We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Reggio 51/A, 43126 Parma, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 51 hotels in Parma
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

2nd time I have stayed here and it was another really good stay. Room was a bit smaller than last time, and a little crammed, but had a nice balcony to open up to. The only shower head is a rain head which is a bit annoying for women when you don't want your hair to get wet, but this is really the only criticism. The restaurant is excellent, with great service, great breakfast buffet, excellent Wifi and an adequate little gym. All round another good stay. Well located just a few mins from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    203
    55
    18
    6
See reviews for
81
99
15
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was very nice, quiet and comfortable, although the way the hotel was built did not allow a view from the window or balcony. The staff were all helpful and pleasant. I had lunch there, which was good but the restaurant was unattractive. Breakfast the following morning was excellent, with many choices including lactose-free milk, which was helpful since I'm lactose intolerant.

Although the hotel is not far out of the city centre, the walk was dull along a ring road, which would not have been pleasant to walk after dark - however, the taxi from the centre was only €7-8!

The only real down side of this hotel in my view was that it was somewhat expensive compared with other hotels, however, I don't know if these other hotels were comparable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of the rundown city of Parma. Hotel is best described as an overpriced stopover.
Pros:
Friendly staff.
Good breakfast.
Small bed was set up for our 3 year-old before we arrived.
Cons:
Our shower curtain smelled strongly of mildew once it became wet.
Balcony was a solid concrete wall at chest-height.
When we tried to go for a late-morning swim, we were told that the pool didn't open until 11am, but not long after we were denied access, we spotted a couple swimming!
Air conditioning unit was old and inadequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a standard Best Western hotel, good rooms, weird balconies (high concrete walls that I had to stand on a sunbed to see over!), clean bathroom, good breakfast, clean, functional. On the downside - it cost 18 euros return taxi fare to get into Parma city centre and if I had known this I would spent the extra to stay in town. The location is a bit rough and the air conditioning was so noisy I was nearly driven to distraction (not a quiet, peaceful night's sleep!) The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Free parking is available just outside the hotel and secure garage parking is available for a small fee (we parked free outside the door). I wouldn't have spent more than one night here - more of a stopover hotel.

Room Tip: check your airconditioner unit isn't noisy before you settle down for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel to have a midpoint overnight stay while travelling fruther into italy. We did enjoy our stay at the hotel and it's facilities. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull, the pool relaxing and clean, and the breakfast delicious. The rooms are modern and comfortable. We booked a family room and had a bunkbed for the kids, but still had enough room to move around.
The hotel restaurant was closed wjhen we arrived, which was a pity, as that would have been convenient for us as well.
The only downside to the hotel is the location. Although the walk to parma is not too far for an adult, it's a stretch for small kids, and we did not have a safe and secure feeling during our evening walk to the center. I would recommend driving or taking a taxi (very cheap), in which case location doesn't matter that much.
I would recommend this hotel to business travellers for sure, and people in transit that want a nice break from the car and relax at the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you arrive by train, be prepared to take quite a stroll or to use a taxi (recommended if you arrive in the evening). The hotel is not too far from the train station (1.5 km) but the road is very uncomfortable, excpecially if you carry luggage.
This said, I found the hotel quite nice, room, bedroom and bathroom really nice, free wi-fi, the staff really helpful and a great breakfast.
Overall, I reccomend this hotel, expecially if you find a good deal (for my room a paid 100 Euro) and have a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is clean and nice. Our room was big and came with balcony. The bathroom was big and all in tile, very nice. We chose the hotel because it has a pool and we enjoy sunbathing. The pool and area is quite small but it is good enough for a couple of days.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant serves great food.
We are overall pleased with our stay!
But the area surrounding the hotel is not nice at all. However, it's only a 15 min walk of a few minutes by car to Parma center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchotels, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for you kind and detailed review.

We are so glad that you appreciated our hotel service and facilities and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Besr regards

Francesco Incerti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese

Address: Via Reggio 51/A, 43126 Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Parma
#4 Family Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese is a famous four star hotel where modernity and tradition blend in elegance and passion in a piece of history.Equipped with a large car park, unique in the area with outdoor swimming pool, close to Fiere di Parma ( 5,1 KM ), few kilometers from the Giuseppe Verdi Aeroport ( 2 KM) and railway station ( 2,3 KM ) , just 500 MT from the north ring road ( exit Fiera – Via Baganzola ) and the old town ( 3 KM ).76 Rooms are waiting for you ( among the rooms there are Woman and Business Cluster ) with king size bed equipped with WI-FI internet access free of charge and LCD TVs 26-32 inches with Mediaset Premium Free and many other facilities.We have at your disposal 2 Congress room, keeping up With the latest equipment, Can be arranged according to the different needs of customers and We have restaurant services.We Could offer you coffee breaks, business and buffet launches served in the poolside during the summer.Our Restaurant 51/a is modern, elegant and bright. You Will discover the flavors of our local cuisine with the care and craftsmanship of our Chefs without neglecting the international cuisine.Breakfast are amazing thanks to the collaboration with the cafeteria by Lino’s Coffee.In our bright lobby Features an LCD TV to news 24 hours, There is a business area with free WIFI, a fitness area and free bike rental.We are Pet friendly, So your small animals are Welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Farnese
Best Western Parma
Parma Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Farnese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.