We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much money for non-hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Albergo Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Albergo Roma to your Saves list
Grande Albergo Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cittadella, 14, 29100 Piacenza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Piacenza
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Too much money for non-hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel and unfortunately forgot about the disappointing last time...
This hotel is not welcoming at all. Check in was 5 sec in which she handed me a key and pointed the way to the elevator. No welcome, no explanation or interested questions. I felt like in Moscow.
At 9PM the restaurant seems to be closed, the bar is empty, although I have to say the barkeeper did his efforts to prepare me some small finger food.
An internet code they refuse to give it by phone, you have to go doen to the reception to take it.
Rooms are clean but old-fashioned and very noisy. It's easy to join discussions with neighbours.
After all it pretends to have 4 stars and ask the price for it, but I won't get back here ever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
18
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

As there are only two hotels inside the Piacenza walls, you need to decide whether the business travel oriented room price is worth the convenience.
The decor of the rooms is a little dark, but overall quality is good. Limited amenities, average bathroom. Good hotel restaurant. Nice breakfast room overlooking the city ~ average breakfast.
Well located for the centre of things, albeit that Piacneza is a pretty quiet place ~ beware Sunday night, almost everything closes by 8pm
Very helpful front desk

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Good 1) Location 2) Internet

The Bad 1) Rooms - Too small, poorly lit 2) Basic amenities are very poor - No kettle, tiny refrigerator (3) No sofa to sit (4) no business / travellers kit (6) bathroom is ill-equipped. (7) No activity room in hotel (8) Very expensive restaurants (9) Hotel has subscribed very few English channels on Sky TV (No sports / movie channel)

The Ugly – Worst thing is their staff. Unfriendly, does not know English well. They say “No” for almost everything and anything. Do not look like they are customer oriented at all. Have been to several non-English speaking countries before, even one in VN are more open and customer friendly. I would not recommend any one to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

Although our guidebook described Grande Albergo Roma as Piacenza's grandest hotel, I found that it doesn't deserve all four of the stars it blatantly boasts.

The bathrooms are modern, it is centrally located to the historic district and the top floor breakfast buffet has a view of the city, but it pales in comparison to other 4 star hotels (such as Hotel San Michele in Cortona). Though the rooms were generally clean, the building hasn't been attentively cared for as furniture shows signs of use and abuse.

While the staff was polite and efficient, the overall impression of the service was rather impersonal and businesslike…far from the warmth which can be found in many rural and urban Italian lodgings.

This hotel is way overpriced and Piacenza is a town that tourists should pass.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2006

I stayed at this hotel some time ago and am surprised to see that this hotel had not been listed so far ....
Extremely pleasant hotel, room was larger than usual for Europe, bathroom left nothing to be desired.
The restaurant was not opened at the time of my visit, I stayed only one night...
Only drawback is the garage, a total nightmare, extremely narrow and tight .... but the porter was most helpful and got my car fairly quickly out of this place .... I have noticed that most Italian garage are simply too small and certainly adequate for a FIAT 500 but not for large, modern cars ...
Plesant bar at the top floor, breakfast OK but not great

Stayed June 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Albergo Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Roma

Address: Via Cittadella, 14, 29100 Piacenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Piacenza > Piacenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Piacenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grande Albergo Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Albergo Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.