking around above you. Standard four-star touches like slippers, pads of paper, pens, extra pillows, and bathrobes were non-existent.

The public areas of the hotel are no better. The hallway leading to our room had a low ceiling, dim lighting, and a large metal emergency door at the end. Immediately outside our door water was dripping through the ceiling from the restaurant kitchen above; two small puddles of water were constantly on the floor.

The location is poor, on a busy motorway about 5 km from the charming downtown of Trieste. Yes, some rooms look out over the Adriatic, but the noise on that side of the building is deafening and relentless. The only staff member we saw was the gentleman who seemed to do duty as the bellman, receptionist and concierge. He was friendly and helpful.
All-in-all this is an adequate, mid-level hotel. Three-star perhaps. None of these flaws are fatal; I’ve stayed in far worse places and many were entirely satisfactory and good value for the money. But I’ve also stayed in many 5-star hotels – and this definitely isn’t one. The only way this place is 5-star is on a scale of 10.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

On our European tour we couldn't miss Trieste. Never been before, and myself my wife and our 7 months daughter we been very excied about it. We driven all morning, from Zagreb to Ljubljana and finaly arrived to Trieste. Find the hotel by chance, just after we walked by the see. Quite excied, 5 stars. First impression is grandious, expensive but we tough our daughter is worth it. Soon we check in we realise something is not right. The lift very old fashioned, dirty and tiny. The corridors like in '70s, the room small, old parket flooring, old furiture, the bathroom a let down and NO HOT WATER. We been told 20 minutes, after that another 20 minutes, when I was going up and down to reception to check. A courtesy call after 45 min of waiting. Willbd another 2.5h. We decided to leave. By this time fed up and tired for waiting. We left Trieste dissapointed as after this experience we coldnt be bother to start looking at other places.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel itself is very "classy", heavy wooden furniture, very nice. Rooms are comfortable and clean, comfortable bathroom with high level soaps and amenities.

Very nice and tasty breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Awful hotel with tiny rooms overlooking a construction site.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

On the last night of our Istrian holiday we asked the Trieste Tourist office if there were any recommended five star hotels in Trieste. We were told there was only one. Judging by the four star hotels that we had seen within one hundred yards of the office, we thought this would be something special....
We arrived at Hotel Greif (Maria Theresia) after a short 10 Euro taxi journey out of the centre of Trieste. First impressions were; Small, tired looking building undergoing major construction works on a main coastal road, miles away from much of what this city has to offer.
On entry the foyer was dull dark and empty, quite a dissapointment to our expectations.
We paid up front then made our way to the room, admittedly this was not billed as the best room in the house. The room had its curtains drawn which was a surprise as it was a very clear sunny morning. When the curtains were pulled back we were greeted with a beutiful view! two builders having lunch on the scaffolding who gave us a friendly nod. With the room now in clear display we noticed the large black scuff marks up the ageing wallpaper with dated,shabby decor throughout. In the bathroom there were,deep scratchmarks and grime in the bath tub which was topped off with a pretty impressive cigarette burn on the rim.
However we decided to look at the brochures in the room to see what else the Maria Theresia had to offer. The hotels guide listed massages, pool, gym, sauna etc. We went upstairs to check out the dining area. The Restaurant was well presented, with nice views over the Adriatic, there was a table with fresh fruit on offer, although we didn't stay long enough to experience it. We travelled downstairs to the 'spa' area. On arrival we saw a fair sized pool and gym, nothing special. When we enquired about the other facilities we were told they weren't available, or to quote 'No, No, No'.
We were in the hotel less than two hours before deciding this hotel was not worth its five star rating nor the price we paid for it. We decided to move on to a different hotel and ask for a refund as we had hardly stayed long. The receptionist was unhelpful and rude and only offered us half our money back, we later found out this is not common policy in Italy.
We would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any occasion, there are so many great B&B's and grander, lower star rated hotels in this beutiful thriving city, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I admit we wanted to stay in the Miramare further along the coast, but it was full, so this was our 2nd choice. The hotel is being expanded with another huge building being constructed at the rear. We were afraid of building works starting at dawn, but actually had no trouble. The small parking area to the west of the hotel was supposedly taken over by the builders, but they said we could park there, and it was ok.

The room was small and dark (because it looked out on to the scaffolding of the works at the back). There was a loud party in the basement which went on till late, but eventually it broke up and we got to sleep.

DInnner in the top floor restaurant was fairly good but expensive, but breakfast was very good, especially as at this time of day we could look out over the Adriatic and see all the way down the coast to Slovenia.

There was free wifi in the rooms but the registration procedure was as complex and bureaucratic as I have ever known. You had to register on line using a complex multi-page web system, and then contact the receptionist to get approved. This only worked about the fifth time we tried it, and I suspect the poor receptionist spends all his time helping people get connected.

All in all, a rather odd place. Maybe when the extension if finished it will be worth trying again.

The restaurant was

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greif Maria Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greif Maria Theresia

Address: Viale Miramare, 109, 34136 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greif Maria Theresia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Barcola district; 5 minutes to the city center & overlooking the Gulf of Trieste; on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Greif Maria Theresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greif Maria Theresia Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greif Maria Theresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.