We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Continentale to your Saves list
Continentale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Nicolo, 25, 34121 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Great upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A 4 star hotel - the lobby under construction.. was not what we expected for a relaxing trip to Italy but what a surprise after telling the manager about our discomfort we were immediately offered a suite at Palace Suite just a few metres from the hotel - very comfortable, modern and large!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    102
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
81
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay at Continentale every year for at least 3 or 4 days and it is always nice to go back. The rooms are cosy, breakfast great with perfect Italian coffee. The renovation is in course as we speak so it will remain one of my Trieste favorites! The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the city, in a street full of shops, bars and restaurants and close to all attractions including the coast and the main Piazza.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is an extremely well-located hotel. Clean hotel, spacious rooms, nice attached restaurant with a great buffet service. The hotel entrance is located on a no-vehicle lane, while it abuts a busy road. The sea-front is within walking distance. The hotel has functional free wi-fi. The staff and management are cheerful, with excellent spoken English. The large bathroom with a narrow cubicle for the hot shower is a great feature.

Room Tip: check on the facilities in the room. if you like a hot kettle, ask for it specifically. get your wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is centrally located, clean, convenient with friendly and helpful staff, especially during the evening hours. Although it is located right in the heart of the Trieste, this hotel is calm. The wifi worked perfect, the amenities were very good and cleanliness impeccable. I had a single room so the bed was small, however this did not bother me.
Breakfast was good and the cakes are yummy in the morning. I was lucky to be there during nice weather so I had my breakfasts on the sidewalk outside and that was nice. The hotel also has a bargain relatively good buffet for ten euros for lunch, and that I found really good since you may eat a good pasta and meat dish, with cheese and greens. There is usually a dessert which is good and coffee, although the coffee at this time could be improved, but in general it is very good.
I enjoyed my stay and I will return.

Room Tip: My room had no view, really, but when you are in such a beautiful city you just need to step outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice old style hotel in a central Trieste location.
The hotel provides parking, you need to abandon your car on the street at the side of the hotel, and they will come and take it away for you. Let them know when you want it again and it's delivered back.
Check in was extremely quick and painless.
The room was a large corner room, comfortable bed, mini bar, flat screen tv with literally hundreds of channels! WiFi worked fine.. No tea or coffee making facilities, but normal in Italy.
Bathroom, again large, spa bath tub, shower over bath, good toiletries..
Breakfast, a good choice of buffet breakfast, meat, cheese, yoghurt, bread, pastries and cakes.. Terrible coffee, so ask of a cappuccino or latte to be made..
All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. The hotel is located on a pedestrianised street in a very central location, convenient for shopping, strolling, restaurants and the waterfront. The staff were multi lingual and extremely helpful and friendly. The double disabled room was adequate with a large bathroom. However the wetroom arrangement meant that every thing had to be removed from the bathroom before taking a shower or it got soaked (including the toilet paper)! The breakfasts were lovely and it was very pleasant to be able to sit in the pavement cafe whilst eating and watch the world go by.
I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights In June and would stay again. The hotel is on a pedestrian street, near a good shopping area and close to a number of cafes and restaurants. It's also an easy and enjoyable stroll to Piazza Unita and the water. The hotel itself is not huge, and has a well-managed upmarket feeling to it. Breakfast is very good in the attractive ground-floor cafe, with a nice buffet including eggs, meats, cakes, fruit and a large selection of other hot and cold items. Though filter coffee is set on the buffet, the staff will make you a nice espresso or cappucino if you ask. They also have a very reasonably-priced daily buffet lunch where we noticed some locals dining, and there are tables and chairs outside (and umbrellas) if you prefer to eat in the fresh air. Late afternoon and evening drinks are served there as well.
Our room was fine and comfortable, with a large renovated bathroom and one of those modern capsule shower stalls. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful and had some good restaurant recommendations. Wireless internet was complimentary: they give you a slip of paper with a login and a passcode. Though there is a comfortable club-like sitting room off the main foyer, we noticed most guests used the cafe tables to relax and have coffee, or to have a drink while they waited for someone. The hotel had a happy, upmarket and polite ambiance and we would stay there again for that and the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Via San Nicolo, 25, 34121 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Trieste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continentale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.