We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Century Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Carlo Alberto Dalla Chiesa 5, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Parma
sligo ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is my second time in the Century and being aware there had been bad reviews in Trip Advisor I was very wary. I could not find one thing wrong with the hotel except maybe that the rooms are small and it is a bit too dear for a 3 star.
It is, however, a lovely hotel with quirky furnishings, nice staff (bar one of the receptionists), very good continental breakfast and central position near station.
Please note that it is not a 5 or a 4 star hotel, it is a good 3 star business hotelmostly for Italian clients who appreciate it.
Management were very helpful. I would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
30
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We first stayed in this hotel in October 2008 and enjoyed the stay so much we stayed her again just over 12 months later.

The hotel itself is situated a few metres from the train station, so would be extremely handy for those travelling by rail. In spite of that, we in a total of 6 nights in this hotel, we didn't hear any rail noise at all, even late at night. It is within easy walking distance of any part of Parma, and although a little pricey (we paid 100euros a night), the location more than makes up for that.

The bus station is also located right outside the train station, so if you don't want to walk, you can literally leave the hotel and walk straight onto a bus to travel around the city.

We found the staff more than pleasant, and they can converse in many languages too - I heard them speaking English, French and German to other guests. The lobby is nicely fitted out, as are the rooms themselves. Our twin room had everything we needed, was very clean and well thought out, with a lovely large bathroom, and as the hotel is still only a few years old, nothing was worn or shabby.

The breakfast is brilliant, with cold meats, lots of bread, croissants, fruit, juice and very good coffee.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We (almost) stayed at the Century Hotel last July. However, the service was so poor that we felt compelled to warn other travellers.

Parma is a beautiful city, but when planning our holiday we discovered that quality accommodation is hard to find. (Parma is crying out for a boutique hotel). From its website, the Century appeared the most modern and stylish of those that were available, and to ensure we had the best accommodation possible we opted for the suite.

It went badly from the moment we arrived. As we were travelling in a vintage alfa romeo, we had been quite meticulous about finding accommodation that provided secure parking. However, the parking facilities provided by the hotel turned out to be a strip of wasteland at the back. Staff refused to help us with our bags, first from the parking area to the hotel, and then from reception to the room. And upon walking into our suite, we discovered that there was no natural light in the bedroom itself - only a very narrow window in the hallway / seating area, which did not illuminate the bedroom at all.

As we were staying a couple of days, we concluded it would be better to downgrade to a double room, but one which had a window. We returned to reception and asked politely if we could please move. However, the receptionist informed us that no other rooms were available - this despite the fact it was obvious that the hotel was under-occupied (the hotel was reasonably large, but we had neither seen nor heard anyone else and there were very few cars in the parking wasteland). We made clear to the receptionist that we did not want another suite (we were aware the hotel only had one suite) but just a double room with a window.

At this point, the hotel manager arrived and we thought common sense would prevail. However, the manager said no other rooms were available and that we should return to the suite. As the suite was not acceptable to us, and no other rooms appeared to be available, we asked the manager if he could recommend another hotel. He refused. He also refused our request to use the hotel's internet connection to search for another hotel online.

We therefore decided to return to the room and search for another hotel in our guidebooks. However, this also proved unacceptable to the manager. He and the receptionist insisted on accompanying us back to the suite, demanding that we not touch anything in the room and hovering over us as we sought to group together our belongings.

Having carried our bags back down to reception (again, without assistance), we sat down in protest and searched through our guidebooks. The manager refused to allow us to use the hotel phone to make a booking. Fortunately, he did not notice us charging one of our mobile phones sufficient to make a call to and reservation with another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The Hotel Century original style and the cool design were what I appreciated more. The hall is very impressive, from ceiling a huge glass chandelier comes down. Almost a boutique hotel. By lift you reach the Breakfast room on the underground floor, it's furnished with original style too, the buffet is not very rich, in typical italian style: cereals, bread, croissants.
Our room was very pretty, with a black colored bathroom! very alternative!
The location is ideal, very close to the train station and 5 minutes far from the center.
I liked so much the Parma cuisine!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I chose this hotel because it looked nice and modern (and it's new)... I was wrong! it is lovely and well decorated but it's the only nice thing about it!

Some of the problems I had to face:
no one spoke English, French or German...only Italian. The plugs were not the standard European type... impossible to work on your laptop or to charge the battery of your cell phone. The guy at the reception managed to explain that I needed an adaptator, and that they didn't have one for me...And he did not seem sorry about it at all! No food is available - except breakfast. The quarter is not so nice (but the hotel is close to the station). But I had difficulties finding someone at the reception willing to help me catch a cab (due to language problem certainly!).

And finally, there was a noise all night in my room (water in the pipes obviously...maybe I was near the central heater of the building?)

So think about it before you book this hotel, it is really expensive compared to the value you get.

  • Liked — the way it was decorated
  • Disliked — everything was inconvenient (impossible to plug the laptop/cell phone), no room service, no English-speaking person etc.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Piazzale Carlo Alberto Dalla Chiesa 5, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.