We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Maria Luigia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palace Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Maria Luigia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Mentana 140, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Parma
Melaka
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a fairly small hotel. The reception area is quite tiny. The lift is the smallest I have ever been in - smaller even than the one at the Holiday Villa Hotel in London. Luckily my room was on the second floor, so I used the stairs. The room is of a decent size, though the wallpaper was rather too pink for me. The beds are comfortable enough. The TV is rather small, and apart from the BBC news and TV5 (French) everything was in Italian.
The bathroom is very small. The shower cubicle is a quarter cylinder, and a tight squeeze. Hot water is plentiful, and much needed during the unseasonably cold weather. I think the furnace had been turned off, so the room was a little chilly at times.
Unfortunately, there are no coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast is fairly good - plenty of fresh fruit, lovely ham and good coffee. There is also a wide selection of filled croissants, but they were not well labelled, so it was often a matter of guesswork what the filling might be. I only found one plain, unfilled croissant during my stay. Sliced bread does not seem to be available, and the only eggs I saw were scrambled.
It is a 10 minute walk to the centre of town, and the traffic is light.
The staff are quite helpful, though not effusively friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    62
    37
    14
See reviews for
12
48
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

in a lovely city. Upon entering the hotel there was no assistance offered with baggage. We found the front desk staff moody and cold. We were told Internet was free in public areas but 7 euros for 3 hours. The Internet was spotty in the public areas, a negative for the business traveler. The room was small and cramped for two people. The red carpet was dirty, the bed as hard as a rock and the pillows flat and hard. The bathroom sink had no counter, the shower only was very small and there was no soap so if you want soap, bring your own. We found the breakfast service poor and selection only average. The bartender was very nice and accommodating. I would rate this hotel average to poor. It is well located.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while on business nearby. Overall a very pleasant hotel, lovely welcoming staff and an excellent breakfast selection. Rooms typically Italian, very stylish and comfortable. Heating more than sufficient and the sound proofing assisted by full shutters to the windows.

Restaurant tip - search out Trattoria del Corrieri, about a 10 minute walk past Duomo for the most authentic of local flavours and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The single room was quite spacious and clean. Bathroom was clean and modern, the shower had good water pressure, despite my room being on 4th floor. Staff was very helpful and kind. Breakfast was great: cappuccino was excellent, good selection of breads, meats, cheese and fruit. There was yoghurt and cereals etc.

The only negative point is that Internet was not included in the room price - quite ancient in the current situation!

Room Tip: Rooms on the last floor have a view over the rooftops of Parma - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed at the Palace Maria Luigia Hotel in Parma for two nights. The room was beautiful--both in decor and cleanliness. The room was big and the bathroom was clean and nicely sized. The breakfast included a very nice selection of pastries, meats and cheese, yogurt, cereal, and fruit. The multiple common spaces were nice for relaxing. If you don't mind a short walk to the city center, this is a great hotel to stay in--especially since it is close to the station. The only complaint comes with the front desk staff. While generally unattentive and somewhat rude, we were also given conflicting information about the hotel internet policy. On day one, it was free on the main level and the business center. Upon checkout, we were charged for our usage on the second day, being told that we must have been given a "gift" of "free hours" the day before as there is no free internet anywhere in the hotel. No such thing as the customer being right here. Otherwise, it was a very nice hotel and stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What was planned for a 1 day business trip with a two day vacation was marred by a poor hotel experience.
For the business traveler, the internet was not working in the room, wifi at 6 euros per hour is only available if sitting in the hall opposite the router, as the building is constructed of brick and the antanae are spaced quite far apart. Moved rooms twice of the 3 rooms none had accessible internet inthe room.
For the vacation traveler, the heat was not working in the room, and the reception explained that it is due to the weather. We were advised to book tours not the day before but the day of, which was incorrect as the parma ham factory and the parmasan cheese factory both requested prior booking. The wait in the breakfast lounge were absolutely non-existant, to the point that multiple guests had to enter the kitchen to serve themselves. I actually made a pot of coffee for the dining area guests as we were unable to wake the waiter from his somber.

Room Tip: Check the heat and internet reception, if important to you, before unpacking. The receptionists hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You might be taken aback a bit as you first approach the Maria Luigia: the hotel, it seems, has been carved out of what was originally a not particularly glamorous apartment building. Once in, though, one immediately forgets about that first impression. The interior is pleasant, elegant and spacious. The rooms come with big, marble bathrooms and comfortable beds. The best thing, though, is the staff: always friendly, efficient and helpful.

My husband and I stayed at the Maria Luigia for a couple of nights at the end of December and we’d heartily recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Parma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Maria Luigia

Address: Viale Mentana 140, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Maria Luigia 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre with lovely view of the historic sites, the Palace Maria Luigia, with its highly regarded Restaurant “Maxim’s”, is the reference in Parma, the cradle of Italian cuisine. The public areas enhanced with the view of the patio garden, the rooms and suite have been recently refurbished in elegant and refined style. The fully equipped conference centre provides an excellent meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palace Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Maria Luigia Parma
Palace Maria Luigia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Maria Luigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.