We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and clean place, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romeo e Giulietta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Romeo e Giulietta to your Saves list
Romeo e Giulietta
Piazza Shakespeare, 1, 43121 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome and clean place, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was one of the best value for money places we stayed at in Italy. Would stay here again for sure.

The great:
The rooms: Modern and spotless clean with hardwood flooring
The Beds: clean, large, and comfortable
The Bath: Modern fixtures, and clean. Decent water pressure
Laundry room: There are coin operated laundry rooms, a blessing if you've been on the go for a while.

The misses:
Internet: There was internet, but we couldn't join there wifi in our room possibly due to incorrect config on the hotel's part. I _was_ able to surf for a bit while in the laundry room.
Check-in: The check-in is done at a different hotel (tosca?) a short walk away, but we didn't see any signs at the hotel to direct us there (outside of the reservation info). So we had to ask other travellers to tell us.
Laundry: The laundry rooms are on the top floor of each wing (I didn't check the other wing). To get there, you have to exit to the outside stairwell and go up. But we could not get back in through the same doors we left even though the key card reader showed a green light. We had to exit the stairwell at the bottom and re-enter through the main entrance. Weird.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
42
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've stayed for one night in December at Romeo e Giulietta in Parma. It seems rather an appendix to the theater (there is a big stage at the upper floor) and the decor is in line with the theater theme. There are two buildings linked by modern metal stairs - Romeo building on the right and Giulietta building on the left. Rooms are nice, clean, well furnished (we stayed in Romeo building, the 2nd floor). The hotel is located in a residential area, but really close to the city center - 5 minute walking.

The strange part is that there is no reception service (in order to check-in, one needs to go to a near-by hotel). As we stayed there only for one night, it wasn't a problem, but it's not a place I would choose for more than a city weekend. The free WiFi seemed to work only intermittently, which was really annoying - an issue which I would have discussed with a receptionist, if any ...

There is a restaurant at the first floor but we couldn't get any coffee in the morning as it was closed at 7.30. (our package was without breakfast so it wasn't a big deal for us).

Nearby parking is available (10 Euro/night) for car travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at this place for few night. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is good as well, also we had lunch at restaurant and it was yummy. Hotel offers underground parking space. The only problem - since it was a weekend, a lot of noise from street on friday and saturday nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

First off , this is not a hotel its a group of apartments. no reception, no bar there is a restaurant but it seems to simply offer a check in check out facility. we had no breakfast on our package yet they didnt encourage us to eat there at all.

The rooms were clean,spacious and tidy. However there was a strange odour in the rooms, not bad but not pleasant, it seemed to disappear after a while but was noticeable on entering the room.

The corridors/walkways were a little on the noisy side when people went by.

overall its a basic apartment, good value , its just lacking in atmosphere/warmth/welcoming feeling.

It did the trick, just not somewhere you would bring someone to impress them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is primarily a theatre, so i was quite surprised to find that they provide hotel accommodation.
Anyway, the first thing i noticed was a weird smell when walking along the corridor to my room.
I was fearing the worst when entering the room that this stench would stay.
Fortunately, the room smelt fine.

Anyway, with regards to the room, i have no complaints.
It is clean, spacious, the bed was decent enough, and some questionable artwork splattered around the walls. I'm not sure about all the rooms, but i think all of them have the scenes from the theatre production.
The WIFI works fine

The location was not too bad, they is food available nearby, and is a short walk to the city center. I think you can forget about parking, as it seems that there is not much free space available outside the place.
The staff were not extremely friendly, but not exactly rude as well. (basically, i've seen better)

Personally, nothing against this establishment, but nothing would really entice me to stay with them again as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconville, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

ROMEO & GIULIETTA (just had a fight)

My first post on the site pertains to one of the weirder hotels I’ve recently encountered. Located in Parma, Italy and fancily named Romeo & Giulietta (thumbs up for starters) it appears to be a rather new business and, to me at least, kind of startling.

It is a brick/iron, half block covering, almost round type of compound more akin to a late 20th century downtown parking lot building than an actual hotel designed for people. It apparently was meant as a complement to well-known Teatro Due sharing the same block. See-through metallic stairs in fire-escape style brace the front of the building nearly entirely. Huge black & white pictures of seemingly famous Italian comedians adorn the walls outside, inside and in the rooms too… an all-about-theater concept one would readily embrace, except for a few details further on.

The rooms are spacious, well illuminated and arguably overheated. Beds are comfortable and quite respectable size-wise although nothing wild. Bathrooms are the weird thing though: fully disability equipped showers throne in the middle, complete with tip-up plastic seats, pull-down full-size handles, purposely installed water piping and, most strikingly, totally stripped of curtains---in my view, a perfect recipe for inner soaking of the premises during showers; for your own convenience, you want to exit valuables in advance. It also has an automated lighting device that blows your night away should you ever need to take a pre-dawn leak. First I thought my room was particular but I soon learned the others were just the same (we travel as a five-person group).

All or any of this would be acceptable, but here’s the issue : hotel personnel complements the picture and actually brings it tumbling down. From the moment I stepped in I didn’t feel quite welcome. A young lady at the desk articulates monosyllabic fundamentals only if pressed to do so but otherwise excels in looking through you like you weren’t there. Take a seat at a table during lunchtime and she will ignore you altogether until you realize the need to go elsewhere if food is really on your mind (which we actually did---no shortage of good restaurants in the area, as one might expect). And don’t ask for a cappuccino at 5 to 10AM as breakfast ends at 10 and the waiter will handle his nerves poorly "the Italian way" –-you may get your cappuccino but with a rather bad taste.

All in all something of a surprise but somehow, as you leave you feel relieved. I for one wouldn’t look forward to going back soon unless some genuine personnel training was undertaken. In the meantime, why not look elsewhere in the city for some nice B&B?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel seems to be a brand new one or maybe just renovated. Rooms are new with a good quality bedding and a free wifi access. The bathroom is a bit weird with an automatic light (keep moving when you go the toilet or you may end up in the dark) also don't forget to put the toilet paper in a safe place when you take a shower (no curtain!).Beyond this, hotel is quite confortable and could be a good spot BUT: hospitality and service is the big deal! After being coldly received at the front desk, we spent 30 min at the restaurant waiting for a waitress who handled every people arrived after us. Same thing at the breakfast, the girl asked me my room number and after that...Nothing. be ready to fight to get a coffee. Never ask for a capuccino at 9h50, the breafast closed at 10.In brief: COLD, UNFRIENDLY, RIGID

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Romeo e Giulietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo e Giulietta

Address: Piazza Shakespeare, 1, 43121 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Number of rooms: 36

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romeo e Giulietta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.