We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept getting better the longer we stayed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria

Save Saved
You added Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circonvallazione alla Rotonda dei goti, 26/28, 48100 Ravenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
vancouver, bc
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kept getting better the longer we stayed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I wasn't very impressed when we first arrived at this hotel. But we were 9 people and I wasn't going to move. We stayed for 3 nights and by morning I was feeling very good about the place, the bed was comfortable, the washroom was clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Except the one female staff who wasn't very nice to us, she seemed unhappy with life. Though located outside of the centre, Ravenna is not very large and walking to everything in the centre was easy and did not seem far. We were recommended a pizza restaurant further away from town, yet still walkable and it was so good, inexpensive, and busy with local folk that we returned the next night. I would definitely stay there again. And Ravenna is a very, very lovely town especially after the hordes in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    165
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
123
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is owned and manage by a young Italian couple that take extraordinary measures to ensure their guest are contented and informed about Ravenna. The staff is very professional and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. I found this hotel online and checked the reviews before deciding to stay here. I looked at how far it is from the train station (15 min. walk) since I was coming from Bologna. I checked into going to the Marina di Ravenna and also wanted to see many of the important sights. Ravenna is a very old city and quite small and easy to walk around. I also took a side trip by bus to Classe to see the ancient Basilica there. My room was small but clean and very comfortable with AC and free Wi-Fi. The maid service provided daily change of linens. The hotel also has coffee, wine, beer and snacks available and is not far from good restaurants in Ravenna. Great value and highly recommend.

Room Tip: My room was on the street side but I was not disturbed. I had a non-smoking room and all rooms may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel was great. It's not as far away from the centre as some reviews make it out to be since it's only a 10-minute walk. The bathroom was very clean. The decoration of the rooms looks a bit outdated and they're a bit small, but not too much so it's fine. The bedrooms are equipped with a minibar and a TV, which was nice on days when I was too tired to have dinner at a restaurant. If you do want to go somewhere to eat, you can get discounts at three restaurants... not very useful if you're travelling alone, but helpful if you're in a group. The staff is very friendly and were eager to answer any questions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

300m out of the historic old town, family run hotel.
Parking around the hotel, free Wifi, free bikes to rent, owners very friendly and supportive.
Very close to a super market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

careful cleaning and a friendly staff, wi-fi free AND EXCELENT!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very helpful to get to the sights of this city. We were offered free bikes to get around. Very functional room, very clean and nice. Easy parking and walking into old city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here in March. Price for me was 182 euro, so 60 per night for one person which I guess is cheap.,

Good
All very clean and tidy througout, just cheapish plastic furnishings but neat and tidy, staff friendly and helpful, wi-fi free and was excellent, all hot water etc in good order
Close to station, handy for travel.

OK
Breakfast is prentiful but just average cold continental stuffs, avoid coffee options they were not good at all.

Not so good
Close to station! In a typical tatty town fringe area. This means it is a fair trot into the historic centre (20 mins) and Ravenna is not a pretty town to be walking through. Room in attic was a little chilly and the lighting up there was really poor, just a little side light so try to avoid attic (Level 4) rooms if you book in they are also a bit gloomy with only skylight albeit large one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotels, Proprietario at Astoria, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
We are very sorry that the Lady was not satisfy about the room but the reservation ask for a Room on the Top Floor. Usually if the Guest is not happy about the accomodation we are always willing to help in changing the Room especially for stays of several days like this. For the month of March the cost of a Single Room is between € 39 and € 49 per day, the amount of €182 correspond to the cost of a Double Room Classic for 2 Persons for 3 days as the Lady reserved.
Our breakfast buffet offers: 2 kinds of sliced meet, sliced cheese, hard boiled eggs, home made cakes, croissants, marmelade, jams, honey, choko cream, fresh fruits, korn flakes and choko pops, fruit in syrup, white, brown and sliced bread. On the buffet there is a selection of teas, Hot Water, Hot Milk and American coffee. Instead of this, we always ask if the guests prefere a Cappuccino, Espresso or Latte macchiato wich are prepared in our public bar using a good roasted coffee beans blend.
Ravenna avails of 8 UNESCO Monuments, 7 in the pedestrian center of the Town wich is in a short walk or a few minutes with our free rent bicycles from the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Address: Circonvallazione alla Rotonda dei goti, 26/28, 48100 Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Ravenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.