We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Century Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Carlo Alberto Dalla Chiesa 5, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A good choice for those arriving in Parma by train, as it's located in the square right in front of the station. Parma is a small city and you're within a 5 minute walk of the lovely streets in the centre. For anybody here on EFSA business, it's an equally short walk across the river to work. I checked in here after problems with another Parma hotel and was greeted very warmly by the staff. Decent English spoken on the front desk.

Despite the traffic, nearby trains and building works outside, my room was impressively well soundproofed and provided I kept the windows closed and relied on the air conditioning, I wasn't at all bothered by noise (room faced out to the side). Ample storage place, including suit hangers and trouser hangers - much appreciated for a work trip. Comfortable bed, though two singles pushed together rather than a proper double. The air conditioning unit could really do with some clear operating instructions as it seemed to come on and off randomly - not ideal when the weather was warm and you needed to keep the windows closed for peace and quiet. TV has many channels but apparently Italian-only, though hardly a deal-breaker.

A couple of minor gripes: wifi isn't free and the connection speeds seemed rather slow. There's a computer available in a public area but that seemed to be even more glacial. Breakfast was frankly stingy, though the espressos on request were much appreciated.

In conclusion: not outstanding but a modern-feeling, convenient choice.

Room Tip: I suspect a room on the side of the building rather than looking out over the square would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
33
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Whilst the decor is nice and modern, and rooms are clean, and wifi connection good (but not free!) the place appears to be made out of paper walls. You can hear everything that goes on outside your door (banging, shouting opening and closing of doors, people getting in and out of lift, etc), and also what's going on next door! My room had a connection door to the adjoining room and I could hear EVERYTHING. The toilet, the music, the pizza delivery, I could tell my lady neighbour was listening to Adele while drying her hair and I could hear her ordering her pizza. All this while some adolescent Italians seemed to tear the house down in the hall. Needless to say that a quiet evening was out of the question. Outside is so noisy with busses etc that opening the window is also not really an option. The guy at reception in the evening was neither very friendly nor informative and I had to painstakingly extract all information such as what time breakfast was served. Speaking of the latter, it is of very limited choice and the room is in the cellar, so a bit dull. The lady who brings the coffee is nice and cheerful though and the coffee is good. There are also about 300 TV channels, but every single one is in Italien, so tough luck if you want entertainment in another language. There is a CD player - unfortunately, as my neighbour enjoyed playing it a lot and at a high volume!
I come to Parma frequently, but I will not stay here again. Ever. Avoid rooms with connecting doors at all cost. Avoid full stop, unless you come with some serious ear plugs.

Room Tip: Specify that you do not want a connection door in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

loved the design, the colour scheme and decors.
Pity about the low standard breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Don't let the looks deceive you. I had over 700 Euros stolen from my bag. The hotel staff did not show any care nor have any procedure to investigate. This was reported to the police but with no camera's in the hotel (the only one at reception was fake, so I was told) there's no hope in finding the culprit. All i know is that I told reception when I would be out of my room and as I requested late check out. It seems pretty obvious to me... You've been warned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Got lured into this renovated budget hotel pretending to be something it is not
as I was headed from the Parma Train station to the city.Paid 100 euro which
was almost twice as much as it was worth.Was promised and shown a suite
then bait and switched to an attic garret room with a tiny window with no view
that felt very claustrophobic.Bed was hard I slept poorly.Breakfast was sparse
and got cursed out in Italian by the manager for taking more packaged cheese
slices than he thought I should from the buffet.Staff was truly unhelpful approaching horrible.Always try to say something postitive so I will say it is 1 block from the
train station so it is VERY easy to leave which was the VERY best part of my stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Century Hotel has been extensively renovated, and redecorated and it is a quality job all round. The hotel can be noisy during the day, as it is right by the railway and bus station, so ask for a room near the back of the hotel. The staff are fabulous, and the internet connection very good. The breakfast offered a lot of variety and was good quality. The fixtures and fittings in the rooms are very good quality and the hotel is no more than 150m from the railway station.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is my second time in the Century and being aware there had been bad reviews in Trip Advisor I was very wary. I could not find one thing wrong with the hotel except maybe that the rooms are small and it is a bit too dear for a 3 star.
It is, however, a lovely hotel with quirky furnishings, nice staff (bar one of the receptionists), very good continental breakfast and central position near station.
Please note that it is not a 5 or a 4 star hotel, it is a good 3 star business hotelmostly for Italian clients who appreciate it.
Management were very helpful. I would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Piazzale Carlo Alberto Dalla Chiesa 5, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.