We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel in amazing, historical city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Ravenna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Ravenna to your Saves list
NH Ravenna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mameli, 1 | City Center, 48121 Ravenna, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel in amazing, historical city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I loved Ravenna with its 5th and 6th century well-preserved churches, baptisteries, and incredible mosaics. The hotel is a perfect location, and I spent two nights there. I arrived from a direct train from Rome in the evening, just walked down the street and there is the hotel, a good three/four star quality. The hotel architecture is bland, but who cares. The rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable, and the furniture is traditional and nice. The breakfast was excellent. You can walk to the main sights in Ravenna, and take the bus from the station to Sant'Appolinare in Classe. I did all that by the middle of the afternoon, and the very friendly receptionist printed out a map of Rimini, and I took the train to visit there to visit the Tempio Malatestiano and the Arch of Augustine, getting back to Ravenna in the evening. The location of the hotel is perfect for fitting in a lot in one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    160
    85
    14
    6
See reviews for
67
102
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was quite nice and old fashioned in its big room, huge dining area and big lobby. The breakfast was sensational in Italy standards with lovely fresh fruit, croissants (wholemeal and normal), bacon , scrambled egg etc. The room was nice and the air conditioning easy to work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Clean, comfortable, spacios superior room. Fast chec in. courteous staff. Good water pressure and airconditioning kept the room almost too cold on a very hot day. Did not eat at the restaurant this stay because I was disappointed with the meal lI ate in the restaurant last year, so opted not to try it again. Breakfast is ok. Good location. Near the train station, yet within walking distance to al ravenna sites. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Almost excellent and I would give a total "thumbs up" if it weren't for the breakfast. Very bad coffee and breakfast staff attitude. I asked the lady there to make me a decent coffee and she just showed me the machine. The guests next to me asked the same and got one immediately... First class and second class customers? Hope not since the rest of the staff was excellent

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel is ancient, & I dont mean historic or heritage ancient. Its just old. But considering the type of City its in & the type of guests it caters to, its not bad. Its a decent hotel to stay in, but I cant compare it to anything because I haven't stayed in any of the other hotels in Ravenna. There aren't many branded chain hotels here.

The NH has sad dated rooms, very depressing to stay in but clean & comfortable for a nights rest. The rooms are big enough to fit a family of leprechauns, or half of the seven dwarfs. The dwarfs would have to use the elevator from the lobby two at a time though, thats all it can fit. But the staff would keep them happy, the NH has an excellent staff always smiling & always helpful. They don'd mind going that extra mile.

The location is excellent, you are right in the city centre. Shops, restaurants, cafe's, historic sights, etc. its all right there out the front door. The hotel is right next to the bus station & train station. Easy access to anywhere. Although you are better off hiring a car than using public transport if you are planning to travel large distances.

All in all, a decent place to stay in. Price is just about right, location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the NH hotel in September 2011 and we really liked it! The staff were very polite, the room was nice, clean and comfortable and a very good location close to the central railroad station, and walking distance from the historical sites.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We used two standard rooms for a family holiday in Ravenna. As a base for exploring the town on foot the hotel was very well located. It had parking facilities right outside the door which made it easy to drive around in the countryside. The rooms were very spacious but had no table for eating, playing cards or other games. Breakfast was adequate but only just so (scrambled eggs cold and dubious orange juice), and front desk service felt like visiting town hall bureucracy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Ravenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ravenna

Address: Piazza Mameli, 1 | City Center, 48121 Ravenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ravenna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Ravenna 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Ravenna hotel can be found in the center of historic Ravenna, where the city's greatest attractions await. From the doors of the hotel you can walk to highlights such as the Basilica of San Giovanni Evangelista, and soak in the timeless ambiance of its old town district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Ravenna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Ravenna Hotel Ravenna
Ravenna Jolly Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Ravenna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.