We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only Band B to stay in Ravenna, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M club De Luxe B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added M club De Luxe B&B to your Saves list
M club De Luxe B&B
Piazza Baracca 26, 48121 Ravenna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
pasadena, california usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the only Band B to stay in Ravenna, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Michael is exceptionally talented and he has made this house into a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, so convenient for the sights of Ravenna.
The rooms are all different color themes, but the main effect is like a private guestroom in someone's country home. Large timbers on the ceilings in several rooms. All the rooms are spacious; the modern bathrooms have very unusual fixtures and exceptional showers.
Quiet place to stay, but you are on your own. You have your own code to open the front door, your own key to the inner door of the house and then another key for your bedroom. I was alone and felt very safe in this location coming back late at night after dinner. He does have insect repellent devices in every room which are electronic.

One downside of Ravenna: please take plenty of insect repellent, the mosquitoes here are vengeful, at least in October. Apparently, there are fetid lagoons nearby which spawn hordes of them.

Michael is around to suggest restaurants and he has an emergency phone if you need to reach him. The breakfast room was lovely and the coffee superb. I wish every b and b was as exceptional as this place!

Room Tip: choose your color. I didn't like the red room--thought it was garish but it is a personal matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
137
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As numerous people have said before, M club de Luxe has many of the aspects of a lovely bed and breakfast. The location is optimal and the rooms are large and lovely and quiet, each outfitted with a private WiFi hostspot (at least ours was). Michael, the proprietor, was polite, but if you are looking for a B&B with a warm reception and gregarious hosts, this isn't it. As another guest said, Michael really acted as if he had preferred to be elsewhere.

This is really a shame, because the B&B offers good value for exploring the lovely city of Ravenna, and the B&B's facilities are top notch. It appeared that Michael had hired on a helper, and it seemed possible that she might eventually help provide warmth to the place.

Breakfast was average at best, and the accompanying "fashion runway" muzak was not appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Club M in August but it's taken me a while to put my thoughts together. The building is the owner's mother's ancestral home that his father, an engineer, tastefully renovated and his mother, and interior designer, appointed beautifully. I stayed in the White Room which was large and lovely. Michael's father thought of everything: the windows on the roof close automatically when it starts to rain. The location is good. The breakfast was fine. When my TV didn't work, the owner's father came by first thing the next morning and fixed the remote.

But I was put off by the attitude of the owner, Michael. The evening before I left I discovered my train was departing at 7 am so that next morning I had to check out before breakfast. I knocked on the kitchen door where Michael and another person were preparing breakfast; he opened it and said "Yes?" No "Good Morning" -- and no smile.

I apologized for interrupting and explained why I had to check out now. Without a word he headed for the desk and processed my departure. Michael said nothing and frowned as he prepared the bill. I signed the receipt and when he handed it to me I said "Thank you" which were the only words spoken through the entire transaction. I would have hoped, at the least, for a "Have a good trip," "Thank you for staying here," or "Do you want to grab a piece of fruit for your train trip?" Nothing. He stood and walked back to the kitchen.

Running a B&B is more than great accommodations, it's hospitality and friendliness and graciousness which, based on my experience, were all wanting at Club M. Michael's father, on the other hand, is a lovely, warm and gregarious man who embodies the qualities of a stellar innkeeper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The M Club is in a great location for exploring the old city of Ravenna. The building has a lot of character and our accomodations were very spacious consisting of a sitting area, a beautifully decorated bedroom and a very modern bathroom...all with remote controlled skylights and blinds. It was quiet at night, Michael was a good host, breakfast had a variety of choices....all in all we enjoyed our stay there very much and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The M Club de luxe b and b was a very nice place to stay while visiting Ravenna. We had the suite on the top floor which was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was nice, newly renovated. Michael, the manager was helpful but you could tell he would rather be somewhere else. I enjoyed our stay here and recommend it if you're in the area. It was hard to find the old town of Ravenna but once we did the B&B was right at the gates with parking. The breakfast wasn't very good but the espresso was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The position of The M Club is ideal for the tourist attractions of Ravenna and within walking distance of the station. As soon as we entered, we were impressed by the interesting and tasteful pictures and furnishing. The room was spacious and pleasant. The ensuite bathroom had everything one could want plus a shower that performed very efficiently. At night it was wonderfully quiet and the bed was comfortable.

Michael, our host, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He insisted on carrying our cases up the stairs and explained, in excellent English, how everything worked. His attention to us as individuals and his detailed local knowledge were invaluable, not least in recommending restaurants and the best ice cream.

A balanced continental breakfast was on offer in the dining room.

In an ideal world we would have preferred that breakfast was available before 8.30 am and that the rooms were not serviced in the afternoon (making a siesta difficult) but these are tiny complaints compared with the benefits of The M Club. It was a delightful place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Location: Just outside the old city, easy access to the hotel;
Hotel: A restored old house, done very nice with modern touches, beautiful art work throughout;
Room: We had a very nice room with modern bathroom and skylights (although no windows to street);
Breakfast: Charming breakfast room and adequate breakfast;
Price: Reasonable;
Parking: We paid 10e to use the owner’s private parking, well worth it although there is a public parking lot near the hotel;
Summary: A unique B&B. Limited service from owner after hours. Self service entrance with keypad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to M club De Luxe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M club De Luxe B&B

Address: Piazza Baracca 26, 48121 Ravenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ravenna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ravenna
#1 Business Hotel in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you at the bed and breakfast "M Club" in the historic heart of Ravenna. Conveniently close to San Vitale Basilica and Galla Placidia, the “M Club” combines hospitality, culture and comfort in a seamless blend. The guest rooms feature fine beds, selected family antiques and modern bathrooms. Throughout there are rare paintings, family memorabilia and souvenirs of previous travels to delight the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your M club De Luxe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Club De Luxe Hotel Ravenna
m Club De Luxe Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M club De Luxe B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.