We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people but odd experiences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Maria Luigia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palace Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Maria Luigia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Mentana 140, 43100 Parma, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 50 hotels in Parma
Parma, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice people but odd experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been to a few places in the world due to work, and had no choice in the hotel selection when in Parma. The hotel itself is in a good location, the staff was friendly and it has a certain italian feel to it. The room was nice, bathroom clean and well kept. I did, unfortunately, have the same issue as someone else reported- bad bites from some bugs in the bed. Hotel staff didn't seem too impressed or surprised, the manager issued an 'sorry' but that's about it. Seems to be a general issue, which makes me not return there again. Other than that no problems at all, but I'm sure there's other places in Parma in the price range without this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main street. Lifts do not 'bing' so being close to a lift is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    54
    34
    15
See reviews for
11
46
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here on a work trip booked by the company we were taken to italy by so I had no choice on the hotel but it tyrned out to be a very pleasent stay. The hotel is in a very good location and the staff are also very good.
Breakfast was continental - no complaints.
the rooms varied throughout our group but my one was very well appointed, no view from the window but it didn't make any difference to me.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in the Parma area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for one night and found the hotel clean but quite old fashioned. If you are planning staying for business you will need to pay for wi-fi hourly or daily. It is located very centrally and just a short walk to the centre of Palma. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection in the buffet, however in my short visit to the dining room nobody managed to serve me coffee.
In summary not a bad hotel but a little updating required to make it a good central base for Parma.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Parma is a delighful touristic venue and staying at this establishment, handily close to the train station and many city highlights proved to be a good decision on our part. No complaints concerning the competent staff, the spacious, comfortable if little dated room -in need of a bit of TLC- , the notable dining room and good breakfast with plenty of local delicacies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Following a lukewarm, if not a little bit impolite, reception at the "welcome" counter, which made me doubt my choice, things got a whole lot better.
The room is wondefully spacious and confortable. The bathroom, probably designed for people with claustrophobia, actually was as big as the room where I had spent the previous night in another "four-star" hotel.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious, with an impeccable service and very pleasant staff. The prices were more than affordable considering the amazing quality of the products.
Breakfast was very varied and of excellent quality too.
If ever in Parma, I would recommend that you stay in this luxury hotel that did not get its four stars just because its rooms are equipped with mini-bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

old hotel, great breakfast....loveeee their range of choice of parma ham, salami and prosciuto cotto
they are pretty busy during cibus exhibition so i found out that the fromt office staff not too friendly, maybe because they were exhausted or busy...

very near to city centre and parma train station
around 5 mins to city centre, walking distance and 10 kims to parma train station

good neighborhood, safe

roomy but too dark for me, they shud put more light in their room
they still using a manual key for the room
i dont like the window, too weird and too old
and one thing that i dont like is : it was quite hot during our stay there ( it's the beginning of summer, still windy but quite hot at night)
my husband asked the front office staff, why in the world the AC didnt working
the front office answered : there's a law from the government, not to use AC during May, until end of May
of course, we believed that...we are tourist here in italy
so we stayed there, for 4 nights, without AC, early summer

the fifth day, we moved to best western farnese, and they provide the AC
and we asked the hotel about the regulation from the government that maria luigia claimed before and there's no regulation like that

we picked up by our principal there for dinner, and we asked the same question, and the answer : there's no such regulation like that, they just want to cut the operation cost
so, why do they need to lie to their customer?

we paid full amount for full service and facility though!

and its not cheap also to stay there, compare to best western farnese...the room, facilities and services

i think im not gonna stay here anymore


:)

Room Tip: ask about the AC first, especially during your stay on summer time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Staying here alone for four nights was not something i was looking forward to on arrival at the hotel. My colleague and i quickly nick-named this place after a very famour tv programme around a rather characterful hotel!

The accomodation was basic and rather dated, the bathroom was certainly looking a little tired. The drinks in the bar were incredibly expensive (bottle of Nastro Azzuro - 7 euros!). I had heard that the restaurant in the hotel was one of the best in Parma - I would certainly have to eat here again to change my mind. Whilst the food was nice enough, the 12 Euro plate of parma ham (literally ham on a plate!) was hardly value for money nor appetising, and the main was quite literally a chunk of meat in sauce.

The hotel is however in a reasonably good location, close to the train station (5 min walk) and a good 10 minute walk to the centre, and the staff were always happy to help, which adds to it's appeal I guess.

Having considered the above, on my last day I realised that the 'charm' and location of the hotel had certainly changed my initial impression, but was it enough to make me return out of choice? Probably not.

Room Tip: The room in the photo looks a lot fresher than my room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palace Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Maria Luigia

Address: Viale Mentana 140, 43100 Parma, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Maria Luigia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre with lovely view of the historic sites, the Palace Maria Luigia, with its highly regarded Restaurant “Maxim’s”, is the reference in Parma, the cradle of Italian cuisine. The public areas enhanced with the view of the patio garden, the rooms and suite have been recently refurbished in elegant and refined style. The fully equipped conference centre provides an excellent meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Palace Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Maria Luigia Parma
Palace Maria Luigia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Maria Luigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.