We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M club De Luxe B&B

Save Saved
You added M club De Luxe B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
M club De Luxe B&B
Piazza Baracca 26, 48121 Ravenna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Ravenna
South Bristol, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This lovely little B&B is close to the Porta Adriana gate to Ravenna, just off the pedestrianized street that runs nearly to the Piazza del Populo. It is very close to many of the main attractions in Ravenna, such as San Vitale and the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia. In fact, you can walk to anything in Ravenna, it's not that large a city.
The B&B has lots of character, each room is different (we took three of them) and very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style but replenished as soon as anyone took anything. It was delicious. Michael the owner was helpful and the rest of the staff were friendly as well.
Bringing luggage up was a bit of nuisance as the elevator is very slow and not really for use by guests. We only had to bring it up to the first landing where the elevator is, Michael brought it in the elevator for us.
Michael can't be in reception all the time, so there is a security pad at the door so you can get back in off-hours. It really felt like being in your own place.
One of our friends had a car, and Michael let him park in the private parking area adjacent to the hotel. We were very pleased about this.
There was a very nice restaurant nearby in country bistro style, and we were given recommendations to others as well.

I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures, as each room has its own decor. I particularly liked the room we stayed in, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
115
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Perfect place to stay in this most wonderfully surprising Italian town! Michael has done a great job on developing this family property. Large and charming accomodations with an adequate breakfast (good, fresh coffee!). Michael and his staff were polite and informative, but never obtrusive. Hope to return someday. Loved Ravenna and M club. Thanks

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This beautifully-decorated and well-appointed B&B is in the historical part of charming Ravenna. The host was very welcoming and helpful with restaurant recommendations and sightseeing tips. He advised us what local specialties to order at the verious restaurants (all good), which was great, as we might not have identified these treats ourselves. We could have walked from the train station -- about 20 minutes, over streets that are ok for a trolley bag: not the easiest, but not cobbles. Don't take a cab from the station -- they are very overpriced -- unless you have a big bag or a sore shoulder.

Room Tip: We were in the Silver Room, which was very nice. We didn't see any others to compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been so lucky in our choice to stay in this charming little Hotel in the core center of Ravenna.
The place has got only few rooms and any of those has its own name, not number.
The owner is a young guy very sensitive to his clients needs and very friendly and professional.
My advice for all the readers is: NO DOUBT. Just go and enjoy.
Enrico

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena, california usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Michael is exceptionally talented and he has made this house into a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, so convenient for the sights of Ravenna.
The rooms are all different color themes, but the main effect is like a private guestroom in someone's country home. Large timbers on the ceilings in several rooms. All the rooms are spacious; the modern bathrooms have very unusual fixtures and exceptional showers.
Quiet place to stay, but you are on your own. You have your own code to open the front door, your own key to the inner door of the house and then another key for your bedroom. I was alone and felt very safe in this location coming back late at night after dinner. He does have insect repellent devices in every room which are electronic.

One downside of Ravenna: please take plenty of insect repellent, the mosquitoes here are vengeful, at least in October. Apparently, there are fetid lagoons nearby which spawn hordes of them.

Michael is around to suggest restaurants and he has an emergency phone if you need to reach him. The breakfast room was lovely and the coffee superb. I wish every b and b was as exceptional as this place!

Room Tip: choose your color. I didn't like the red room--thought it was garish but it is a personal matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As numerous people have said before, M club de Luxe has many of the aspects of a lovely bed and breakfast. The location is optimal and the rooms are large and lovely and quiet, each outfitted with a private WiFi hostspot (at least ours was). Michael, the proprietor, was polite, but if you are looking for a B&B with a warm reception and gregarious hosts, this isn't it. As another guest said, Michael really acted as if he had preferred to be elsewhere.

This is really a shame, because the B&B offers good value for exploring the lovely city of Ravenna, and the B&B's facilities are top notch. It appeared that Michael had hired on a helper, and it seemed possible that she might eventually help provide warmth to the place.

Breakfast was average at best, and the accompanying "fashion runway" muzak was not appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Club M in August but it's taken me a while to put my thoughts together. The building is the owner's mother's ancestral home that his father, an engineer, tastefully renovated and his mother, and interior designer, appointed beautifully. I stayed in the White Room which was large and lovely. Michael's father thought of everything: the windows on the roof close automatically when it starts to rain. The location is good. The breakfast was fine. When my TV didn't work, the owner's father came by first thing the next morning and fixed the remote.

But I was put off by the attitude of the owner, Michael. The evening before I left I discovered my train was departing at 7 am so that next morning I had to check out before breakfast. I knocked on the kitchen door where Michael and another person were preparing breakfast; he opened it and said "Yes?" No "Good Morning" -- and no smile.

I apologized for interrupting and explained why I had to check out now. Without a word he headed for the desk and processed my departure. Michael said nothing and frowned as he prepared the bill. I signed the receipt and when he handed it to me I said "Thank you" which were the only words spoken through the entire transaction. I would have hoped, at the least, for a "Have a good trip," "Thank you for staying here," or "Do you want to grab a piece of fruit for your train trip?" Nothing. He stood and walked back to the kitchen.

Running a B&B is more than great accommodations, it's hospitality and friendliness and graciousness which, based on my experience, were all wanting at Club M. Michael's father, on the other hand, is a lovely, warm and gregarious man who embodies the qualities of a stellar innkeeper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to M club De Luxe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M club De Luxe B&B

Also Known As:
m Club De Luxe Bed And Breakfast
m Club De Luxe Hotel Ravenna
m Club De Luxe Hotel
Address: Piazza Baracca 26, 48121 Ravenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ravenna
#1 Family Hotel in Ravenna
#2 Business Hotel in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you at the bed and breakfast "M Club" in the historic heart of Ravenna. Conveniently close to San Vitale Basilica and Galla Placidia, the “M Club” combines hospitality, culture and comfort in a seamless blend. The guest rooms feature fine beds, selected family antiques and modern bathrooms. Throughout there are rare paintings, family memorabilia and souvenirs of previous travels to delight the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your M club De Luxe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M club De Luxe B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.