We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant wayside stop, and a fitting farewell to Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alfredo Oriani, 2, 34131 Trieste, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A very pleasant wayside stop, and a fitting farewell to Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Trieste is, for many, the last stop in Italy before heading into the Balkans and central Europe. (It was for us). A lovely city, and the Victoria Hotel is worthy of this city.

The Victoria Hotel is on the main street going through the city, at the opposite end (broadly speaking) of town to the railway and bus stations. It is a beautiful old structure wedged into a smallish block. Its position on the main street makes hailing taxis a little bit awkward, so do be sure of where your taxi pick-up is (on a side corner behind the hotel).

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, assisting us through those deadly revolving doors. They also had suggestions for our regrettably-short stay in Trieste, including walks to

- the drop-dead gorgeous Piazza Unità d'Italia (made all the more beautiful by a pink sunset over the Adriatic Sea lighting up my wife’s lovely face as we sat in an outdoor café sampling gruppa provided by the café owner with our dinner)

- and to the Castle of San Giusto, scene of sobering memorials to the many fallen soldiers and resistance fighters scattered across the surrounding parklands.

The attic room on the 6th floor was very nice, and included a spa. The view looked out across the rooftops of Trieste – quite old-worldly pleasant. Internet access by cable was included in the tariff, as was a healthy breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The Hotel promotes its links with the Irish novelist James Joyce with artefacts and decoratations in rooms, but due to our brief stay we did not view these.

Sadly, our schedule did not permit a longer stay in Trieste. And one night is not long enough to enjoy this city or this establishment. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Victoria Hotel, thanks to its obliging and friendly staff, facilities and location.

Room Tip: Try for a room higher up and looking outward on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    134
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
61
215
14
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our second hotel in a 4 country train journey through Europe, Stayed for 2 nights after catching the train from Bologna, bit of a walk from the railway station but was comfortable with a great breakfast. Within walking distance of the sea front,.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel was very nice, modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Room was a bit small but well decorated and very clean. Free wi-fi which is always a plus. While very walkable to the main square, I think the location was not spectacular and you could find better based on what is right around there. Overall, I would say the hotel was very good, the location so-so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent three nights here in September. The location was convenient and made it easy to walk to all of the sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Unlike several other places we stayed, Wifi was free. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of a tour around Slovenia. We were booked in to a lovely room on the top floor with a large bathroom and very smart interior. The breakfast was excellent and we ate at the restaurant 200 yards from the hotel which turned out to be owned by the hotel and was great but you need to be aware that there are no menus and no pricing so things can get expensive if you are not careful. We had a lovely meal there and the bottle of wine was only 15 euros and was really good quality however the main meat dishes were expensive as the beef came from Poland and the pork was imported from Spain. We had a starter and a pasta dish and a desert for 2 people and the total cost with wine was 75 euros.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here one night for our anniversary and it was a special place. The hotel is first class from head to toe. They really take pride on all the details. The breakfast was excellent as well as the service. The location was perfect too. I will go back to Trieste just to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms are quieter in the rear but did not concern us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Via Alfredo Oriani, 2, 34131 Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trieste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Family Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel cuore di una citta da leggere, l'Hotel Victoria e stato creato per esprimere l'apprezzamento per la tradizione culturale di Trieste, con tutto il fascino, la storia e l'eleganza di una miscela mitteleuropea di 44 camere. Situato in un edificio storico - che fu la residenza del famoso scrittore irlandese James Joyce - l'Hotel Victoria e organizzato con una particolare attenzione per i dettagli. E la risposta ideale per uomini d'affari e viaggiatori che amano il comfort e un servizio di qualita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Trieste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.