We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace to your Saves list
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was born in Trieste and when I return there I normally stay with family. This time, my English friends came with us and we stayed at the Savoia Palace. I was very impressed by the decor, cleanliness, size and comfort of the rooms, the view of the sea, the centreal location and the relaxed style of the public areas. But what really impressed me (because it is so hard to find these days) was the quality of service! I pointed out to a friend the attention to detail given by the staff at breakfast. If I was training hotel staff, I would bring them here.
Parking is a little expensive but then parking in Trieste is always a problem.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Adriatic is to be enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    145
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
106
291
20
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
peterhead
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very classy hotel located in the heart of Trieste. Rooms tradionally furnished, with rooms at the front (some with balconies) overlooking the harbour. Did not find the hotel staff to be to friendly, and made little effort for conversation whilst checking in/out. You also have to pay for WIFi in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A classy, centrally located, and quietly elegant hotel on the sea front that oozes charm tastefulness of the old time Austro-Hungarian Empire. Rooms are nicely furnished, service is outstanding, and breakfasts are super served in a ground floor room with broad windows overlooking the sea front street.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea front room -- they have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved this hotel. We got in very late (midnight) due to Iberia delay. The staff was outstanding...helped us get our car situated in the very inexpensive lot across the avenue, gave us a great sea view room and got our bags to us super fast. Fantastic breakfast. Wonderful service by everyone.You can walk to everything from this hotel. We went on to Croatia from here but also perfect for a day trip to Rovinj or Ljubljana. We have traveled to Europe every year for 25 years..this is one of the best hotels and best values we have seen.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Planches-pres-Arbois, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Highly recommended. Rooms beautifully appointed and we had a great view of the harbour. Service was friendly and helpful. Main areas were tastefully decorated and relaxing. Buffet breakfast was delicious but very busy. Would certainly stay again. Very central to walk to places of interest. We had an executive suite, with a small kitchen area. Very spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The exterior of the hotel is very stately. The room was very nice and spacious with a great bathroom. THe balcony was great for watching a big thunderstorm come through. The breakfast was also very good. The staff was a little stuffy. Enjoyed the stay, but I like to made welcome. I thought they did not care.

Room Tip: Balcony is a nice feature. Every third or fourth room had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Positives :

Very good Decor
Very Spacious room with nice balcony
Amenities in the room very good including complimentary chocolate bon bons every day
Complimentary Indoor slippers in room
Location (facing waterfront) and close to major highlights of the city

Negatives:

Kitchenette in the room should be equipped with basic pots, plates and cutlery. Otherwise theres no use. As a traveller no one can bring these from home !
Breakfast should have a live cooking station for eggs etc.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace

Address: Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trieste
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Savoia Exclesior Palace in the heart of Trieste… a magnificent seafront hotel with views over the Gulf and the historic Castello di Miramare.Completely refurbished, the Savoia Excelsior Palace exudes grand hotel charm through numerous prestigious details. Ornate boiseries…monogrammed cushions… there's even a Belle époque-style skylight brightening the Lounge.Enjoy exquisite food and spectacular sea views in our Mitteleuropean restaurant and bar. Our luxury hotel features 142 rooms and glorious suites…9 elegant meeting rooms, most with natural light, with a total capacity for up to 650 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Hotel Trieste
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.