We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good hotel and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Parma Stendhal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Parma Stendhal to your Saves list
Mercure Parma Stendhal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bodoni, 3, I-43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Parma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good hotel and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nice rooms and bathrooms, beds a bit hard but overall everything is of good quality. Good service. Very good breakfast. Perfectly located. Not exceptional, but perfectly OK, particularly if you get a good (discounted) price (which was our case). Price/quality is based on seriously discounted price. Full one is a bit steep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    185
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
54
198
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zadar
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I liked my 9 nights stay in this stylish decorated hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, even the bathroom. There is a free WI-FI and a computer in the lobby if you need it. I liked the breakfast room very much, the breakfast is very good and you can taste the typical products from Parma, as prosciutto crudo and parmensan cheese. If you don't want to drink coffee from the machine, just ask the waiter to bring you espresso or capuccino... I have to mention the friendly staff in the breakfast room and at the reception desk. As I booked via booking.com, and I had to go back home one day earlier, I asked if I can cancel the last night. They offered me a computer in the lobby where I could cancel it. Very nice of them. The location of the hotel is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from the main square. There is a nice street Via Martiri whith a lot of nice caffes and restaurants, shops where you can buy famous cheese and ham.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

When we arrived after a long journey by car with the baby not sleeping for a while in the back we were extremely disappointed by the reception in this hotel. Several points made us tick:
1. Even though we reserved one month in advance, we had to pay a nearly double as high price as we would have paid if we would have booked the day of our arrival.
2. The price for the parking for the car per day was far too high and they wanted to charge us even an additional day because we wanted to leave the car one hour longer than checkout time.
3. Nobody helped us to move our things up to the room (hotel is rated 4 star).
4. What a room: Probably because we booked well in advance and we stated that we need a baby bed, they gave us the darkest room with hardly any window and daylight. Everything in it looked as renovation was overdue.
5. The breakfast and all its ingredients looked real tired. If you wanted to have a café, the worst you can do was to use the automatic café machine on the buffet table. We realized only the second but last day of our stay that if you ask, they make you a real café in the back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great place to stay in a fantastic city. The room was fantastic and the breakfast was excellent, with great service. One of the best places i have found to stay in Italy and great value.
It is walking distance to the station and just over an hour from Parma to Milan, I am looking forward to returning to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Beautiful Parma city close to center hotel . The city is cute and historical for Verdi plays. I have been here for 2 days and I am starting to write since I got hired in a company where I will travel to buy food products from all over the world.This place is clean cute and services are good. Free wifi was provided. I was able to enjoy a fast but qualitative breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Parma Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Parma Stendhal

Address: Via Bodoni, 3, I-43100 Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Parma Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Parma Stendhal is located in the heart of the old town, opposite the Palazzo della Pilotta and just 328 yds (300 m) from the station, and serves an extensive buffet breakfast. Rooms are furnished with wooden period furniture and have TV with cable channels and free WIFI. The hotel is 437 yds (400 m) from the cathedral, a 5-minute walk from the European Food Safety Authority headquarters and approx. 10 mins' drive from the airport. An onsite car park is available subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Parma Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Parma Stendhal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.