We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Giuseppe Garibaldi, 69 | Strada XX Settembre, 3, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 hotels in Parma
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good location, good bed, great shower, no bar or restaurant but plenty options close by (recommend Restautante Duchessa). Many thanks to Aldo at reception who was helpful above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
25
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one day only. The room was very small and noisy, facing the street, although tidy. The bathroom was also small. Reception recommended a restaurant, Corrieri, that had a terrible service. The hotel looks and feel like a hospital. Although the location is excellent, only 10 minutes walk to main sites, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here just one night. We got a nice price from sunday to monday, directly booked from the hotel.("stay in Parma on a sunday") The hotel is fresh and seems quite new. Enough space in the room. Good location, 10 min to walk to the city center. You have to park the car in the street with a hotelpermission, but that worked out fine. Else Parma seemed like a very nice town, and we like to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was in Parma for three nights and had a single. It was very modern and everything seemed pretty new. The bed was comfortable. I also enjoyed the free internet and breakfast. Breakfast was typical European. Nothing special, but satisfying.
I was also glad for the air conditioning.
The hotel is in a great location. It's close to the train station and everything is within walking distance. I will stay here again when I come to Parma.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at the Savoy in March 2012 on a short 4 day trip to Parma and surrounding area with my brother. This was the perfect time to visit; we enjoyed a relaxed Parma, with cool days and evenings. I have been in Italy in the summer and would highly recommend March and April over it. All of the plants were blooming and we didn’t have any crowds in Parma.

Our room had a king bed and a small single bed in the corner. The room we had was small and very "simply" decorated, it was very modern and everything worked well, except for the safe which was then fixed within some hours of our arrival. There was a little fridge in the room, just large enough to stuff with all our Parma goodies to take home or to friends and family in Switzerland. (see picture :) lol) The location was great, once we had our car parked (we drove from Switzerland) we didn't need it at all for any Parma sightseeing, everything was walking distance. The noise level was good, once we closed the windows the street noise below was not a problem at all, the AC worked great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Breakfast which was included in our room price was good: cereals, pastries, fruits, and yogurts, juices, coffee and tea. The perfect breakfast for a quick start in the morning so you can head out and start your day.

NOTE: right across the street is a wonderful shop that has a great selection of Parmiggiano Reggiano and Prosciutto and other delicious food options. Worth a look :)

In regards to PARKING: They have the option for you to park in a garage nearby or to give you a pass to park on the streets surrounding the hotel. We chose the parking garage, it is nearby, clean and there was always a spot. Be sure to only park on the spots the concierge tells you to (blue I think) the others are reserved. No, we didn’t make that mistake but just wanted to give you a heads up.

FOOD: Just so you are aware, Parma doesn’t start dinner until 7:30 some restaurants open at 8pm. This was a surprise to us when we headed to dinner at 6:30.
I would highly recommend these two restaurants both a comfortable walk from hotel.
‘La Greppia’: Literally 2 minute walk from hotel a left on Giuseppe Garibaldi. Check out my full review for more info and pictures.
‘Osteria Della Gatta Matta’: A little further walk but also really close about 5 minutes. Check out my full review for more info and pictures.

ACTIVITIES:
We did a “food tour” with Parma Golosa. See full review for further info.
We drove to Mantova (a.k.a Mantua) a beautiful little city about an hour’s drive from Parma. If you drive it, take the non-highway route at least one way, it takes you through the countryside which is charming. Mantova is a nice little stop, we then drove on to Verona which requires more time and is just beautiful. Do leave very early if you are planning on doing both, I would start in Verona and then see Mantua/Mantova on my way back. See reviews for Mantua/Manotva and Verona for more tips and info.
Happy Travels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed at the Savoy Hotel in early June 2011. It is well located - no more than a 5-10 minute walk to the train station and other Parma sites and attractions. For travelers driving to the hotel, parking can be either at a closeby garage (you pay extra for it), or in one of the several on-street parking spaces for which the hotel has daily passes for guests. You also pay for on-street parking, but it is less than the parking in the nearby garage - which I never used. it can be a challenge to navigate to the side street where guests park! The staff is pleasant and helpful, and most had some passing knowledge of English, so communication with staff was not an issue. The hotel's decor is modern, and very nice, and the morning breakfast (included in the price), was great. The best way to describe the room in which I stayed was spartan, but clean and comfortable. The internet service in my room didn't work, so I had to use the hotel"s "conference center" (which was a tiny meeting room on the first floor next to the elevator). The room rate was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotel is modern, but small.
It has no parking facilities itself but can offer you parking cards to park on the street in front of the hotel but spots are limited.
Only a couple staff speaks English. When checking in late, the staff at the reception speaks barely any English, but he is very friendly and is very helpful in getting you settled.
It's in walking distance to the center.
Due to its tile floor, there is less noise dampening available. One night I was disturbed by the neighbor's loud conversation.
Wireless network only available in lobby. Network is not very fast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Strada Giuseppe Garibaldi, 69 | Strada XX Settembre, 3, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.