We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service, Great Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Mattei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Mattei to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Mattei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enrico Mattei 25, 48100 Ravenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Great Customer Service, Great Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Mattei as part of a large group booking. Elodie (Front Office Manager) and her staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make the stay that much more pleasant.

The Irish beef steak I had in the restaurant has been the best steak I’ve had these holidays.

Thanks GHM

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    82
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
64
41
3
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to this hotel because of a combination with the Mirabilandia Park, the hotel was cool design ,but the location was awful but we thought it was ok,since we werent there for the view ,but next day we were schoked that breakfast for Mirabilandia customers was served in a separate hall ,kinda a garage covered! .
There was a poor-looking buffet of pastries, no fruit nor any salted items. No fresh juice ,very cold pasteries seemed of day before !omg I couldn't beleive it ,1 star hotel biffet would be better !
The receptionist said that if we want to go to the other room and have a decent breakfast we should pay 5euros more per person ,we were 3,let me tell you this ,trough booking you pay the room 99euros with good breakfast ,trough mirabilandia 300 euros 2 days with park ,there is no special price ,it's a lie ,do the math ! are those poeple stupid or crazy ?! To ask for 5 euros more ,for what ham and cheese ?we felt insulted and screwed ..and im more than happy to make this review for free not for 5 euros ,CHEAP Very Cheap hotel and Management !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel Mattei is a business hotel just outside the city of Ravenna. It is one of those unspectactular places you need, if you are busy with other things to do, but need a quiet and easy stay with all necessary comfort and a good breakfast. You should not expect more than that in the Mattei, but you get just that at a real high standard without missing anything.
The hotel is easy to find if you arrive by car and the parking is big and free. There is a bus station, but no way to find a reliable time table or route map.
The rooms are modern and acceptably spacious, the air condition is effective and quiet, the bed is good, the WiFi is useful, the bathroom is 5-star, the place is tidy. In the upper storeys you can even leave the road front windows open by night. Do not expect many international TV stations. (this is common in Italy).
The breakfast is Italian with many cakes and sweets, but the international parts are good as well. Fresh fruit is available and tasty. Ask for Cappuchino, if you want a real good morning coffee. The Italian brew called Cafe Americano, which is from the mug, should not be called coffee at all (common in Italy, too).
The service is helpful and very friendly. Do not expect them to be your tour guide or tourist office, though.
If you have a car and want to visit the amazing and unique late roman wonders of Ravenna, use the central parking "Largo Giustiniani" at Via Don Giovanni Minzoni, which is 3 Euros a day and just outside the historical center.

Room Tip: If you room is road-sided ask for a storey above 5 to avoid street and parking noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my family, while visiting the fun park Mirabilandia.

Hotel structure is pretty nice, personnel has been very kind and accommodating through the entire stay.

Hotel style is a pleasant modern look, still with a touch of "warm".
I was in a triple room (room 206) and was very spacious. Only minus of the room was the extra bed, as it is in reality a sofa transformable in a bed and it was very discomfortable as well not very well functioning.

We had a special rate because we purchased the ticket through the Mirabilandia Park, and the only negative remark is the breakfast: it is served in a separate hall and it is a much poorer buffet that the standard breakfast buffet.
There was a poor-looking buffet of pastries, no fruit nor any salted items. No fresh juices either, though there was an automatic dispenser of orange and ACE juices.
It is understandable that by having a special rate link to the park there might be some differences, but I believe that having some slices of ham and cheese as part of the buffet (am not asking for a full intercontinental breakfast) would have been a very low additional cost to the hotel and a much better customer's appreciation.

Overall, definitely a nice hotel to stay with your family or even for business trips.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for couple of nights with my family.
Service was very good, especially during breakfast time.
Room was very specious and offered high quality sleep.
Definitely got good value for money I payed.
Would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel,with nice room,excellent breakfast,pleasant staff , but far away off centre of Ravenna and the beach for swimming and recreation.You must use some means of transport from hotel to beach and back. K


Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've slept one night in Grand Hotel Mattei accompanied by some friends. The room was well-equiped and very clean. The hotel has a big lounge downstairs with wifi-connection, which is always handy. The food was good, but not excellent. The location of the hotel is not great, close to traffic and industry. The staff members were all very cordial and helpful.
This is a nice hotel to spend the night in style when you're passing through.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Mattei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Mattei

Address: Via Enrico Mattei 25, 48100 Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ravenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Mattei 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ravenna is a brand new fully furnished hotel, ideal for business and leisure guests, situated only 3 km from the historic city centre, and few minutes away from the famous 'Mirabilandia' amusement park and from the popular beach resorts of Marina di Ravenna and Milano Marittima.This Ravenna Hotel is easily accessible from the airports of Bologna (70 km), Rimini (60 km) and Forlì (30 km) through the highway A14, and is far only 3 km from the Ravenna train station.A must see is Dante's tomb, the Basilica of San Vitale and Galla Placidia and Teodorico Mausoleums.For opera, jazz, and classical music lovers every year on June and July the 'Ravenna Festival' event is lovely.Holiday Inn Ravenna offers 124 rooms, all with satellite channels, free high speed internet access and king size beds.The spacious 4 Presidential Suites of 56 m and the 4 Suites of 40 m , with a great living room with sofa bed and table for 6 are great for Reunions and work breakfast. Enjoy the Italian and regional cuisine at our Restaurant 'La Tagliatella'.Holiday Inn Ravenna is the ideal hotel for reunions and events thanks to our 6 Meeting Rooms, it comes with the latest technology in sound and video equipment, and it may fit up to 350 guests.Relax in the jacuzzi and sauna, or go for a massage in our SPA.Free Shuttle service to/from city centre on reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Mattei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Mattei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.