We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stop-over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Reggio 51/A, 43126 Parma, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 hotels in Parma
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for a stop-over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stay here quite often when traveling to Rome as Parma is mid-way on our journey. What we like about this hotel is that it is clean, the staff is friendly, there is easy parking for the car, room is comfortable, free wifi, the breakfast is good and it's easy to access the highway. All for the fine price of EURO 115 for the four of us. The two dogs stay for free. If you are planning on visiting Parma without a car, this is not the right hotel for you as it is on the outskirts of the town. But if you have a car, there are several public parking lots in town so driving in is not a hassle. Compared with Italian hotels in general, where you're never quite sure what you'll get, this hotel meets expectations.

Room Tip: We usually ask for Room 108 as it has a large bed and enough room for the four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    191
    54
    16
    6
See reviews for
75
89
15
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel is quite dated and full of business travellers, but the location is crap. Absolute outskirts of Parma, and a good 30min walk to edge of town centre, and another 20min to get into the centre. I arrived by hire car and asked the front desk what was the best way into town....was promptly told walking as its is only 10mins...not only was that a lie, in summer Parma is hot and dry and the majority of the walk has no cover/shade.

Driving to the edge of Parma is definitely the best way to get into town if you are silly enough to pick this hotel.

Parma itself is not the most exciting Italian city. Food isn't the best (Milan is way better), and unfortunately I left Portofino early to see more of Parma - biggest single mistake I made on my whole 2month Euro trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I needed to book this hotel last minute for personal reasons on word of mouth by a newly found italian friend and it was excellent!!! The room was huge with everything you would need and if you didn't then you call downstairs and they supply it.

The staff were friendly, helpful and obliging with all requests, even when I needed a charger for my iPhone, toothpaste, help with the wifi etc.

The restaurant had a lovely friendly waiter who could recommend rather quaffable red wines and the food was reasonable yet of very good quality and completely delicious in every way.

All in all would highly recommend it, and whatever you do let the lovely waiter pick your wine - he has very good taste!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

2nd time I have stayed here and it was another really good stay. Room was a bit smaller than last time, and a little crammed, but had a nice balcony to open up to. The only shower head is a rain head which is a bit annoying for women when you don't want your hair to get wet, but this is really the only criticism. The restaurant is excellent, with great service, great breakfast buffet, excellent Wifi and an adequate little gym. All round another good stay. Well located just a few mins from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was very nice, quiet and comfortable, although the way the hotel was built did not allow a view from the window or balcony. The staff were all helpful and pleasant. I had lunch there, which was good but the restaurant was unattractive. Breakfast the following morning was excellent, with many choices including lactose-free milk, which was helpful since I'm lactose intolerant.

Although the hotel is not far out of the city centre, the walk was dull along a ring road, which would not have been pleasant to walk after dark - however, the taxi from the centre was only €7-8!

The only real down side of this hotel in my view was that it was somewhat expensive compared with other hotels, however, I don't know if these other hotels were comparable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of the rundown city of Parma. Hotel is best described as an overpriced stopover.
Pros:
Friendly staff.
Good breakfast.
Small bed was set up for our 3 year-old before we arrived.
Cons:
Our shower curtain smelled strongly of mildew once it became wet.
Balcony was a solid concrete wall at chest-height.
When we tried to go for a late-morning swim, we were told that the pool didn't open until 11am, but not long after we were denied access, we spotted a couple swimming!
Air conditioning unit was old and inadequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a standard Best Western hotel, good rooms, weird balconies (high concrete walls that I had to stand on a sunbed to see over!), clean bathroom, good breakfast, clean, functional. On the downside - it cost 18 euros return taxi fare to get into Parma city centre and if I had known this I would spent the extra to stay in town. The location is a bit rough and the air conditioning was so noisy I was nearly driven to distraction (not a quiet, peaceful night's sleep!) The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Free parking is available just outside the hotel and secure garage parking is available for a small fee (we parked free outside the door). I wouldn't have spent more than one night here - more of a stopover hotel.

Room Tip: check your airconditioner unit isn't noisy before you settle down for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese

Also Known As:
Best Western Farnese
Best Western Parma
Parma Best Western
Address: Via Reggio 51/A, 43126 Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Parma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Parma
#4 Family Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese is a famous four star hotel where modernity and tradition blend in elegance and passion in a piece of history.Equipped with a large car park, unique in the area with outdoor swimming pool, close to Fiere di Parma ( 5,1 KM ), few kilometers from the Giuseppe Verdi Aeroport ( 2 KM) and railway station ( 2,3 KM ) , just 500 MT from the north ring road ( exit Fiera – Via Baganzola ) and the old town ( 3 KM ).76 Rooms are waiting for you ( among the rooms there are Woman and Business Cluster ) with king size bed equipped with WI-FI internet access free of charge and LCD TVs 26-32 inches with Mediaset Premium Free and many other facilities.We have at your disposal 2 Congress room, keeping up With the latest equipment, Can be arranged according to the different needs of customers and We have restaurant services.We Could offer you coffee breaks, business and buffet launches served in the poolside during the summer.Our Restaurant 51/a is modern, elegant and bright. You Will discover the flavors of our local cuisine with the care and craftsmanship of our Chefs without neglecting the international cuisine.Breakfast are amazing thanks to the collaboration with the cafeteria by Lino’s Coffee.In our bright lobby Features an LCD TV to news 24 hours, There is a business area with free WIFI, a fitness area and free bike rental.We are Pet friendly, So your small animals are Welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.