We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavernetta

La Tavernetta
Via della Madonna del Mare, 2, 34124 Trieste, Italy
+39 040 308594
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 637 Restaurants in Trieste
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sofia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Traditional restaurant in the old town (not more than 25 places) with short list of tasty dishes and good local wines. It is definitely not aimed only at tourists (the list is written in Italian on board) and thus may be trusted.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“just plain fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

very small restaurant (as most are); make a reservation. we had a great pasta first dish, then a chicken and also a steak-with-arugula entree, and we loved them both. One of our most memorable meals

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Once upon a time, locals would dine out in Italian villages in small family run restaurants the size of a small living room with no menus. Today, these vestigial restaurants are few and far between and have to be sought out. Down a small street just a few blocks from the main square in Trieste, with almost no outside markings and easy to miss, sits La Tavernetta. It seats maybe 20 people (probably less). There is a blackboard with the day's offerings and you have to go early to avoid the best ones being sold out as only a few servings are made of each.

Arguably the best vegetarian lasagna you will ever eat. Small, intimate, warm and welcoming it's a piece of history with great food. Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasmechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A great little restaurant that is very easy to miss. Full of locals and not a tourist in sight... always a good sign! Basic menu that is written on a board. Amazing food and great service. Pasta dishes for 8.50€ and mains for about 15€. A good bottle of red wine 12€.

Book if you want a table. No credit cards accepted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

When I am in Trieste for work, this small place is one of my usual stops. From outside one can hardly notice it, but once you sit and try the food you will remember it! The menu is on a blackboard, but nevertheless the range of possibilities is rather wide. I've never found fish here, but I didn't miss it either... My advice: the "tagliata" with cherry tomatoes and ricotta salata. There is a wide choice of wines, I've tried a few and were very good. The environment is very familiar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tavernetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.