We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rimini with some reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sovrana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sovrana to your Saves list
Hotel Sovrana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Misurata 14, 47900 Rimini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 602 Hotels in Rimini
Florence - Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rimini with some reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband, Pietro, and I have just returned from six days at the beach in Rimini (second half of August 2011) where there is something for every visitor or tourist, from tiny babies to the much more mature, whether energetic or not. Of course, we consulted Tripadvisor before we left. On the basis of what we read, we chose the Sovrana Hotel for our stay and we are in agreement with many of the other reviewers. Its biggest positive is that this is a hotel where the management and staff do everything to make your stay the best they can (certainly to be much appreciated these days). The hotel is also easy to reach from the railway station on a direct bus line and, as it is in a side street, it is quiet and peaceful. It also has a small front garden where it is very pleasant to sit and read the daily paper or sip a glass of cold white wine from the bar. There is also a spa, although we did not use it.

But and there is always a but. The hotel, like many along the Rimini coast, is listed as a 4 star hotel. How these stars are assigned is a mystery to us because these stars do not seem to meet similar English/American rating for hotels. For example, when we entered our room, admittedly one of the less expensive alternatives, a Pearl room, we were disappointed. It was much smaller than we expected and the bathroom was basic, so much so that during my husband’s first shower the door came off its hinges (repaired the day after, on our second request), the shutter did not close meaning the light from a near-by bathroom streamed into our room waking us when our neighbours returned from a disco at 4 a.m. and the overhead light was without a proper cover.

As consumers, I firmly believe that small things in a hotel or restaurant go a very long way to make it special or memorable so I have, with the best intentions, the following advice for the Sovrana Hotel (where we would eventually return for another stay - but in a bigger room): 1) although the breakfast is certainly ample, for us, it was too concentrated on sweet things and needs more savory. If you want to eat the one cooked dish, scrambled eggs and wustels, you had better get up very early as they dry out quickly and are not appetising by 9-10 a.m.; 2) a little water softener would be a bonus when the towels are washed otherwise they seem to have been dried in a cement mixer; and 3) two glasses (and I don't necessarily mean crystal glasses) in the rooms would make a world of difference from the flimsy plastic glasses left in the rooms, especially when it is hot and you need to drink frequently. Small things....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    131
    43
    20
    13
See reviews for
54
201
28
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in a standart double room booked from venere.com, which was a good and safe deal. Room was clean and spacious,with balcony (no sea view, but it wasnt an issue) with table and chairs. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was realy big and very clean, the hair dryer didn't blow very hard and hard to use..Proper room service every day was provided!
The Reception area is very spacios and bright, facing a beautiful garden. When walking around the hotel one can get a sense of Italian style and design, well designed all around.
When the air conditioner suddenly stopped working for 15 hours, we were provided with a small electric fan, so cant complain about service at the reception, even if attitude there sometimes was not very friendly.
Breakfast was continental for every taste and a pleasant service and attention was given during the meal every day.
A bit owerpriced but very nice spa center is avalable in the hotel and a fantastic relax massage from Marina!
Location wise, great location,safe and quite area, 6 min walk to the beach, 2 min walk to the street full of markets, stores and cafes.
It would have been better if beach towels was included in the package, however I would not recommend the beach package provided by the hotel - there are bathing chairs and umbrella given, but no soap and toilet paper and also annoying massuses can ruin the sunbathing experience. A better choice, would be the free beach right beside the porto and delfinarium-10min by bike from the hotel. By the way,bikes were available during all our stay in the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone. enjoy italian atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Beautiful hotel. Great location. Welcoming hosts. Attentive staff. Fantastic food. Tranquil spa. Wonderfully relaxing - A perfect break.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have stayed in a Junior suite for 2 weeks with our 4 year old daughter - she loved the jakuzi and insisted to sit in it EVERY DAY. The beach is close, clean and very family oriented.
The hotel is very clean and well equipped and is lead by a wonderful family whom we grew to love.
This was our second stay here and we will surely return.

We have only minor comments that could make our stay even more enjoyable: non-smoking terrace and more continental like breakfast: vegetables, salads, etc.

