We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Sara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Sara to your Saves list
Residence Sara
Piazza Barbacan 3, Trieste, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Affordable, comfortable, and a great location. I had a great experience. Trieste is a beautiful city with a lot to offer. The only thing i missed was wifi, however the Tourist Office offers free wifi during the mornings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
30
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Fantastic location and great value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent choice for couples and families for breaks of any length. Only think lacking was Wi-fi and English language channels in the apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

It is hard to find affordable accommodation in Trieste.
I highly recommend Sara residence for backpackers, families or anyone looking for something affordable and flexible.
The owner is a real gentleman.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, i called only hours before they were still able to give me an excellent price on a room.
The rooms are very tidy and quiet.
Located in the best part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have rented many apartments in Italy and have NEVER been treated rudely until Residence Sara. Bad behavior aside, the 2 bedroom apartment has 1 queen bed and 1 room with a trundle bed, on two levels--good for kids but not good for another couple. The air conditioning is one portable "penguino" style unit, in the living area. If it's a warm night you are not comfortable in the bedrooms.
The location, however is fantastic. Parking charge is 16euro/ day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea D, Direttore generale at Residence Sara, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guest Amoessereinitalia,
I'm glad you review our residence, and I'm terrible sorry that you did not find our apartment of 100 sqm nice. That's a real pitty!

I understand your disappoint of having 1 double bed and 2 single beds when all guests are adults. At this point in the reception tried to find a solution begging from the second night, but there was a negative behaviour from your side.
Besides the apartment is a very spacious, one of our LARGEST, 100 sqm,
with 1 double room, 1 room with 2 separate beds,
sitting room with coach-sofa with 32" flat Tv and dinning table for 6 persons,
security door with video bell,
separate kitchen with table for 4 persons,
spacious bathroom with shower, wc and bidet facility,
right in the heart of the old city centre, next to the main attraction of Trieste.

As far as it concerns cooling, there is only an air conditioning with "pinguino"
and not 2 splits as you were expecting to be,
and for the moment there are any other solutions/modifications as the "pinguino" makes its job perfektly.

Anastasia Mylonidou
Responsabile Reception
Residence Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, newly refurbished, excellent location!! Stayed there 2 nights whilst travelling Europe - receptionist was very helpful and her knowledge was spot on! Would definitely stay at residence Sara again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea D, Direttore generale at Residence Sara, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Zaccollins,
I'm very glad that you have written a review online for finding our residence very clean, newly refurbished right in excellent location of the old city centre and reception helpful.

Hope to have you as our guest in the future again and guarantee you a pleasant stay.

The General director and reception-front office would like to thank you
Your opinion is our best adverb

Anastasia Mylonidou
Reception Drt
Residence Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at residence sarah for 8 days. The accommodation was really clean and super central to the main city of trieste. Having a washing machine was a blessing. Housekeeping were super friendly and obliging and the front desk guys were willing to help with anything we needed. Very close to fantastic places to eat breakfast and 5 min walk to main shopping district. I really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again.. Only negative comment is that there was no phone in the room but reception were always happy to help out in this regard and there was a public phone really close by. Thank you for an awesome stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Sara

Address: Piazza Barbacan 3, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato nella zona pedonale del centro storico di Trieste, a 100 metri dal lungomare e a pochi passi dal porto, il Residence Sara offre sistemazioni spaziose con arredi eleganti.Le camere e gli appartamenti del Residence Sara sono ubicati in edifici separati del XVIII secolo. Gli alloggi sono tutti climatizzati e dotati di una TV a schermo piatto, di un bagno privato con asciugacapelli e articoli da toeletta, e di pavimenti in parquet o piastrellati.Il Residence Sara dista 5 minuti a piedi da Piazza Unità d'Italia e dalla Cattedrale di San Giusto, ed è circondato da numerosi negozi, ristoranti e caffetterie. Potrete gustare una colazione all'italiana con caffè e croissant presso un bar locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Residence Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.