We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parma experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments
Save
You added Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments to your Saves list
Strada Massimo d'Azeglio, 48, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 62 Parma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bologna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Parma experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

B&B Rubra has everything a single / couple could hope for during a short stay in this beautiful city of Parma. Compact but more than adequate for a couple. Clean, modern, kitchenette, balcony with sunny aspect & a fabulous location. Max, your host is mostfriendly, helpful & obliging. We would have no hesitation in returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
98
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently stayed a few nights here in an apartment (# 1). Really conveniently located close to the historical centre. Lovely and quiet. It was nice to have a bit of extra room, rather than just an hotel room. Very comfortable bed and all the facilities we needed. We were there in April and it was still rather cold, so having heating that we could control was a bonus. Should you want to do some of your own catering, a small supermarket a few steps away. Max very helpful and on hand if you needed him. His restaurant recommendations were great. No hesitation in recommending Rubra.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place is great value for money and max is the host with the most!!! I was there for 5 days on a business trip, whilst the place is central and close to all you need it is also incredebly quiet and relaxing. I am booking my next visit already!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Simply beautiful, quiet, yet central. Clean and Max is ver very helpful.Would come back anytime

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just returned from a great trip to Italy. Of the three places we stayed, Rubra was by far the best. Max, the owner had several units of different sizes available but since we were visiting my son who is studying in Parma for the semester, we only needed the studio(Apt. 3). Not only was it tastefully decorated and well stocked, it was immaculately clean. The location is ideal as it is in the center of Parma within easy walking distance to everything. Furthermore, it's close to the University of Parma so there's a great buzz in the area as well as great restaurants and bars. We went out every night, including for Carnival and always felt very safe. Would recommend Lino's for coffee/breakfast and enjoyed Hub and Aqualina for drinks. There's a Billa supermarket close to the apartment which we used to buy some fruit and snacks. Most importantly, Max goes above and beyond for his guests. He arranged for a Parmiggiano cheese making tour for us and also gave us the best way to tour a medeval castle in the area. After we checked out, we realized that our bike lock was broken and we couldn't get the bike from the stand in the courtyard. Not only did Max try and help my husband but he also went to the bike store to buy a wire clipper. And he called the bike rental place to tell them what had happened. Not many people would do that. Again, I can't think of a better place to stay in Parma.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed in the apartments almost a year ago and forgot to write a review on my return. The apartment was super cosy, clean and had heaps of character. The owner Max was laidback but very efficient too. I look foward to returning to Parma and I would definitely book this place again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at this B&B. We had the ground floor apartment, overlooking a small garden. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the apartment, which came with a handy washing machine. Everything is clean and neat. Max is, as other holidaymakers have said, very helpful (including arranging a private car transfer to Malpensa on the last day when there was a sudden country-wide strike on train services). Our only complain is the location, while is just a stone's throw away from a supermarket, seemed to be a bit seedy at night (around 9 pm) -- with a few drunkards hanging around. We came across a few on more than one occassion and one in the supermarket creating a din with the cashier.

Room Tip: the ground floor apartment shares a garden with the neighbors. so there are people who walk through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbrubra, Proprietario at Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
First of all I would like to thank my guests for sparing some of their busy time to write this over all positive review.


I felt very disappointed to learn that whilst you have very much enjoyed your time at Rubra B&B, you were not quite as comfortable with its surroundings. I was sorry to hear you have come across some lesser respectable subjects, as usually the area where Rubra is situated it 's vibrant, full of university students (around 30.000 in Parma alone), families with young children as well well young professionals. All gravitating around the numerous bars, pubs and restaurants located nearby, which makes Strada D'Azeglio one of the safest and busiest street in Parma.
Although the noise level does no affect Rubra apartments as they are all situated at the internally and facing our communal garden, the front door is on the main street, well illuminated. I would also like to point out there are no dark or dodgy areas within our premises whatsoever.


It is possible for any guest in any B&B around the world to come across some odd people/situation, whilst this out of our hands we can guarantee our guests that Parma is one of the safest towns in Italy. Its criminality record is one of the best in the region as well as nationwide.


Unfortunately we cannot be responsible for every person in town, however as this is the only review highlighting this kind issue out of the hundreds we have been subjected to, we firmly believe this was mainly an isolated personal opinion rather than a re-occurring situation, as all other reviewers felt more than comfortable with the area surrounding Rubra B&B.


With best wishes


Massimiliano Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments

Address: Strada Massimo d'Azeglio, 48, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"In the ancient Parma, Rubra offers a luxury accommodation where you'll find the quiet of its private garden and the happiness of the central city streets."Rubra is located 5 minutes walking distance from Parma main square Piazza Garibaldi as well as the most important historical monuments such as The Cathedral, Battistero, Palazzo Pilotta, the Regio Theatre, University. Because of its central location, public services such as train station (15 min. walking or bus n.7), hospital and main car park are all within 0,5 km away. Indoor Car Parking Kennedy (Via Kennedy) 200 mt away only. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubra Bed & Breakfast &Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.