Kapusi-Wollak Family, Room 224

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for 7 days and have no complaints whatsoever! The staff were extremely helpful on arrival and gave us adjoining rooms upon request. We had two rooms and both were cleaned everyday to a very high standard and the mini fridge was restocked everyday, with everything inside being complimentary.

The breakfast was included, something we did not realise and when we explained this to the staff they bought lunch to our room! There was a wide choice for breakfast so we ate well everyday and the breakfast ladies were extremely polite and helpful.

The staff were helpful in booking us taxis and tickets to the local waterparks. An excellent hotel and a very enjoyable holiday...I would go back tomorrow if I could. Ps. Go to IO street club, 2 minutes from the hotel. The music was exactly to our taste and the DJs would download songs we requested to make our night more enjoyable. The bar staff, DJs and dancers went out of their way to ensure we had a good night...which we always did :)

Room Tip: Just ask at the desk... The staff are willing to go that extra mile for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I found that on my trip to Italy that my stay at the Hotel Sovrana was by far the best out of all the different Hotels/resorts that I stayed at in the aera, The decour of the whole Hotel was beautiful from inside to out. I found the wellness center to be very nice as well as the pool. I loved that the hotel provided a free bicycle to ride around the surrounding area, and in doing such I found that the Hotel was conveniently located near the heart of the city and only 140 yards from the beach. While on my way to visit the beach I was stopped an informed that the Hotel provided free beach chairs and towels. The room that I had durring my stay was outstanding very spacious, the decour was great, and the beds were very comfortable. On the day on my departure I sampled the Hotel breakfast and was very pleased, after finishing my breakfast I was checking out and noticed that it was raining the front desk clerk overheard me talkin about getting wet and offered a courtesy umbrella. Over all the stay here was excellent, a great value for your money and I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

A lovely hotel, staff were exceptional, helpful, polite and always ready to help with a warm smile. It felt fresh and clean and had a certain charm of it's own.
The room was very comfortable, spotless and had a good firm bed. Breakfast was 10/10, free use of bicycles, conveniently located to the shops / restaurants (3 mins ) and beach ( 5 mins ). A small relaxing garden to read in or to enjoy a cool drink in the evening and unwind away fom the main road.
With breakfast served until 10 am and check out up to 12 midday I felt totally relaxed and will definately stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sovrana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovrana

Address: Viale Misurata 14, 47900 Rimini, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Rimini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rimini
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rimini
#21 Spa Hotel in Rimini
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rimini
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Rimini
#98 Family Hotel in Rimini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sovrana 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only will we offer you the services of an Italian-style four-star hotel, we will also surpass all your expectations.Our staff will provide you with the perfect blend of high quality services, attention to detail and warm hospitality.The Sovrana Hotel is the perfect place to spend an unforgettable holiday or add relaxation to your business trip thanks to our new wellness centre "RE AQVA".Our guestrooms have been decorated with themes regarding Rimini, which will make you fall in love with our city and all its heroes.We are the only hotel in Rimini that offers this unique experience. Come stay with us and share in this historical and evocative atmosphereWriters, directors, artists, emperors and patrons; they will ignite your passion for Rimini both past and present!A good breakfast is the best way to start an energetic day. We at Sovrana know that and offer you a great breakfast until 11:00 am, light lunch on the beach and at the end of the day, we will serve you a great dinner. Our cuisine is classic Mediterranean: healthy, light and creative using natural ingredients, modern cooking techniques and a short cooking time that does not alter flavours.The Sovrana Hotel offers its guests an exclusive beach to enjoy the warmth of the sun, the coolness of the seawater, a variety of sports activities and a relaxing lounge area for pleasant summer reading. In keeping with our passion for hospitality and relaxation, we also offer our guests services such as beach chairs, towels and umbrellas during their entire stay.Daily beach service is included with the following room rates: Ruby, Diamond, Junior Suite and Deluxe. The same service is offered at a discounted rate for guests in our Pearl, Turquoise and Classic rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sovrana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovrana Hotel Rimini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sovrana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.