We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria

Save Saved
You added Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circonvallazione alla Rotonda dei goti, 26/28, 48100 Ravenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Ravenna
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quite nice and modern property with not bad location, just about 10 min walking to the historic city center. The staff at the front desk were generally polite and professional, check-in was fast and before fixed time so we didn't need to wait. The room was ok, clan and cmofy, only the bathrrom was to small and especially the shower's cabin is very, very thight to have a proper shower. Good and fresh breakfast. Overall pretty good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    146
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
107
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toulouse
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Superb value for money and with such friendly, helpful service by the cheerful husband and charming wife team make this a 10 out of 10 hotel.. Breakfasts are excellent. A friendly bar for an apero or nightcap. Wifi internet throughout and free. Parking free, Rooms comfortable and functional. This hotel is a rarity in Italy; it's a hotel where the staff/owners want to serve the guests and make them feel at home and glad to have come to the charming, ancient town of Ravenna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Astoria in Ravenna. The breakfast was the best we had during an extended trip through Italy, with lots of fresh fruit and many other items. The staff were kind, helpful and informative.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I wasn't very impressed when we first arrived at this hotel. But we were 9 people and I wasn't going to move. We stayed for 3 nights and by morning I was feeling very good about the place, the bed was comfortable, the washroom was clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Except the one female staff who wasn't very nice to us, she seemed unhappy with life. Though located outside of the centre, Ravenna is not very large and walking to everything in the centre was easy and did not seem far. We were recommended a pizza restaurant further away from town, yet still walkable and it was so good, inexpensive, and busy with local folk that we returned the next night. I would definitely stay there again. And Ravenna is a very, very lovely town especially after the hordes in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is owned and manage by a young Italian couple that take extraordinary measures to ensure their guest are contented and informed about Ravenna. The staff is very professional and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. I found this hotel online and checked the reviews before deciding to stay here. I looked at how far it is from the train station (15 min. walk) since I was coming from Bologna. I checked into going to the Marina di Ravenna and also wanted to see many of the important sights. Ravenna is a very old city and quite small and easy to walk around. I also took a side trip by bus to Classe to see the ancient Basilica there. My room was small but clean and very comfortable with AC and free Wi-Fi. The maid service provided daily change of linens. The hotel also has coffee, wine, beer and snacks available and is not far from good restaurants in Ravenna. Great value and highly recommend.

Room Tip: My room was on the street side but I was not disturbed. I had a non-smoking room and all rooms may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel was great. It's not as far away from the centre as some reviews make it out to be since it's only a 10-minute walk. The bathroom was very clean. The decoration of the rooms looks a bit outdated and they're a bit small, but not too much so it's fine. The bedrooms are equipped with a minibar and a TV, which was nice on days when I was too tired to have dinner at a restaurant. If you do want to go somewhere to eat, you can get discounts at three restaurants... not very useful if you're travelling alone, but helpful if you're in a group. The staff is very friendly and were eager to answer any questions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

300m out of the historic old town, family run hotel.
Parking around the hotel, free Wifi, free bikes to rent, owners very friendly and supportive.
Very close to a super market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Address: Circonvallazione alla Rotonda dei goti, 26/28, 48100 Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Ravenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.