We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Futuristic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DuoMo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added DuoMo Hotel to your Saves list
DuoMo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giordano Bruno, 28, 47900 Rimini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 611 Hotels in Rimini
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Futuristic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was certainly very different to any hotel I have stayed in. From the reception to the room, you could tell a lot of thought had put into planning the design. The room was modern and comfortable, The bathroom had a rain shower however, I did have problems with getting hot water, it was luke warm at best. I did complain but nothing was done. Toiletries do not seem to be replenished daily, and I did have to ask for more tablet soap.

Breakfast(which is included) was good if you like cakes and pastries. The cappuccino for breakfast was delicious.

The area surrounding the hotel is very central to historic Rimini.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr Rizzo,
thank you for writing your feedback after staying at duoMo Hotel. Reading your comments is very important for us. We apologize for the inconvenience of the shower. We hope to see you again soon in order to make you live a great experience! We wish you a very good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    151
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
47
159
19
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It's certainly different with a bold and uncompromising design. You'll either love it or you'll feel that it's not for you. It's not like a typical tourist hotel. I think that the designer wants you to have a different kind of experience staying there. The rooms are modern, comfortable and of a good size, but open and intimate: the inner walls are glass. The shower is an open, integral part of the bathroom. It's like standing under a waterfall. Couples where the partners value their individual, private space probably wouldn't like it, but if you're not embarrassed by each other, you'll probably like it a lot. The entrance lobby is striking, with strong colours throughout the hotel. Really good choice for breakfast, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, cheese, ham, smoothies, etc, with hot food too some days. Good choice of teas, served with big mugs. Really delightful friendly helpful breakfast service too, and nice to see local people coming in for a coffee. Staff generally are very good and helpful. We liked the Old Town location. It would be a bit of a trek to the beach from the Duomo, but you can borrow bicycles (more of this later...)

On the negative side, the lift's a bit slow to arrive, and if you're staying there for more than a couple of nights you'll probably wish you had a bit more storage space in the bedroom. It's also getting not too far from the point were it will need a bit of a refurb to retain the brightness and impact.

Now, the bicycles. They do enable you to get round much more easily. There's a really pretty ride to the beach through a park, and, on the other side of the town, an interesting ride along the canal takes you past fishing boats to the beach. They are pretty basic, though. We had to swap the first two we were given because one had a bent saddle pillar, and the replacement had a loose front wheel. The tyres were a bit soft too. But once we got sorted, they did us OK until, strangely, one morning one of the receptionists (male) told us that 'six or seven of the bicycles', including ours, had been stolen overnight, so we had to rent bikes from another source. Later that day we saw our original bicycles, and others, back safely in the hotel's garage. I've really no idea what that was about. Had they been stolen? Had they not? We shall never know... But it left a funny taste at what was otherwise a really good stay.

Room Tip: All interesting, I think. Some look bigger than others. None of them have much of a view, but the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr William,
first of all we would like to thank you for choosing duoMo Hotel and for your detailed feedback. We would like to explain what happened with the bicycles: they had really been stolen the night before, but fortunately, the police found them and took them back to us, this is why you saw them again in our garage! We would be glad to welcome you again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic break away in Rimini. The hotel is right in the centre of Rimini town.

When we looked at the hotel and decided to book we had specifically requested to get the Dreaming Suite with the external jacuzzi. This was one of the main reasons we decided to stay at this hotel. When I was looking through reviews before going to Duomo there was hardly any mentions about the outdoor jacuzzi and only found one photo. So my boyfriend and I didn't really know what to expect. So we arrived at Duomo and checked in. The receptionist just gave us the keys and told us where the room was. When we've entered we saw the jacuzzi and got a guy to come in and show us how to use it. Got changed ready to jump in and the water was FREEZING. my boyfriend went to reception and said about the water not warming up and she said that the water only warms up when the sun is on it? Which I thought was odd. There were buildings looking over the jacuzzi so there literally would be about 1 hour of sun in the early morning and that's about it. So we complained and the receptionist said they we're change our room the following day to the Dreaming Suite with the indoor jacuzzi bath. The one night we stayed in the room, it was ok. The bathroom door was see-through and it was a sliding door that was extremely stiff and got our fingers caught a few times which was frustrating! How ever the room did have a gym which my boyfriend did make good use of!

So the following day we were out all day at the MotoGP track so didn't get back till quite late. Was given the keys to our new room. And what a difference. This room was lovely! Very big. Huge bed. A lot if storage space. The two last days in the hotel were brilliant. Had a great nights sleep.

The service from the hotel staff were fantastic. They were always helpful. Never an effort to help us with anything or bring us anything to our room. Very polite.

We got room service on our second night. Had a bottle of wine and a couple of pizzas. The guys went down the road for us to get us the pizzas we asked for. And they were delicious.

When we checked out. The receptionist mentioned that the wine we had ordered was complimentary for the inconvenience on the first night. Which was very much appreciated.

