We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - a place not to be missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mignon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mignon Hotel to your Saves list
Mignon Hotel
12 Via Junker, 34151 Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 104 Trieste B&B and Inns
England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - a place not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is wonderfully unique hotel with amazing customer service where nothing is too much trouble. We arrived hungry before the restaurant opened and the lovely Emma rustled up some nibbles and ice cold beer to drink on our balcony overlooking the wonderful view and small harbour. Later we ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed the fish. Breakfast was simple but beautifully presented. We loved our room and the decor of the whole Hotel. The bed linen was immaculate and although we sadly only stayed 3 nights, they still changed the sheets during our stay.

The only reason we have't scored it 5 is to be honest and fair to those reading this review the bathroom did need a little maintenance but for us the overall experience more than compensated for this.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a top floor room with balcony - wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
14
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was staying here in August, with a very mixed experience. This place is not really a hotel, I've been to hostels that were more hotel-like. If you're looking for a "hotel" that's very personal, maybe a bit rough around the edges but unique, then this might be a good choice - just keep a few things in mind:
1) Keys hardly work - you have to seriously practice opening these doors, I'm not exaggerating. You don't want to think what would happen in case of fire ... anyway, practice it a bit, and you get more than you thought - the keys for some reason work to other guest's rooms as well (so don't leave too much stuff in your room ... )
2) You can hear everything going on in the whole house. Bring earplugs, you will need them!
3) The food here is typical (as far as I can judge), and it's actually pretty good!
4) Note that if you arrive in the winter months there's numerous complaints that there's no heat, so keep that in mind
5) The reception has weird hours

If you can accomodate these points and you think this is the place for you, go right ahead. If you're more used to hotels with standard everything, then this is definitely not the place for you... if you know what you're getting into, you might enjoy it though :-)

Room Tip: every room is noisy, doesn't really matter. the room at the top floor doesn't have wifi so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

With some of my friends, we had a meal and multiple occasions to taste the wine-cellar of Mignon. At the outset, I loved the quaint furnishings in the restaurant's insides, and the terrace was quite spectacular, with this feeling of being quiet and secluded.
The wines are wide in their choice and the service is very responsive. Personal attention is given to every customer. I rate this place highly for food, drink and soaking in the atmosphere after a swim in the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had enjoyed very pleasant dinners at Mignon's restaurant during a nearby stay, so decided to move into the Mignon for our last day in the region. It was an unparalleled treat. The hotel's greatest asset is its staff, a welcoming professional group who share their many talents in all aspects of the guests' stay. The hotel has authentic charm and character. The guest feels truly engaged in local culture and is treated to the freshest in local cuisine. If you demand standard fare in regimented delivery, look elsewhere. For immersion in an entirely pleasant interlude rich in experience, take your time off the beaten track and stay at Mignon. It will not serve you well if you need to be IN Trieste, nor if you are challenged by public transit. It is well situated at a nearby bus stop and easily connects you to both Trieste and to the airport Visit the street-level wine shop. The restaurant's dining room and outdoor terrace are both beautifully decorated, just the spot for a leisurely sunset dinner. For us, it was perfect.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, ask for a high room looking out over the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I, we traveled together for business and this was the only option close to our working place... but, actually, it turned out to be a great surprise! It would take too long for describing all the details, and others have already done part of the job, so I will most give a sentimental advice : a very nice welcome, in a place finely accommodated, with a delicious restaurant and an elegant breakfast arrangement. The host took care of us in any respect, although discretely, so that we felt at home every evening coming back from work! Of course, our room at the fourth floor had a wonderful balcony on the sea, and we have been sleeping with the sound of the boats and the freshness of the marine breeze... This hotel is definitively made for a fine taste, and I strongly discourage those who are instead looking for something resembling more to a luxurious clinic ;-)

Room Tip: I suggest any room with a balcony on the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have looked forward to the end of my stay at Mignon.

The rooms were cold. This was the common opinion of about 10 people staying there at the same time. One should avoid staying here in cold weather.

The rooms, paritcularly the blankets provided, did not feel clean at all.

Their coffee tasted very bad. Either they don't clean their machine or their coffee is off.

Ugly decoration with golden painted mirrors and sparkly lace curtains is a torture to the beautiful 70's looking building.

Nice views of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a small "historical" hotel with definitely characteristic rooms (some with view on the sea), with old-style furniture and small rooms. However, everything was clean, and the bathroom, even if quite small, had everything. The shower was fine. To improve the heating, there was a supplementary electric heater working very well. The room was quiet and the smell of food coming from the restaurant was only present in the corridor. The owners were very kind, and I found this hotel worth the price, although it is definitely not a modern hotel (no fridge-bar, no elevator, etc). I recommend it, if you know what to expect.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mignon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mignon Hotel

Address: 12 Via Junker, 34151 Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mignon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mignon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.