We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, but hotel could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Verdi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Verdi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verdi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Pasini, 18, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 51 hotels in Parma
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Staff, but hotel could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just stayed one night, the Verdi is in a good location secure parking and very friendly staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable but certainly need some refurbishing. This is not a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast was included and was very ordinary, ham just left in the packets and fruit juice watery or very sweet. With all the great bread you get in Italy we were amazed to see processed pre sliced white bread, one of the guests asked for more when the plate was empty and was told the hotel had run out of bread half way through breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying in this hotel was a weird experience. When we arrived we saw a nice classical villa next to a nice park and we were received by a very friendly and welcoming lady. However after staying there for three nights, the conclusion is a bit different. The hotel is supposed to be a four star and hotel and is priced accordingly, but to be true, it is a bit rundown and the rooms are not really that clean. Als we had a room on the street site and this turned out to be very very noisy even with the windows closed (which made it very warm and the airco also noisy and not working properly). Breakfast was a bit poor and the coffee really bad. The worst experience we had though was when we wen to the bar around 5 PM. The lady behind the counter was serving drinks to other guests and was showing the different kind of beers they had on stock. However to my surprise when I asked for drinks I was told (in a very unfriendly way) that she wouldn't serve me anything as the bar was not to open for another hour ....

All in all not the best experience of this two week Italy trip, definitely overpriced, service varies from very friendly and good to really really bad. Good location though, next to the Ducal Park through which you walk in 10 minutes to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A gem of a hotel if you like something a little different - it would make a lovely set for an Edwardian play- the decor in the lobby and reception rooms is pure art deco - but the rooms are up to date with all the usual amenities.
The hotel is just across the road from the park which we walked through into the old town in a few minutes . By the way beware the price of drinks in the cafes around the main piazza- much cheaper in any of the little squares off the surrounding streets.
The hotel does not have its own restaurant but the reception staff were very helpful in making recommendations and bookings for the wonderful eateries in the old town.
The hotel has secure parking in the courtyard at the front which is a bonus . Use the sat nav to get to the hotel- the one way system makes it less straight forward than it looks on the road map.
Only negative is that the road between the hotel and the park is pretty busy- you have to keep the window shut and the air con on if you have a room at the front as we did.

Room Tip: I would have a look at the rooms at the back or on the second/third floor. we were on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Verdi on 10th April 2012. The Staff at the hotel were outstanding; All four girls we met were very friendly and so helpful. All spoke perfect English, which is rare in Italy.
The hotel itself is not bling or new. It is old worlde style. The walls have been made to look stained and stress cracked for aesthetics. The room was spotless. We asked for a quiet room, however as we arrived early, it was not ready. We were offered one of the front rooms, which we accepted, as we were tired and did not want to wait for our room to be serviced. The noise from the street happens during the day and with three shutters on the window we did not hear anything at night and we were on the ground floor. It was early April so we had a lovely warm room. Air con in the summer I am not sure how that works. We did not have breakfast in the hotel. A 10 min stroll across a beautiful park will take you into the old town with lots of restaurants to choose from. The girls at reception will advised us on wonderful places for dinner, that were first class and not expensive. This is a family run hotel, which makes it feel homely right down to Apollo the dog. The rooms at the back are quieter but face on to apartments. The one’s facing the road may be noisier but have a view of the park. We enjoyed our one night stay and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a lovely time here in Parma. The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. I would inquire about the a/c unit in the room before you reserve. Ours worked great for about 20 minutes, then faded. It was cool at night outside, but opening the windows which faced the park (and the street) was quite noisy. The breakfast was an additional 15 euros, which was too expensive. Staff was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The staff was very helpful. The hotel is in a nice location. It is a gorgeous city park walk away from the centro. However, the hotel needs to post better directions as to how to get to the hotel. There are many one way streets and, even after being given directions from the tourist office, we found it mainly by luck. Visitors, not used to driving in Italy, have a hard enough time getting around in a car, so very clear directions to the hotel, from every possible entry point into the city would be of great benefit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Frommers said this was a great place to stay. It could not have been more off base. The room was very old, incredibly thin walls and very noisy if you have a room on the street. Echo the comments of other posters that the staff is somewhat unfriendly. The rooms are very outdated. I could not tell what Frommer's was talking about when it said luxury oiils, marble baths, etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Outdated and unfriendly
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdi Hotel

Address: Viale Pasini, 18, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Verdi Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Verdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.