We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent, everything else is average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Parma Stendhal

Save Saved
You added Mercure Parma Stendhal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Parma Stendhal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bodoni, 3, I-43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 hotels in Parma
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location is excellent, everything else is average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was spacious, but there were two immediately obvious problems. First, the air conditioning wouldn't stay on for more than a few minutes before turning itself off. Second, when we opened the door of the mini-fridge, a blast of hot air escaped from it (two words: fire hazard!!) and the surface of the appliance was hot to the touch. The hotel replaced the fridge and fixed the a/c problem but all this took over two hours with staffers coming and going through our room.

Other than these irritants, the hotel was average. I think it was overpriced at €170 per night; €130/night would be more appropriate. We plan to return to Parma in a couple of years and we'll find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    130
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
33
134
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent just 1 night at the Stendahl, but I wish we'd had time to stay longer. It's extremely well-located to see the sights in the city and the Palatine Library and National Gallery are just across the street. Parking was the easiest we found on our 3-week trip--right next door. We had a wonderful room with a balcony, right over the front entrance. The bathroom in our room was large, modern and clean. There was a small seating area with desk and settee, nice toiletries, lovely linens, clean robes and slippers to use, two large sliding door/windows. The bed was definitely firm and a few more pillows would have been welcome (but an abundance of pillows doesn't seem to be an Italian "thing.") The staff were professional and efficient, but not overly out-going, so I can understand why some reviewers were disappointed. We saw very few staff, actually, and the concierge desk was "staffed" by an assortment of flyers, all in Italian. Not much touring information available, but everything was so nearby, you'd have to be unconscious to miss the sights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Cannot remember why we chose this hotel originally, but would not choose it again. More than anything this seems to be a place for business travelers in suits. Marble, gold colored furniture, heavy drapes...was not warm and inviting, and I was glad when I could be out of the room and into the city. The staff was nice, the air conditioner was strong (and we could not manage to get the steel shutters on our windows open, so it stayed cool and dark while we were in the room), the breakfast was nice, and the showers were refreshing, and liked the parking garage next door but really felt no connection here at all. If I was on business and had to get some work done in the evening, this is the perfect spot! But for vacation, no.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Stendhal for two nights, the second to last leg of a 3 week trip in Italy. The location of the hotel is perfect; easily accessible by car and within walking distance of so much of the heart of this lovely city. Used the hotel parking garage which is just adjacent and underground. We had 2 doubles, each with an extra bed for kids and still the room was spacious enough for our needs. Amenities of the room were fine, though the shower was a bit narrow. Beds were not the most comfortable, but not too bad. Excellent, free internet connection without any logins or passwords necessary. Breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, in fact the woman at the desk even made little gift bags for my kids when we checked out! Highly recommended to stay in Parma. Only wish we stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The first room that we were assigned had a "grannie's attic" look and a non-functioning a/c system. Within 30 minutes Stendahl's front desk had us moved to a modern room whose a/c managed to keep ahead of the mid-July heat and humidity. All of our basic expectations were met (steady supply of hot water, good lighting, roomy bath) but there was a frosty attitude coming our way from the hotel's front desk. Nothing personal, but these folks definitely were only going to perform the bare minimum to get us checked in and checked out of our one-night stay. Our room's walls were paper-thin, allowing us to listen in on the couple next door's comings and goings. Of course, our minimal Italian language skills compelled us to rely upon the tone and texture of their chats, rather than the substance. It was quite enjoyable to roll our carry-on bags from the Parma rail station to Hotel Stendahl, passing by lovely shops whose display windows featured local proscuitto and parmigiano.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the adjacent church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for one night in July en route to Liguria. Hotel perfectly located to explore this beautiful city. Underground parking with valet. Lovely room (junior suite) with robes, toiletries, air-con, very classy. Shower power puny, otherwise no complaints. Excellent breakfast. Attentive but unobtrusive staff. Would definitely recommend this place if staying in Parma.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel Stendhal is very well located in the heart of Parma. Very classic decor a bit old fashion. Rooms are spacious and the one I had had a nice view. Bed are not confortable, flat screen tv with not much international tv channels. Very spaciuos desk and complimentary internet connection. Bathrooms very simple.
Restaurant decor is boring and breakfast average.
Globally the hotel Stendhal offer a quite good value for money considering rom rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Parma Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Parma Stendhal

Address: Via Bodoni, 3, I-43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Parma Stendhal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Parma Stendhal is located in the heart of the old town, opposite the Palazzo della Pilotta and just 328 yds (300 m) from the station, and serves an extensive buffet breakfast. Rooms are furnished with wooden period furniture and have TV with cable channels and free WIFI. The hotel is 437 yds (400 m) from the cathedral, a 5-minute walk from the European Food Safety Authority headquarters and approx. 10 mins' drive from the airport. An onsite car park is available subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Parma Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Parma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Parma Stendhal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.