We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Ville to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Piero Calamandrei 11, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Parma
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we only had a one night stay but the hotel definitely left a great impression on my family. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming.The rooms were very clean and well maintained.The beds were extremely comfortable and quite spacious. There is plenty of car parking space available and you are only a 7 minute walk to the centro storico of Parma where we found a beautiful restaurant. The breakfast service was efficient and you had a large range to choose from compared to other hotels that we found in Italy.
Overall,we had a short but very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    82
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
38
7
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

it's probably my 10th time in this hotel, last time i checked out was this morning. my opinion remains the same: excellent; location, service, cleanliness, breakfast, parking, business center (small) and gym, all excellent, the price is not low but this is Parma.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did stay for one night and did not put too much thought into the selection of the hotel.
Luckily it still turned out to be a good choice and we did enjoy our short stay. It's not directly in the heart of the city, which makes it easy to reach by car and still close enough to go and explore the city if wished. The rooms are nice and clean, and at least ours was very quiet. The hotel is attached to a shopping centre and cinema complex and features a restaurant.
It's what you would expect from a good city hotel, but if you are in for a truly Italian experience, it might not be the right spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel was ideally located just a short walk away from the town centre. It is on the site of an old Barilla pasta factory and has a Barilla culinary academy facing it. I highly recommend being nosey and asking for a tour of it. We did and saw the largest collection of Italian cookbooks anywhere in the world. The hotel is also right next to a big shopping centre with lots of chain restaurants & shops including a supermarket. Just around a corner is a fantastic shop selling local hams & cheeses. Please find it as it is sheer food heaven. As to the hotel itself, the public areas are gorgeously furnishes with top end modern furniture & art. The breakfast is plentiful and great. The rooms however are a bit of a 80’s timewarp and nowhere near 5 star standard (but then again Italian 5 star is usually UK 3 star). We even had mould between the bathroom tiles. Most of the staff were lovely but the barman in the lobby was very surly. In the 3 days we stayed there we never saw him crack a smile.
The check-out was also an interesting experience as I had to pay before I was presented with the bill. As it happens, they were charging us 35 euro too much per night. Once I pointed this out the receptionist said that there was nothing he could do to rectify the problem on the day (Sunday) and that I would have to wait to hear from his boss. He then changed his mind 5 minutes later and did end up giving me a refund. All a bit Faulty Towers.
I would stay here again but would pay more to have an upgraded room. The standard ones really could do with a major facelift.

Room Tip: pay more for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Over a 9 month period in 2012, I stayed at the Grand Hotel de la Ville in Parma every other week and it quickly became my home away from home. The hotel is located within a few minutes’ walk of the historic town center which boasts, among other features, a range of excellent restaurants, and is nicely located next to the Barilla center which has a cinema and a small range of decent restaurants. It is clean, well maintained and spacious with a fine bar and good restaurant.
My most abiding memories of my stay at this hotel are undoubtedly of the marvelous staff who have become my family away from home and who are decidedly gracious, outstandingly courteous, remarkably accommodating, and blissfully humorous. I hope to remain in touch with them for many years to come and plan to bring my family back to Parma where they may enjoy all of the comforts that I was afforded during my splendid and memorable stay at the hotel.
Having stayed in 4 other hotels in Parma, I can state unhesitatingly that this hotel stands head and shoulders above the others and I therefore recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very convenient to walk to the centre of the town. Room was fine but far too hot and we couldn't seem to turn it down! Breakfast was varied - even scrambled eggs and bacon! Staff were faultless and very helpful.Overall - good value but don't expect "5 star" more 3/4 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our room was very comfortable and adequately furnished. Most of the staff were very friendly. Breakfast excellent though a bit repetetive if staying for more than a day or 2. Good central location, easy access to historic centre, shops & restaurants. Only down side, not that my wife or I were unduly concerned about it, was the fitness centre. Given its (small) size & location on the top floor it is presumably an afterthought &/or mandatory to achieve whatever start rating they have. Shower / sauna / steam is unisex. Not surprising we never saw it in use. Despite this, we had a very agreeable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Ville

Address: Largo Piero Calamandrei 11, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of our ideal city centre location inside the Barilla Center commercial complex with a wide range of attractions, shops and cinemas. Our excellent service comprises 110 rooms including nine suites, meeting facilities bathed in natural light for up to 300 people, a restaurant, American style bar, al fresco dining, a panoramic terrace, fitness centre with sauna and steam bath, 400-capacity parking and wifi access. We provide everything you could possibly need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Parma
Sofitel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.