We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mosaico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mosaico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mosaico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Darsena 9, 48100 Ravenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Ravenna
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this based on reviews on Tripadvisor and Hotels.com. It was listed as a 4 star hotel. Compared to other 4 stars hotels we've stayed in in Italy, it doesn't seem to be in the same league. On the positive side, there is ample parking. The rooms are modern and clean. There is free wifi and SKY TV. And the room rate we paid (about 90 US) made it a very good value. On the downside, everything feels as though it was bought at IKEA. Bed, desk, tables. All fine and functional, but not 4 star worthy. The gentleman on duty at the front desk when we arrived was not very friendly and welcoming (which stands out because Italian hotel hospitality is almost universally warm and welcoming). The hotel is situated outside the area where tourists will want to visit, just opposite the train station. It makes it all feel a little dreary. It's not far at all from the major sights, just a 10-15 minute walk, but the first impression is that you're staying on the wrong side of the tracks.
If you book here wanting a place that is inexpensive, clean, modern, with ample parking, this is very good choice. If you're looking to walk out of your hotel into the center of Ravenna's attractions, with a bit of charm and character, this won't meet your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    99
    46
    14
    12
See reviews for
65
70
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A very modern, very clean hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Not a great location if you don't have a car -- but we did, and the parking is free and ample. The air conditioning unit was perhaps too weak for how hot it was outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krk Island, Croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I've stayed only two days but I have to say hotel offers great return for the money payed. The breakfast is quite good. There are pre packed items, but many fresh croissants, brioches and cakes. Also, the reception is helpful and not to be left out - free bicycles to roam the city. It is a bit pain in the.. the fact that hotel is situated on the other side of the train station, so to get to the center you should walk a bit more, but it is maybe 7 min. Anyway the new rooms, where I was situated, were excellent, with SKY and - Free Bar - which is really nice. All in all, the location is not the greatest, but tho hotel, accommodation, people, breakfast and other surpluses are great

Room Tip: Look for a new one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the residence and the apartments are big, spacious and well furnished. We were four adults with two little kids and actually regretted of booking two apartments because one would have been enough. The apartment was clean.
Breakfast at the hotel was OK. Just a regular Italian style breakfast. But since we had the kitchen we could easily supplement.
Downtown Ravenna is at walking distance as well as the train station.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallettiabbiosi, Director of Sales at Hotel Mosaico, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear mrn235, thank you so much for your review!
Our residences have improved in quality and services in these years and we always do lots of efforts to make the guests feel just like they were in the hotel.
So we are very happy that your stay was so positive, see you next time in Ravenna!
Best regards
Silvia Fagnocchi
Sales Director Mosaico Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had a great staying at the hotel Mosaico,
the position is great even if you walk from the main rail station.
Friendly staff,confortable rooms and beds.
Bathroom a little small, but was fine for us.
Breakfast was very good for an Italian continental Breakfast.
I reccommend for a short staying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights. Room was a bit little but it was I found it always clean.
There's a bit of noise during night because of the main street passing near the hotel.
Guys at the reception are nice.
Buffet breakfast is a little poor..
The hotel is 15min far from the city center if a you travel by foot.
To conclude I say that this hotel is a 3* not a 4* at all..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here one night. Clean room, small bathroom but nicely decorated. Noise from trains across the street, and also quite a lot of noise from the corridor whenever someone came out of the elevator or walked past. Good breakfast. Nice staff at the reception. About a fifteen minute walk to old town Ravenna. Ok for a few nights, but nothing extra.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mosaico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaico

Address: Via Darsena 9, 48100 Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mosaico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Ravenna city harbour, the Mosaico Hotel is ideally located for those wishing to visit the historical city centre or enjoy their time on the beach. It is also the perfect accommodation choice for business travellers. Close to the Mausoleum of Teodorico, the Mosaico Hotel provides a modern, chic and minimal interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mosaico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaico Hotel Ravenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mosaico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.