We definitely stay again. But with no external jacuzzi!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Vicky, we are very glad to read your feedback. We are sorry and wish to apologize again for the inconvenience of the outdoor Jacuzzi. Anyway, we are happy to know that you appreciated our Dreaming Suite and our efforts! It is very important to report any kind of problem during the stay, that’s the only way for the hotel to find solutions and make each stay a wonderful one. All the staff say hello to you! We hope to welcome you again soon! Have a very nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed several times at Duomo Hotel. It is located in the historic center of Rimini, in my opinion the most pleasant part of the city.
Even if it's not anymore a new hotel the design is absolutely fantastic, from the lobby to the Nomi Club (restaurant). It's not a traditionnal hotel. Don't expect a great view as Duomo hotel is in a small street.

My room (loop) was not huge, but with a large bathroom and the best possible power shower I have ever experienced.

Excellent breakfast and really lovely staff.

Furthermore prices are very reasonnable.
I think it's the best possible choice in Rimini.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Chris, thank you for choosing duoMo Hotel again for your stay in Rimini. Reading that in your opinion duoMo hotel is the best choice in Rimini makes me and my staff very proud! Thank you for writing such a positive review! We will be glad to welcome you again whenever you like! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at Duomo as it is located in the very center of Rimini and close to the train station for trips to Bologna and Ravenna. The design of the hotel is certainly impressive and the designer did a good job. My room however looked a bit worn out, including cracks in the mirror. Bring enough clean clothes because the laundry service takes two days! You do get satellite tv with much to choose from. The breakfast can be better, not much choice, the coffee is weak in taste and not very Italian. Wireless internet is free but signal reception is weak.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing duoMo hotel and for writing your feedback! Explaining what you did not appreciate in your experience at duoMo hotel is very useful to us. We are sorry to read that you did not like your room and our breakfast service. Our staff is always available, and if we knew your issues during your stay we would do our best to find a good solution. We hope we can welcome you again for a new and better experience at duoMo hotel. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, beach is a bit far away, but the hotel has bikes and we used them, and this was ok. More bikes for the guests would be a good investment, I would come again if I would know for sure that I would have my bike available everyday.
The staff is ok and nice and was ready to help us with details regarding the train we had to catch etc.
Food was ok, great sweet cookies, cakes to eat in the morning :) love it!
City tax was not specified on the reservation, it said that it excludes city tax but didnt said how much this would be... It was 25 eur / 2 pers. / 5 nights. It wasn't a problem but it would be better to include this in the total price or at least to specify that!
It is just my suggestion, and I don't think this would be wrong...:) hope you don't mind.
On our request we have received our favorite room we saw on the site, the green urban room, nr 307 :) I can recomand this room ! It is great and the design is special :) something that I would like to have at home as well ;) (many thanks to the staff)
Special, cool and something you don't see every time you go to a certain hotel...
All the lights in the room can be turned off and on and make a lighter light ...through the buttons, one just has to start thinking, using a bit his/her brain and start testing the buttons (if one is to lazy to read the instruction) it all can be done so that the lights won't disturbe you and make you feel comfortable.
Your eyes will definitely like what they'll see and if you like what you see you will change your state of mind and for sure you will enjoy every moment spend in this hotel!
I recomand this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Livia,
thank you very much for writing your good feedback! Welcoming you at duoMo Hotel was a great pleasure! We were happy to provide you with all the information and details about our services. Your stay has been very long, and even if we could talk just a bit about your impressions, reading your words is very important to us and we are glad to know that you enjoyed duoMo Hotel and your holiday in Rimini. It is a pleasure to read that you really experienced duoMo atmosphere: as you write, it is about a “state of mind”. As regards the city tax we will consider your advice! Waiting for you again, we thank you and we wish you all the best for your life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

As other reviewers mentioned the hotels design is very limiting, scratches in glass, no hair dryers,
Laminate countertops broken, not practical or sustainable for use 7 nights a week. Very high end design. We had 2 rooms for 6 nights , my son who is a football / rugby player (very large)
Broke a toliet seat( seat, not toliet) actually the lid. The hotel required us to pay 300 euros($500
For a seat cover that is 5 years old and has been used a million times.

The location is great , staff excellent, but asking us to pay that amount of money for a seat that mostly was already cracked and 5 years old, is just bad customer service.

Be careful, bring your credit card , because if there us damage tova room you are staying in, they
Will find away to make you pay. It ruined our trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duoMo_hotel, Direttore at DuoMo Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mrs Rhonda, thank you for writing your feedback. Thanks for praising our location and staff. We are very sorry to read that your stay was ruined for a single inconvenience. duoMo Hotel actually offers 3 kinds of room: yours was a Urban Room, our standard, it is a basic but comfortable solution, maybe not large enough for your needs. We also offer Loop and dreaMing suite, which are definitely larger than Urban. We hope you’ll be back one day for another nice stay in our nice hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DuoMo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DuoMo Hotel

Address: Via Giordano Bruno, 28, 47900 Rimini, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Rimini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rimini
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rimini
#50 Romantic Hotel in Rimini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DuoMo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2006, duoMo hotel is the inaugural hotel project from the internationally renowned architect and designer, Ron Arad. This much anticipated launch sees the use of alternative Materials, bright colours and unusual shapes to produce a hotel that reverses design expectations to create an overall experience that is both futuristic and exciting. NoMi club is the beating heart of the structure. Open all day, it quickly became a landmark, both for individual clients and to host events of various kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DuoMo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Rimini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DuoMo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.